Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Sweden, the woods
    Posts
    12

    Default Extremly long loading time

    Hey

    I don't really know how long I had the problem now, but a few weeks/months.

    DDO takes _forever_ to load.
    I click the launcher, then it get stuck on one of the language loadingscreens, then I have to exit the launcher, click it again and so on, everytime it get "stuck" on a loadningscreen.

    It takes like 30 min (or more) to get the game going.
    Once it starts, theres no problems at all.

    Never had this problem before and it is really annoying.
    I have "repaired" the game...I have deleted it and downloaded it again...

    Anyone got any suggestion?
    Last edited by Ugbuld; 06-21-2019 at 02:46 AM.

  2. #2
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    5,088

    Default

    Not sure what's taking so long, but if it's the loading screens, you can use a command line option to not download them. This definitely helped my start up times.
    https://ddowiki.com/page/Launcher

  3. #3
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Sweden, the woods
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cru121 View Post
    Not sure what's taking so long, but if it's the loading screens, you can use a command line option to not download them. This definitely helped my start up times.
    https://ddowiki.com/page/Launcher
    I don't really get this part:
    "C:\temp\Dungeons & Dragons Online\DNDLauncher.exe" -skiprawdownload -nosplash

    Shall I rename the shortcut or what shall I do?

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    5,088

    Default

    How do you launch DDO? Do you have a shortcut on your desktop?

    If yes, right-click it and select Properties from the context menu.
    In the Target field, add -skiprawdownload at the end.
    Click OK to close the properties.
    Use the shortcut to launch the game.

    If you don't have a shortcut on your desktop, first add the shortcut to your desktop and continue as above.

  5. #5
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Sweden, the woods
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cru121 View Post
    How do you launch DDO? Do you have a shortcut on your desktop?

    If yes, right-click it and select Properties from the context menu.
    In the Target field, add -skiprawdownload at the end.
    Click OK to close the properties.
    Use the shortcut to launch the game.

    If you don't have a shortcut on your desktop, first add the shortcut to your desktop and continue as above.
    Thanks
    Tried to apply the -nosplash as well but it didn't seem to work very well.
    At first it looked just fine as the "downloading screens" just flickered by.
    But atm I am stuck att "download FR loading screen 4", dont know what I have done to anger the French

    Does it make any diffrence if there is a space between target link and -skiprawdownload and -nosplash
    Last edited by Ugbuld; 06-22-2019 at 12:56 AM.

  6. #6
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Sweden, the woods
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cru121 View Post
    How do you launch DDO? Do you have a shortcut on your desktop?

    If yes, right-click it and select Properties from the context menu.
    In the Target field, add -skiprawdownload at the end.
    Click OK to close the properties.
    Use the shortcut to launch the game.

    If you don't have a shortcut on your desktop, first add the shortcut to your desktop and continue as above.
    LOL

    Never mind my previous post.
    I am a moron.
    Hehehe.

    Couldn't figure out why it wasn't working...


    Then I saw that I used turbinelauncer and not DNDlauncher.
    It works just great now.
    Thanks =)

  7. #7
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    5,088

    Default

    Glad to hear it works. Happy gaming

  8. #8
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Sweden, the woods
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cru121 View Post
    Glad to hear it works. Happy gaming

    Hm.
    I have noticed another problem.I can't use the Eveningstar Key. I get stuck on loadningscreen and have to relogg.
    Is that connected to this in anyway?

  9. #9
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    5,088

    Default

    well personally I've been using -skiprawdownload for around two years now and I don't think getting stuck on loading screen is related to this particular launcher option. but i cannot guarantee it obviously.

  10. #10
    The Hatchery Melkazar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    127

    Default

    I suddenly had very bad load times and teleport screens after one of the recent updates. Locked the whole computer. During a raid no less. (Insert SSG Rant Here)

    Someone had posted checking into the DDO folders for the loading screenshots and if any look out of place (most of mine were a few kb but one was over a meg) delete them and let the system rebuild it. Not sure if that is what is happening here but it is worth a look. Check your DDO folder for this path

    C:\Program Files (x86)\StandingStoneGames\Dungeons & Dragons Online\raw\en\logo

    They should be jpg but one of mine had been changed to html. Delete all in the folder, restart the game and it will rebuild the files.
    What do you mean a -6 armor class is no good anymore?

    Baldric, Mulray, Tirimon, Clant, Melkazar, Dorakeen, Blastium
    Member of the Silver Legion on Cannith

  11. #11
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Sweden, the woods
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melkazar View Post
    I suddenly had very bad load times and teleport screens after one of the recent updates. Locked the whole computer. During a raid no less. (Insert SSG Rant Here)

    Someone had posted checking into the DDO folders for the loading screenshots and if any look out of place (most of mine were a few kb but one was over a meg) delete them and let the system rebuild it. Not sure if that is what is happening here but it is worth a look. Check your DDO folder for this path

    C:\Program Files (x86)\StandingStoneGames\Dungeons & Dragons Online\raw\en\logo

    They should be jpg but one of mine had been changed to html. Delete all in the folder, restart the game and it will rebuild the files.
    Ah, thanks.
    Just checked the folder and there were some strange numbers...size-wise =) But not up to megs.
    But I am gonna delete them anyways just to check.
    Thanks for the replay.

  12. #12
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Sweden, the woods
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melkazar View Post
    I suddenly had very bad load times and teleport screens after one of the recent updates. Locked the whole computer. During a raid no less. (Insert SSG Rant Here)

    Someone had posted checking into the DDO folders for the loading screenshots and if any look out of place (most of mine were a few kb but one was over a meg) delete them and let the system rebuild it. Not sure if that is what is happening here but it is worth a look. Check your DDO folder for this path

    C:\Program Files (x86)\StandingStoneGames\Dungeons & Dragons Online\raw\en\logo

    They should be jpg but one of mine had been changed to html. Delete all in the folder, restart the game and it will rebuild the files.
    Unfortenately it didnt work....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload