Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Community Member Grimmlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bahamas
    Posts
    93

    Default Screen freeze for about 10-20 secs

    Is anyone experiencing this?

    Happens 4-5 times per hour for about 10-20 seconds

    I searched the forums and it looks like it happened before after an update, but I could not find a solution.

    All started after update - no issues prior.

    same for 2 different servers with multiple toons
    Tamehammer~Sphere~Tameblade~Ridge~Tamekunedo~Noggle Bunks~Tamehog

  2. #2
    Community Member Grimmlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bahamas
    Posts
    93

    Default

    *** UPDATE

    Fresh install Windows 10

    Reinstalled DDO on NEW SSD and also on another HDD - no change
    ran both instances - no change

    New GPU, RAM, PSU - still no change
    no overheating, no overclocking - just basic
    all connetions double and triple checked

    only thing left is change out MOBO?

    Only good thing is loading faster and I have awesome graphics.
    I have change the settings from VERY HIGH to LOW - no change

    Random times between 7-15 minutes I get DDO " not responding " for exactly 40 seconds every time

    Just trying to figure this out - if anyone has suggestions

    Thanks in advance
    Tamehammer~Sphere~Tameblade~Ridge~Tamekunedo~Noggle Bunks~Tamehog

  3. #3
    Founder & Super Hero Arkat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    8,697

    Default

    Maybe it's not your PC that's having the issue. Maybe it's your ISP.
    "A wise person chooses the right road; a fool takes the wrong one." - Author unknown

    Quote Originally Posted by Lynnabel View Post
    Hi Welcome

  4. #4
    Community Member Buddha5440's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Is it just a screen freeze; can you alt+tab out?
    Dennis the Peasant: Listen. Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government. Supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony.

  5. #5
    Community Member Grimmlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bahamas
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buddha5440 View Post
    Is it just a screen freeze; can you alt+tab out?
    Screen Freeze - I use window mode and screen goes white with the infamous blue loading circle.

    I can hit T " mouse look " to get out and go on explorer or chrome while its happening and search internet, open other programs.

    after 40 seconds it picks back up where I last was. Rough when I am in the middle of a fight, fine when just moving in town.

    Killed me in Home Sweet Sewer from the dogs in Hardcore lvl 5 - popped up at wrong time
    Tamehammer~Sphere~Tameblade~Ridge~Tamekunedo~Noggle Bunks~Tamehog

  6. #6
    Community Member Buddha5440's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    294

    Default

    If your system is still ok, just the game stops, it's not a Mobo issue. Try an uninstall/reinstall of video drivers and/or Direct X.
    Last edited by Buddha5440; 03-17-2020 at 11:04 PM.
    Dennis the Peasant: Listen. Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government. Supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony.

  7. #7
    Community Member Grimmlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bahamas
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buddha5440 View Post
    If your system is still ok, just the game stops, it's not a Mobo issue. Try an uninstall/reinstall of video drivers and/or Direct X.
    did that multiple times...…. at a loss
    Tamehammer~Sphere~Tameblade~Ridge~Tamekunedo~Noggle Bunks~Tamehog

  8. #8
    Community Member Buddha5440's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    294

    Default

    This is only happen with DDO, correct?
    Could be an issue with your GPU or audio drivers. If you can, try rolling back to an older driver. Newer drivers are notorious for issues with older games. You could also uninstall the current manufacturer provided driver and let Windows install the default driver. If this works it is almost certainly a driver issue.

    Try running it full screen.

    Also try running it in DX 9.

    While it is happening, take a look at Task Manager and see if anything spikes in CPU, Memory, or power usage.

    You said you have replaced everything but your Mobo. If it is an MSI Mobo, try ending 'nahimic2uilauncher.exe process', if you have it (something to do with surround sound and has been known to cause this).

    Hope this helps, let me know. Also, only try one of these at a time (obviously).
    Dennis the Peasant: Listen. Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government. Supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony.

  9. #9
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I am having this EXACT same issue. I just came back to the game after a few years with a new computer. Every 10 - 14 minutes my whole game freezes up for 30 to 40 seconds and if I click anywhere it says the game is taking too long to respond. Then it unfreezes and I continue on for 10 - 14 minutes. Otherwise, the game is completely playable with no issues. I have to only do slayers right now since the 30 second freeze usually means I'm dead if any monsters are around unless they're incredibly weak. Very rarely it freezes twice in a row with a second or two in between where it works fine.

    There are no spikes on anything in task manager during this freeze, everything sits at 30% or lower.

    I know lots of people claim NVIDIA video cards cause issues with the game. Maybe something to do with that? Not sure what the OP runs.

    This is on a 1 month old computer:
    Windows 10 Home Version 10.0.18363
    64 GB of RAM
    Intel i9-9900K CPU
    GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER (NVIDIA)
    2TB SSD (only one disk in the whole computer)

    Things I've tried:
    1. Direct X 11, 10, and 9
    2. Full screen, windowed full screen, windowed mode
    3. Turning off anything to do with shadows or 'frill'
    4. Turning off all sound in the game options
    5. Turning off every graphics option possible and all graphics on the lowest setting possible
    6. Updating video card drivers
    7. 'Turning it off and then on again'
    8. All 3 DDO clients
    9. Reinstalling DDO and putting it in a completely different folder
    10. Every possible compatibility mode (windows 7, windows 8, windows vista... etc)
    11. Running as administrator
    12. Switching from my wired internet to my phone's hot spot connection
    13. Trying a different character on a different server
    14. Various in game resolutions
    15. Installing the various DirectX and windows redistributable packages from other people's unrelated issues.
    16. Going into the nvidia control panel and changing every possible setting for the game.
    17. Closing every app possible except for DDO.

  10. #10
    Community Member Alrik_Fassbauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkat View Post
    Maybe it's not your PC that's having the issue. Maybe it's your ISP.
    I doubt so. Screen freezes have nothing to do with how far data is travelling within electronic cables, or with the processing speed of modems.

    No, freezing is often a sign of overheating, as far as I know. I've had that myself. It was the first sign before my own graphics card "crashed" weeks later.

    Quote Originally Posted by plap111 View Post
    17. Closing every app possible except for DDO.
    Did you close unneccessary Services as well ?
    Be careful, though. Sometimes it is hard to determine what the system needs and what not.


    Another thought I have is this : Maybe it's Microsoft silently downloading updates in the background ? Scheduled virus scanning ?

    Especially the HOME version of Windows 10 is especially infamous for Microsoft abusing it as a beta testing of patches the enterprise versions get later (admins of enterprise versions can even completely block updates until they are tested long enough !). https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Criticism_of_Windows_10
    Last edited by Alrik_Fassbauer; 03-28-2020 at 05:47 AM.
    "No, it doesn't say 'Lifeling' "

  11. #11
    Community Member Alrik_Fassbauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    Just wanted to point out that it could be because of lag as well.
    Whatever is causing this lag.
    "No, it doesn't say 'Lifeling' "

  12. #12
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Thanks for the responses.

    It's now been happening for 7 days straight every 10 - 14 minutes for 6 - 8 hours a day every day. It looks to be unrelated to any lag, windows updates, or virus scanners. Just to be sure I checked to make sure I had my updates all done with nothing downloading during a spike. I completely removed my virus scanner for a day as well.

    Yeah I closed services as well, anything that looked like it could be safely shut down. Still troubleshooting, but no luck yet.

  13. #13
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I've been playing for 2 hours now and this looks like it's fixed.

    I ran the DirectX 11 installer, switched to DirectX 11 in game, removed 'run as admin' off all of the executables and rebooted.

    Thanks for the help everybody!

  14. #14
    Community Manager
    Cordovan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Boston Area, MA
    Posts
    28,015

    Default

    This is currently one of the key things we are looking at in our investigation into recent game performance issues. Hopefully this can be corrected soon. Most of the reports have been that this is particularly common when first zoning into an instance after logging in.
    Have fun, and don't forget to gather for buffs!
    Follow DDO on: Facebook Twitter Pinterest
    Join us on Twitch!
    Hello from Standing Stone Games! Facebook Twitter
    For Support: https://help.standingstonegames.com



  15. #15
    Community Member Grimmlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bahamas
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cordovan View Post
    This is currently one of the key things we are looking at in our investigation into recent game performance issues. Hopefully this can be corrected soon. Most of the reports have been that this is particularly common when first zoning into an instance after logging in.
    For me it happens in quest. I have no issues from 1st zone

    Logged 3 1/2 hours last night.
    total of 7 freezes before I shut down and called it a night

    I was running R1 Gianthold last night, multiple deaths (6) in quests due to the freeze got me
    Explorers in Orchard managed 600 kills before freeze.
    hit 750 and then logged

    As stated earlier everything has been replaced except for MOBO and CPU.
    Tamehammer~Sphere~Tameblade~Ridge~Tamekunedo~Noggle Bunks~Tamehog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload