Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default In-game Issue Where it seems Like I am Rubberband Lagging

    Okay so to start off with I know I am not lagging because my internet connection is fine and I am still able to talk with my brother who is in my party and stuff without issues. So what happened was that when I logged on today, after about a minute had passed, my character stopped moving for a second and then when I take a few steps forward I snap back to where I was. When this happens it won't let me log out at all, although I can still quit. I can also change the settings and things change without problems. My character just will. not. move.

    I am unsure what is causing the problem though and have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the game but that didn't help. I also changed back to directx9 and 10 before switching back to eleven when those didn't help. My brother said maybe my comp had a virus but it had been working the past few days fine and literally the only thing I had done on it for weeks was to listen to youtube, write within google docs, look at facebook, and play ddo. I did however scan my folder for ddo, do a deep scan of my computer with my antivirus software, and scanned my drivers and stuff.

    This problem has persisted through multiple log-ins, restarting my computer, and reinstalling the game. I have no idea what could be causing it at this point. I literally was just playing yesterday for hours without problem. If anyone has any idea what is going on please let me know.
    Last edited by IrritatedMind; 07-19-2019 at 11:34 PM. Reason: wanted to add a closing sentence

  2. #2
    Community Member TitusOvid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,970

    Default

    Well, as far as I know the textchat and voicechat are not connected to SSG servers but to a 3rd party. That would explain why you can text and talk but lag out on the world server. That happens really every time I lag out. I still can type and speak via voice.

    I never tried changing settings during a lagspike but I can use shortcuts, they show they are used but don't really do something at that moment in time.
    So I don't think those observations are an indicator that you are NOT lagging.

    And if your internet connecton and speed is fine, that doesn't mean the server one is. As an educated guess I say, it is on SSG side.
    A guildie of mine rubberbanded a bit yesterday on Orien. It happens from time to time, especially close to the weekend. This doesn't have to be a virus.

    Please observe further and have a look at your latency. You can activate network status for that in options>>UI Settings. And use cmdr/strg +F to get your frame rate.
    If this doesn't go away at the latest after the next server restart, there might be a different problem.


    Cheers,
    Titus.
    Beste, Titus. | playing since 2009 | Don't do the fun wrong | New to Orien? Join the ingame Titan Channel | Soko Irrlicht freut sich immer über neue Mitglieder | Deutscher Discord | Orien Raiding Discord Toons: Titusovid , Bruder, Upload, Zzed, (Rubbel)

  3. #3
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default

    It seems that my graphics card needed updated. I had checked my drivers and it said they were all up to date, but then today I went in to check each one manually and my graphics chip needed an update.
    Last edited by IrritatedMind; 07-20-2019 at 05:54 PM. Reason: found out my problem

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    4

    Default Still Shipwrecked.

    I am having the same problem.

    I've come back to the game after a couple of years and I can't even get past the shipwreck.

    My PC may be a bit dated, but it surpasses the highest specs listed on the website. I have re-installed the game twice, and defragged the HD.

    I can sometimes interact with the thief, sometimes not. I can not take more than one step before snapping back.

    Oh, and please, please, Do Not ask me to throw money at the PC. If I could I would, but I can't, so don't go there.

  5. #5
    Community Member TitusOvid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,970

    Default

    It can be a number of things. You need to monitor what happens.
    - Latency
    - Frame rate
    - CPU Usage
    - Temperature
    - whatever you can think of

    Maybe try to play from an usb stick. So many possibilities.

    The most frequent one on newer computers is the directx 9 problem. But since your game starts and you get passed the loading screen, I doubt that. But just to be on the save side: https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...=1#post6006059

    Cheers,
    Titus.
    Beste, Titus. | playing since 2009 | Don't do the fun wrong | New to Orien? Join the ingame Titan Channel | Soko Irrlicht freut sich immer über neue Mitglieder | Deutscher Discord | Orien Raiding Discord Toons: Titusovid , Bruder, Upload, Zzed, (Rubbel)

  6. #6
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TitusOvid View Post
    It can be a number of things. You need to monitor what happens.
    - Latency = I can always see 4 or 5 bars. I don't know the actual figure as the tooltip for it doesn't pop up
    - Frame rate = 60 when idling, as low as 17 when I'm trying to walk or interact
    - CPU Usage = less than 20%
    - Temperature = not even an issue, can't overheat this sucker even playing Anthem
    - whatever you can think of (using DX11, not DX9)

    Maybe try to play from an usb stick. So many possibilities.

    The most frequent one on newer computers is the directx 9 problem. But since your game starts and you get passed the loading screen, I doubt that. But just to be on the save side: https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...=1#post6006059

    Cheers,
    Titus.
    How do I play off of the USB? Just copy and paste the game files? Or do a new install onto it?

  7. #7
    Community Member TitusOvid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,970

    Default

    You can check the latency ingame by activating the Network symbol under Options and UI Settings.

    I would download directx 9. See the link I provided.

    As for playing on an usb: As far as I know DDO needs very little registry so a plain copy could work. You just have to start the game from the usb directory. But I would recommend a fresh install on the usb.

    Cheers,
    Titus.
    Beste, Titus. | playing since 2009 | Don't do the fun wrong | New to Orien? Join the ingame Titan Channel | Soko Irrlicht freut sich immer über neue Mitglieder | Deutscher Discord | Orien Raiding Discord Toons: Titusovid , Bruder, Upload, Zzed, (Rubbel)

  8. #8
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TitusOvid View Post
    You can check the latency ingame by activating the Network symbol under Options and UI Settings.

    I would download directx 9. See the link I provided.

    As for playing on an usb: As far as I know DDO needs very little registry so a plain copy could work. You just have to start the game from the usb directory. But I would recommend a fresh install on the usb.

    Cheers,
    Titus.
    Can't run DX9 on Windows 10.

  9. #9
    Community Member TitusOvid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,970

    Default

    Of course you can. You have to install the DirectX End-User Runtimes as stated in the forum link I posted.
    Beste, Titus. | playing since 2009 | Don't do the fun wrong | New to Orien? Join the ingame Titan Channel | Soko Irrlicht freut sich immer über neue Mitglieder | Deutscher Discord | Orien Raiding Discord Toons: Titusovid , Bruder, Upload, Zzed, (Rubbel)

  10. #10
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TitusOvid View Post
    Of course you can. You have to install the DirectX End-User Runtimes as stated in the forum link I posted.
    No, Seriously, Windows 10 blocked me from running the DX9 E.U. Runtime App.

    However, I could select it in the Game Settings, so I did that. I also throttled down the game engine to Low and that is helping a bit. I can now play for 10 - 15 minutes before I hit Perma-Lag.

    My latencies are in the high 80s as well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload