Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,379

    Default HTTP 403 error post patch

    I cannot seem to log back in after the patch. I did download several files and all seemed well - but it just ends in a standard HTTP 403 error then it hangs.

    Does the game load for others or does anyone else have the same problem? I did try running as admin but to no avail.
    Danskerne
    A Danish Guild on Ghallanda. Send PM if interested.
    Leading Raids Thursdays from 20 CET and Sundays from 21 CET.

  2. #2
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    182

    Default

    The game is up and running, and people have patched and are in game just fine.

    That's not to say your problem is fake, but it's not something happening to the majority

  3. #3
    Community Member ShifterThePirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    244

    Default

    Try the repair option in the launchers options on top right.

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikarddo View Post
    I cannot seem to log back in after the patch. I did download several files and all seemed well - but it just ends in a standard HTTP 403 error then it hangs.

    Does the game load for others or does anyone else have the same problem? I did try running as admin but to no avail.

    I'm getting the same error.

    Tried the launcher repair option and it got all the way to the end and failed again. This time the error is "Unknown."
    Last edited by sleeksilver; 12-05-2019 at 07:26 PM.

  5. #5
    Community Member Jomee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    393

    Default Turn off anti-virus while updating

    Quote Originally Posted by sleeksilver View Post
    I'm getting the same error.

    Tried the launcher repair option and it got all the way to the end and failed again. This time the error is "Unknown."
    I suggest you completely turn off your anti-virus while patching is occuring. It may not be allowing the updater to complete it's job.

  6. #6
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jomee View Post
    I suggest you completely turn off your anti-virus while patching is occuring. It may not be allowing the updater to complete it's job.
    I did this and got to exactly the same place. I hit "pause" and then "resume" and it went further. Now the launcher opens and shuts down before getting to the login. This is extremely frustrating.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sleeksilver View Post
    I did this and got to exactly the same place. I hit "pause" and then "resume" and it went further. Now the launcher opens and shuts down before getting to the login. This is extremely frustrating.
    I uninstalled and downloaded fully. I am not having the exact same issue you describe in the your last sentence. The patcher opens, downloads the same few files, and then just closes with nothing more.

    My laptop works well enough still. I actually did install the game on my new laptop between the time the game last worked on my main computer and the time I patched the main computer which made it stop working. I doubt that its anything but a coincidence but still want to mention it even so.

    At any rate - it seems we have having the same problem. Hopefully someone can find the cure.
    Danskerne
    A Danish Guild on Ghallanda. Send PM if interested.
    Leading Raids Thursdays from 20 CET and Sundays from 21 CET.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,379

    Default

    I tried the repair options. Now I am back at the HTTP 403 error. I also tried resetting display options to no effect.

    I am running out of things to try.
    Danskerne
    A Danish Guild on Ghallanda. Send PM if interested.
    Leading Raids Thursdays from 20 CET and Sundays from 21 CET.

  9. #9
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikarddo View Post
    I tried the repair options. Now I am back at the HTTP 403 error. I also tried resetting display options to no effect.

    I am running out of things to try.

    I'm out of ideas. This will be a long weekend.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,379

    Default

    Someone else posted that turning off UAC worked for them. I am still working on that lead myself.
    Danskerne
    A Danish Guild on Ghallanda. Send PM if interested.
    Leading Raids Thursdays from 20 CET and Sundays from 21 CET.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikarddo View Post
    Someone else posted that turning off UAC worked for them. I am still working on that lead myself.
    It looks like turning off UAC and doing a full repair (download 12gb) has worked for me.
    Danskerne
    A Danish Guild on Ghallanda. Send PM if interested.
    Leading Raids Thursdays from 20 CET and Sundays from 21 CET.

  12. #12
    Community Manager
    Cordovan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Boston Area, MA
    Posts
    27,277

    Default

    It seems like the two of you are back in? If not, please get in touch with Technical Support here. Trying a repair and/or reinstall sounds like the way to go to me.
    Have fun, and don't forget to gather for buffs!
    Follow DDO on: Facebook Twitter Pinterest
    Join us on Twitch!
    Hello from Standing Stone Games! Facebook Twitter
    For Support: https://help.standingstonegames.com



  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cordovan View Post
    It seems like the two of you are back in? If not, please get in touch with Technical Support here. Trying a repair and/or reinstall sounds like the way to go to me.
    Neither repair nor reinstall worked with UAC on. UAC off and then full repair was the key for me.
    Danskerne
    A Danish Guild on Ghallanda. Send PM if interested.
    Leading Raids Thursdays from 20 CET and Sundays from 21 CET.

  14. #14
    Community Member Stratimics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    29

    Lightbulb One solution

    I had this same exact problem. I tried to turn F-Secure completely off and a couple of other fixes as well. Finally, I remembered to turn off F-Secure's Freedome and then it resumed downloading as usual. As a conclusion, VPN seems to have been the source of this malfunction on my part.
    Part of the Finnish guild Brotherhood of Blades on Cannith

    Myrakka - Larendelee - Biggbinn - Oikeus - Wookiee

  15. #15
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cordovan View Post
    It seems like the two of you are back in? If not, please get in touch with Technical Support here. Trying a repair and/or reinstall sounds like the way to go to me.
    Support request made. over a dozen reinstallations.

  16. #16
    Community Member TedSandyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    470

    Default

    I also cannot get the game to start. I got the 403 error. I did a repair. Now the launcher just runs and exits. I tried running it from the command line to see if there were any errors, but nothing.

  17. #17
    Community Member Jomee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    393

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sleeksilver View Post
    Support request made. over a dozen reinstallations.
    I had the exact same issues. The installer gave me the 403 forbidden error when patching. The repair option did not work for me and neither did a clean install. The error went from the 403 forbidden message to unknown error message. The way I got it to resolve was by completely turning off my anti-virus and then running the installer with administrator privileges. That's what fixed mine.

  18. #18
    Community Member TedSandyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    470

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jomee View Post
    I had the exact same issues. The installer gave me the 403 forbidden error when patching. The repair option did not work for me and neither did a clean install. The error went from the 403 forbidden message to unknown error message. The way I got it to resolve was by completely turning off my anti-virus and then running the installer with administrator privileges. That's what fixed mine.
    Completely uninstalled. Turned off virus and firewall. Installed. Fixed mine too.

  19. #19
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cordovan View Post
    It seems like the two of you are back in? If not, please get in touch with Technical Support here. Trying a repair and/or reinstall sounds like the way to go to me.

    Different error but also didn't manage to get in after patch, it hangs in patching. repair game data doesn't work, reinstall doesn't work, reinstall after removing all files also doesn't work. The client just keeps crashing after patching the dat files. Made a ticket but haven't received a reply yet. Even send the error logs but no reply. What it gives in Patchclient.log is:

    000000006.335: Patching data...
    000000006.335: Queueing download of <http://akamai.ddo.com/ddo/patch/iterations/client_cell_1.dat-6183> to <C:\Program Files (x86)\StandingStoneGames\Dungeons & Dragons Online\forward/client_cell_1.dat-6183>
    000000006.335: Trying to fopen(), error 0x%08x. file: C:\Program Files (x86)\StandingStoneGames\Dungeons & Dragons Online\forward/client_cell_1.dat-6183 error: -2147467259
    000000006.335: Download failed: error 0x80004005. No alternate URLs. Sorry.


    So very weird.

  20. #20
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Found the cause. Seems Fsecure stops stuff even if you turn anti virus deep scan and all the other options off. But when going through the options i found I had added DndLauncher.exe to the exclusions file years ago, but the last patch must have changed the directory structure so my exclusion no longer worked, after updating the directory path to the new patch introduced by this patched I could update the game normally and log in again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload