Community Member

Default Looking for a past life build!

Hello everyone,

As stated in the title i'm Simply looking for a build to run my 3 monk lifes. I've been looking all over the forums but i'm not very good at building characters or even determine what
    kind of build would be effective for my purpose so i've been hoping some of u guys might be able to point me to a build.
    To be more specific, i have access to all classes, have +5 tomes and 6 past lifes so far.
    I Don't mind beeing a monkcher/shurithrower or unarmed as long as the build is effective in heroic elite up to reaper 1-2.

Well, that's pretty much it ! Thank you for reading and future answers!

Xera

Do you have a specific race or play style you want to try to fit in? The "stock" monk build is a WIS based Aasimar or human with TWF and the whirlwind line. You basically are on railroad tracks until you hit level 24 as there's basically one viable unarmed monk build.

Hobgoblin posted a good summary here: https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...-handwrap-monk

The basic feat list for Aasimar is:

1: Dodge, Mobility (monk)
    2: Stunning Fist (monk)
    3: Combat Expertise
    6: Spring Attack (monk), Whirlwind Attack
    9: TWF
    12: Imp Crit: bludgeon
    15: ITWF
    18: GTWF

The logic is that your leveling time is largely dominated by your AoE attack speed, so Whirlwind early, whirlwind often. You can either do handwraps or a stick until 9. Stunning Fist is super powerful but does require handwraps. Take the light path. If human, take TWF earlier and take precision at 18. I find Lawful Good is best because of good named staff and wraps are super great at level 2 and 6.

Honestly the best plan is to draft of your fire sorc guildie.

Enhancements, put everything into Falconry until you get WIS to hit/dmg, then everything in Shintao until you can get T5 abilities. Adjust leftover racial points in Aasimar to get yourself a heal.