Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Community Member Stunty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default New computer new issues......

    The specs of my brand new computer are below (a few weeks old) but the issue seems to be only when loading into the game. The screen will minimize (take me right back to my main computer screen) over and over again. I can click on the game icon and get back to the game but it will once again minimize. The only thing that works is to keep logging in until it does not do it. When I right-click on the game icon and hit "dnd client" the message is "The game client was passed invalid command-line parameters." Has anyone had this issue as it sure is annoying, to say the least. Hope you can help.

    System: Intel Core i9-9900K 3.6GHz 8-Core | Intel Z370 Chipset | 16GB DDR4 | 1TB SSD | Genuine Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6GB Video Card | 1x HDMI | 1x DisplayPort
    Connectivity: 6 x USB 3.1 | 2 x USB 2.0 | 1x RJ-45 Network Ethernet 10/100/1000 | 802.11AC Wi-Fi | Audio: 7.1 Channel | Gaming Keyboard & Mouse
    Special features: Liquid Cooling | Tempered Glass Side Case Panel | Custom RGB Case Lighting | 7 Colors RGB Gaming Keyboard & Mouse


    Many thanks,

    Leadbelly
    Abandon all hope, ye who enter here..........

  2. #2
    Chaotic Evil Mindos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pocket Pita Plane
    Posts
    2,559

    Default

    Sounds like a network connection problem. Check your firewall? Try running as admin and see if it asks if you want to allow it to connect? I'm guessing, sorry.


  3. #3
    Community Member Gniewomir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    aaaa
    Posts
    128

    Default Sorry for offtopic, but...

    Holy moly. I'm kinda returning player (with new account) and i've got no permissions to post/create threads on forums. Service and support is literally the only part of forum i can reply to thread. I spend last two days on trying to find out why i've got no posting permissions and how to fix it, but i couldn't find anything except old posts of people who had the same problem (and few threads on steam). Now, when i created my previous account, like 5 years ago, guess what... i had exactly the same problem. Holy ****. It's been more than 5 years and there's still this very basic bug/problem. Are those forums so crowded that you have to do something special to be able to post? Really, it's really discouraging to play the game like that when you start as "not cool enough to ask single stupid question on forum". I could understand bug, but come on, more than 5 years! And it seems no posting permission is not a bug, but a normal thing since it happens literally every time someone make new account (i tried making few other accounts while trying to fix the problem).

    And if it's really such a thing to let everyone post here at least make some official guide on how to obtain such a privilege, cause i spend some time looking for answer and the only thing i found is contact support, but i guess every new player spamming to support about exactly the same, not fixed for years problem is not something you would like to see, so i would like to know i there's any solution to this problem and i'm just not smart enough to find out what spell i should cast.'

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    647

    Default

    This is also just guessing, but the last time i played on a windows machine i think i had to run it in legacy compatible mode. Something with right clicking on the launcher and under properties i think it is. You have to look for it yourself as i am not on windows.

    Like i said i am guessing but it is worth a try i think.
    Check out my website for calculating DPS and damage mitigation: http://mmlddo.com

  5. #5
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    647

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gniewomir View Post
    Holy moly. I'm kinda returning player (with new account) and i've got no permissions to post/create threads on forums. Service and support is literally the only part of forum i can reply to thread. I spend last two days on trying to find out why i've got no posting permissions and how to fix it, but i couldn't find anything except old posts of people who had the same problem (and few threads on steam). Now, when i created my previous account, like 5 years ago, guess what... i had exactly the same problem. Holy ****. It's been more than 5 years and there's still this very basic bug/problem. Are those forums so crowded that you have to do something special to be able to post? Really, it's really discouraging to play the game like that when you start as "not cool enough to ask single stupid question on forum". I could understand bug, but come on, more than 5 years! And it seems no posting permission is not a bug, but a normal thing since it happens literally every time someone make new account (i tried making few other accounts while trying to fix the problem).

    And if it's really such a thing to let everyone post here at least make some official guide on how to obtain such a privilege, cause i spend some time looking for answer and the only thing i found is contact support, but i guess every new player spamming to support about exactly the same, not fixed for years problem is not something you would like to see, so i would like to know i there's any solution to this problem and i'm just not smart enough to find out what spell i should cast.'

    Thank you.
    This is a long shot but if that's the problem it is an easy fix. Are you sure you are logged in?

    sometimes the login button in the top right part of the page won't show until you click on a thread. If you are not logged in you may not be able to post new threads.

    Not sure if that's the problem though...
    Check out my website for calculating DPS and damage mitigation: http://mmlddo.com

  6. #6
    Community Member Deathdefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Waiting in the lava pits to chain trip you on the way to Prison of the Planes
    Posts
    1,666

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stunty View Post
    The specs of my brand new computer are below (a few weeks old) but the issue seems to be only when loading into the game. The screen will minimize (take me right back to my main computer screen) over and over again. I can click on the game icon and get back to the game but it will once again minimize. The only thing that works is to keep logging in until it does not do it. When I right-click on the game icon and hit "dnd client" the message is "The game client was passed invalid command-line parameters." Has anyone had this issue as it sure is annoying, to say the least. Hope you can help.

    System: Intel Core i9-9900K 3.6GHz 8-Core | Intel Z370 Chipset | 16GB DDR4 | 1TB SSD | Genuine Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6GB Video Card | 1x HDMI | 1x DisplayPort
    Connectivity: 6 x USB 3.1 | 2 x USB 2.0 | 1x RJ-45 Network Ethernet 10/100/1000 | 802.11AC Wi-Fi | Audio: 7.1 Channel | Gaming Keyboard & Mouse
    Special features: Liquid Cooling | Tempered Glass Side Case Panel | Custom RGB Case Lighting | 7 Colors RGB Gaming Keyboard & Mouse
    Are you running the right file to start (NB. That I think you are and am just covering off on the possibility)?
    Dndclient gets run by "C:\Program Files (x86)\Dungeons & Dragons Online\DNDLauncher.exe" - it's possible DNDLauncher chucks some parameters at it when it boots it?
    I get the running process is Dndclient as it is for me too. NB. I don't run either as Admin.

    Is your anti-virus being a weirdo? Can you white list the various DDO .exes?

    There's fullscreen v fullscreen (windowed); switching between them may help with focus loss?

    Do you have a special character in your username or password that's causing the client to be weird? I don't know why this issue would only occur with a new computer, but I'd try and change your DDO password via a web browser if it has a hyphen or quotation mark in it maybe?

    I had struggles with my new computer getting DDO to run without a few odd behaviours (different but similar to this). For me it took a bunch of stuff to fix it:
    - changing RAM timings (I had them slightly more ambitious than I should have; I slowed them down a little)
    - updating all the drivers (from the various manufacturer's websites)
    - updated the BIOS - I had a very new motherboard with the manufacturer pumping out a new BIOS every few weeks so I'd figured I'd wait till things settled. Once I updated to just the most recent many of the weird issues just disappeared.

    I haven't used an Intel 8 core processor, but are there particular settings you can turn/turn-off for programs to tell it to not run it in some fancy way across all the cores since DDO's old.

    I'm 2/10 confidence on any of that solving your problem; but if it's any of it, I reckon it'll be the BIOS or Wifi driver update.
    Khyber: Aggrim (Completionist!)
    In Von 3 the breakables in the Troll Ambassador optional room are slow to get to and unnecessary for ransack.
    Blind insta-kills floating eye balls.

  7. #7
    Community Member noinfo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3,265

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stunty View Post
    The specs of my brand new computer are below (a few weeks old) but the issue seems to be only when loading into the game. The screen will minimize (take me right back to my main computer screen) over and over again. I can click on the game icon and get back to the game but it will once again minimize. The only thing that works is to keep logging in until it does not do it. When I right-click on the game icon and hit "dnd client" the message is "The game client was passed invalid command-line parameters." Has anyone had this issue as it sure is annoying, to say the least. Hope you can help.

    System: Intel Core i9-9900K 3.6GHz 8-Core | Intel Z370 Chipset | 16GB DDR4 | 1TB SSD | Genuine Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6GB Video Card | 1x HDMI | 1x DisplayPort
    Connectivity: 6 x USB 3.1 | 2 x USB 2.0 | 1x RJ-45 Network Ethernet 10/100/1000 | 802.11AC Wi-Fi | Audio: 7.1 Channel | Gaming Keyboard & Mouse
    Special features: Liquid Cooling | Tempered Glass Side Case Panel | Custom RGB Case Lighting | 7 Colors RGB Gaming Keyboard & Mouse


    Many thanks,

    Leadbelly
    Check and make sure you have the right version of the Visual C++ , the right version of the dot net framework and that you have selected in the game client the right version of direct x supported been a while but probably need DirectX 9.0c even if you have a later version
    Milacias of Kyber

    Leader of the Crimson Eagles Kyber

    The Myth- TR will make my character powerful
    The Reality- Those kobolds in Water Works won’t have a chance but nothing else cares-Learn to play your build and all its abilities in actual difficult content, get gear and reaper points in level 30+ content and raids.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload