Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    24

    Default New wine client is a failure

    So I installed the new wine client.

    Out of 5 connection attempts 4 ended with a message of "lost connection to server." 2 of those while in game.

    The once that it did work things seeemed to be really good. I didn't test it beyond surface functionality but that was looking good.


    Please fix the server connections issues.
    Last edited by PizzaDoctor; 09-19-2019 at 07:41 PM.

  2. #2
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PizzaDoctor View Post
    So I installed the new wine client.

    Out of 5 connection attempts 4 ended with a message of "lost connection to server." 2 of those while in game.

    The once that it did work things seeemed to be really good. I didn't test it beyond surface functionality but that was looking good.


    Please fix the server connections issues.
    What model are you trying to run it on? I had no network problems with the new client this weekend with 10.14.6 and a MBP 8,2. (which is super outdated). I actually found the wine wrapper to be pretty good. Not as good as Valve's proton for linux, but definitely to the level of ordinary wine without having to do a bunch of wine tricks setup for it.

  3. #3
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jkalten View Post
    What model are you trying to run it on? I had no network problems with the new client this weekend with 10.14.6 and a MBP 8,2. (which is super outdated). I actually found the wine wrapper to be pretty good. Not as good as Valve's proton for linux, but definitely to the level of ordinary wine without having to do a bunch of wine tricks setup for it.
    My computer:
    Mac mini (Late 2014)
    2.6 GHz Intel Core i5
    8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    Intel Iris 1536 MB
    MacOS v10.14.5

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PizzaDoctor View Post
    My computer:
    Mac mini (Late 2014)
    2.6 GHz Intel Core i5
    8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    Intel Iris 1536 MB
    MacOS v10.14.5
    Interesting. You definitely have more power than my MBP and in theory you should have even better performance than what I had. Is your network connection solid with the old client?

  5. #5
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    24

    Default

    There is a network status thing in the preferences I have turned on.

    It is staying green. I don't watch it religtiously obviously.

    I am guessing the latency is staying between 95-105.

  6. #6
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    43

    Default

    I've been testing this new client out since they're gonna be forcing it on us next month.

    The ONLY improvement I've found so far is that they've managed to figure out how to ask for mic permissions.


    Every other preexisting condition is still there, but now with even crappier frame rates. There's even LESS functionality than before, because now command keys won't work inside the Wine environment...no command-q or command-h allowed, so you HAVE to play this game in windows mode if you want to be able to access anything else.

    To sum it up, they basically tried sweeping a wheelbarrow load of manure under a doormat, because this new client is actually worse than the one it's replacing. Hopefully Steam will host a better version of the wine client, because their version of the current Mac client is far superior to SSG's download.

  7. #7
    Community Member gaki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    123

    Default

    It’s not so much the frame rates killing me, because CTRL-F is showing decent frame rates with my card, but there’s so much intermittent lag that I’m seeing longish 5-10s windows where I lose the ability to attack, as if my mouse buttons stop working. I can still run around and generally keep myself alive, so it appears as if keyboard input isn’t affected, but it almost always happens in the bigger fights with more mobs in play, and it makes those encounters pretty dicey.

    It got so bad last night that I went back to the old client out of frustration ... no mouse issues at all with the old client.


  8. #8

    Thumbs down

    Glad to see this crew still sucks and still can't support a Mac client. Can't even get the new one to update after launch. New names same ****.
    Proud Officer and Member of the Exploration Society Thelanis Server
    "Nobody exists on purpose, nobody belongs anywhere, everybody's gonna die. Come watch TV." Morty
    *Dunkurk Qirva Donnar Zoraida Dolvar Zorg Salii Smally Kungfugee Kruknud Smully Warfrog*

  9. #9
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PizzaDoctor View Post
    So I installed the new wine client.

    Out of 5 connection attempts 4 ended with a message of "lost connection to server." 2 of those while in game.

    The once that it did work things seeemed to be really good. I didn't test it beyond surface functionality but that was looking good.


    Please fix the server connections issues.
    i have several posts here regarding these problems with ALL mac clients, and the only thing that works for me is restoring the old, native app from Time Machine...i'm terrified that this will stop working, and i've yet to transfer all my backup data off my dying WD external.

    and trying to update today, the app downloads updated files and then presents me with a message that i need to install the new LOTRO macOS Wine client—and of course, that file produces this immediate error:

    https://imgur.com/8XZKiqN
    Last edited by Daarsurra; 10-09-2019 at 08:01 PM.

  10. #10
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daarsurra View Post
    i have several posts here regarding these problems with ALL mac clients, and the only thing that works for me is restoring the old, native app from Time Machine...i'm terrified that this will stop working, and i've yet to transfer all my backup data off my dying WD external.

    and trying to update today, the app downloads updated files and then presents me with a message that i need to install the new LOTRO macOS Wine client—and of course, that file produces this immediate error:

    https://imgur.com/8XZKiqN
    If I understand what you're asking,
    https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...=1#post6255622

  11. #11
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    24

    Default

    So now that I can't use the old client at all, The wine client will not connect. It is 949 p,m pacific and the client gets to the "welcome to eberron " screen and just stops. I have left it for half an hour and no sign that it is loading anything. No lost connection to server error message. Just loading please wait.

    You had how many weeks to address these issues and instead, you just cut all access.

  12. #12
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Every time I log in I see this

    https://imgur.com/a/Z6XAL2C

    Not sure if it's elvish or orc
    Devilish and Barinid on Cannith

  13. #13
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 5thDragon View Post
    Every time I log in I see this

    https://imgur.com/a/Z6XAL2C

    Not sure if it's elvish or orc
    Are you running a language setting other than English?

  14. #14
    Community Member kbaskins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    116

    Default

    I'm having the same problem. It's driving me nuts. I'm using English as my language. I think this is Dwarvish, no?

    Quote Originally Posted by 5thDragon View Post
    Every time I log in I see this

    https://imgur.com/a/Z6XAL2C

    Not sure if it's elvish or orc

  15. #15
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kbaskins View Post
    I'm having the same problem. It's driving me nuts. I'm using English as my language. I think this is Dwarvish, no?
    That is so weird. My first guess was that it had something to do with language and font settings, but I'm using English too with no problems.

  16. #16
    Community Member kbaskins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    116

    Default

    I use a lot of fonts for my home-based job, so I've turned off a lot of fonts that I don't use just to use less resources. It's probably one of those, and will require some farting around to figure out which one it is. It's probably something stupid like Arial. I'll report back when I figure it out (which may be a while, because it's one of my least-favourite things to do).

    Quote Originally Posted by jkalten View Post
    That is so weird. My first guess was that it had something to do with language and font settings, but I'm using English too with no problems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload