Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 42
  1. #21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Emptea1 View Post
    Hello,

    Thanks for the suggestions. Just tried for the second time to get this to load. Right now it shows 785M DDO in the Applications File. A double click gets a jiggling DDO icon and nothing else. It just stops moving. Nothing happens.

    Thanks,
    Wayne
    Thanks for following up.

    This sounds like the application is having a hard time downloading/writing the installer to disk. You can verify this with us by providing the contents of your log file.

    To check this, navigate into the Applications directory. Right click DDO, "Show Package Contents".
    Once that opens, expand the "Contents" and "Resources" directories.
    In the "Resources" directory you should see the following:
    • A file called script.log
    • A file called "ddolive.exe"
    • A directory called "wineprefix"


    Based on which of these are missing (if any), and what the "script.log" file says, we can troubleshoot what went wrong.

  2. #22
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    34

    Default Again, Not Downloading

    Hello,

    When the DDO logo is in applications I click on it. I've had to set my MAC to accept apps that aren't verified. It verifies, it asks, I say Open. Lots of jiggling icon later it shuts itself off. And, there is a new logo that appeared titled Wine63 preloader.

    Hope all this info helps.

    Thanks,
    Wayne



    Quote Originally Posted by Cydrith View Post
    For anyone having trouble with this client, try installing with these steps in mind:

    • Once the dmg file is open, drag DDO into your applications folder
    • After the copy finishes, close the dmg
    • Navigate to applications, and right click DDO, and open it (be sure you are opening the new DDO)


    This should clear up issues people are seeing with it not working. It cannot be run from within the DMG.
    Additionally, there is a point where the installer hangs up momentarily. It will come back from that given a bit of time.
    Any unwanted links/shortcuts placed on the desktop or dock bar can safely be removed.

    If these steps don't seem to help you get up and running, please report back. We'll take a look into any issues we have sufficient information on. Let us know what went wrong, as well as the steps taken to get to that point.

  3. #23
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    34

    Default Just Looking At This

    Hello Cydrith

    Sorry I missed this post earlier and thank you for the response. I am looking at the application now. In the Resources file I find all the contents you listed. I have the script.log open in TextEdit right now.

    I'll check back for further instruction.

    Thanks again,
    Wayne


    Quote Originally Posted by Cydrith View Post
    Thanks for following up.

    This sounds like the application is having a hard time downloading/writing the installer to disk. You can verify this with us by providing the contents of your log file.

    To check this, navigate into the Applications directory. Right click DDO, "Show Package Contents".
    Once that opens, expand the "Contents" and "Resources" directories.
    In the "Resources" directory you should see the following:
    • A file called script.log
    • A file called "ddolive.exe"
    • A directory called "wineprefix"


    Based on which of these are missing (if any), and what the "script.log" file says, we can troubleshoot what went wrong.

  4. #24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Emptea1 View Post
    Hello Cydrith

    Sorry I missed this post earlier and thank you for the response. I am looking at the application now. In the Resources file I find all the contents you listed. I have the script.log open in TextEdit right now.

    I'll check back for further instruction.

    Thanks again,
    Wayne
    Sounds like the application bundle got into a read-only state. This is an issue that happens from time to time, and we have yet to track down the cause.
    The solution is to delete the "wineprefix" directory, and then run it again. That should clear things up.

    If that doesn't work, try re-downloading the .dmg, and replacing the application entirely.

    Given that neither of those things fix this issue, I will probably need to see the contents of the "script.log" file to investigate further.

  5. #25
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,395

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by Cydrith View Post
    For anyone having trouble with this client, try installing with these steps in mind:

    • Once the dmg file is open, drag DDO into your applications folder
    • After the copy finishes, close the dmg
    • Navigate to applications, and right click DDO, and open it (be sure you are opening the new DDO)


    This should clear up issues people are seeing with it not working. It cannot be run from within the DMG.
    Additionally, there is a point where the installer hangs up momentarily. It will come back from that given a bit of time.
    Any unwanted links/shortcuts placed on the desktop or dock bar can safely be removed.

    If these steps don't seem to help you get up and running, please report back. We'll take a look into any issues we have sufficient information on. Let us know what went wrong, as well as the steps taken to get to that point.
    Cydrith, are you responsible for this?

    Thank you so much. This is the best thing to happen to the Mac DDO client in literally ever. I just played Mad Tea Party using this new version. Let me tell you all the things I can do now that I never could before:

    I can set the screen size
    I can use antialiasing
    I can set the gamma (omg omg omg I can see again!)
    I don't have to use n+n+n damage formatting anymore.
    I can use the wheel button to rotate the camera (omg omg omg I can see ME again!)
    I assume I can see my HP when they are negative (I'm going to grant you that one, I didn't actually go negative).
    I assume the graphic options actually do something (also granting you that one, I didnt have time to play with them all).

    The squirrelly bits:

    What you said:
    The option and command keys are a bit backward.
    I tried taking a picture but it didn't work I suppose. I don't know where it would have gone if it did.
    The app isn't signed.

    What I found:
    Command-H doesn't hide the client but command tab works.
    The whole download and install part is pretty rough. I didn't have to install WINE since I already had it, but I know that was pretty rough around the edges when I tried this with Lotro. Any extra polish there will help people a lot.
    The Launcher text is just abysmal. I suspect it is on Windows as well. Might I suggest you upgrade the fonts used in there to something larger, not monospaced and antialiased? It looks like something from the late 80s.
    At first the game seemed a tad jerky, but the fps never dropped below 70 and questing through Mad Tea Party on R2 went very smoothly overall.

    This is really good work. Thank you!

  6. #26
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Hello,

    Well, strangest thing. Went to cook salmon, came back to computer and now it is installing again. Keeping finger crossed.

    This is after I deleted the file from Resources.

    I'll let you all know what happens.

    Thanks,
    Wayne

    Quote Originally Posted by Cydrith View Post
    For anyone having trouble with this client, try installing with these steps in mind:

    • Once the dmg file is open, drag DDO into your applications folder
    • After the copy finishes, close the dmg
    • Navigate to applications, and right click DDO, and open it (be sure you are opening the new DDO)


    This should clear up issues people are seeing with it not working. It cannot be run from within the DMG.
    Additionally, there is a point where the installer hangs up momentarily. It will come back from that given a bit of time.
    Any unwanted links/shortcuts placed on the desktop or dock bar can safely be removed.

    If these steps don't seem to help you get up and running, please report back. We'll take a look into any issues we have sufficient information on. Let us know what went wrong, as well as the steps taken to get to that point.

  7. #27
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    34

    Default

    It is the process of downloading when a dialog box RunTime popped up. It wanted OK to exit or CANCEL to run some sort of fixit program, I think. In the process of typing this the download screen and the dialog box are gone.

    Now on my desktop I've got A Dungeons & Dragons desktop logo with EXE, A read-me type file Dungeons&DragonsOnline.lnk, and in the dock, along with the DDO icon are two black boxes with EXE, both labeled wine-preloader.

    Thanks,
    Wayne


    Quote Originally Posted by Cydrith View Post
    Sounds like the application bundle got into a read-only state. This is an issue that happens from time to time, and we have yet to track down the cause.
    The solution is to delete the "wineprefix" directory, and then run it again. That should clear things up.

    If that doesn't work, try re-downloading the .dmg, and replacing the application entirely.

    Given that neither of those things fix this issue, I will probably need to see the contents of the "script.log" file to investigate further.

  8. #28
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    34

    Default Day Seven

    Hello to all,

    Okay, I've loaded it, trashed it, loaded it, or at least tried to load it, tried four times, got help from community members (thank you), still doesn't work and can't play. Trying to "fix" this through the instruction of others hasn't worked. I have no desire or skill to be a programmer.

    There is no doubt that the staff is working to correct the problem.

    Day Seven and how many more to go?

    Thanks,
    Wayne

    Quote Originally Posted by Cordovan View Post
    Ok, the Beta Wine client can be downloaded here: http://download.ddo.akamai.turbine.c...olive-wine.dmg

    Couple of known issues:

    - Screenshots are not working correctly.
    - The launcher is unable to correctly open logs.
    - Keyboard input is respected as a Windows key input rather than Mac.
    - The app bundle is not yet correctly signed, so launching it will require extra action (right click then open).

  9. #29
    Community Member Tricosene's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Athas
    Posts
    361

    Default

    This is good timing, considering that I just needed to upgrade my iMac.

    I downloaded the new Wine version, clicked on "yes" and "accept" for about thirty or forty dialogue boxes and terms / conditions, and after close to an hour of downloading stuff that it thought I needed, it runs fine for me.

    And, echoing Kaytis, it's amazing that so many things work that never did before!

    What are these strange numbers that pop up when I damage someone? :P
    And these new graphics options... I don't know what to do!

    Thank you!

  10. #30
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    38

    Default How does this work

    Quote Originally Posted by Cordovan View Post
    Ok, the Beta Wine client can be downloaded here: http://download.ddo.akamai.turbine.c...olive-wine.dmg

    Couple of known issues:

    - Screenshots are not working correctly.
    - The launcher is unable to correctly open logs.
    - Keyboard input is respected as a Windows key input rather than Mac.
    - The app bundle is not yet correctly signed, so launching it will require extra action (right click then open).
    Can i delete the original full game download? Or does this Wine stack on top of the original launcher. Because there are now a bunch of DDO files on my computer. What can i delete good sir?

  11. #31
    Community Manager
    Cordovan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Boston Area, MA
    Posts
    26,513

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LawLessk View Post
    Can i delete the original full game download? Or does this Wine stack on top of the original launcher. Because there are now a bunch of DDO files on my computer. What can i delete good sir?
    Yes, you can uninstall/delete the older game download for MacOS after you have installed the Wine client (or before, really.)
    Have fun, and don't forget to gather for buffs!
    Follow DDO on: Facebook Twitter Pinterest
    Join us on Twitch!
    Hello from Standing Stone Games! Facebook Twitter
    For Support: https://help.standingstonegames.com



  12. #32
    Founder Shadow_Flayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Providence, RI
    Posts
    1,076

    Default Almost ...

    I was able to get the link to install and download the entire client. I can click the new DDO.app and get the launcher to come up, enter an account, and get the server selection screen to come up. After picking a server and clicking 'Play' the launcher closes and nothing happens. The DDO process (in Activity Monitor) goes away any nothing ever starts.

    script.log shows the following (clear each time I attempt to log in and click 'Play' for a server):
    Code:
    No version info could be found
    [SSG] >> osx_module     => executing module
    [SSG] >> osx_module     => module required, processing...
    [SSG] >> osx_module     => processing module dependencies...
    [SSG] >> osx_application_module     => executing module
    [SSG] >> osx_application_module     => module not required, skipping
    [SSG] >> osx_wine_module     => executing module
    [SSG] >> osx_wine_module     => module required, processing...
    [SSG] >> osx_wine_module     => processing module dependencies...
    [SSG] >> osx_wine_module     => executing `process`
    [SSG] >> osx_wine_module     => module passed
    [SSG] >> game_module     => executing module
    [SSG] >> game_module     => module required, processing...
    [SSG] >> game_module     => processing module dependencies...
    [SSG] >> locate_game_module     => executing module
    [SSG] >> locate_game_module     => module required, processing...
    [SSG] >> locate_game_module     => processing module dependencies...
    [SSG] >> locate_game_module     => executing `process`
    [SSG] >> locate_game_module     => module passed
    [SSG] >> game_module     => executing `process`
    [SSG] >> launching game...
    [SSG] >> run_prep_module     => executing module
    [SSG] >> run_prep_module     => module not required, skipping
    [SSG] >> game_module     => module passed
    [SSG] >> osx_module     => executing `process`
    [SSG] >> osx_module     => module passed
    When the DDO.app starts I also see a 'tccd' process start. That process does not die with the launcher, and in fact continue to run until killed manually.

  13. #33
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    2

    Default Anyone know why DDO hasn't corrected this problem themselves?

    I mean its cool that we're figuring out workarounds. But It would seem to me that Turbine, standing stones, whomever is running things over at DDO should work this out themselves.

    Am i crazy?

  14. #34
    Founder Shadow_Flayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Providence, RI
    Posts
    1,076

    Default More info

    Here are the contents of the dndclient.log when attempting to start the Wine client. This is crashing on my iMac Retina 5k (10.14.5). The client does start on my MacBook Pro (circa 2013, 10.14.5), though the graphics are awful compared to the native Mac client (or native Windows client). I've tried several different screen resolutions on the iMac with no difference.


    Code:
    000000000.000: Initializing client - build version is [2600.0048.2788.4185.RELEASE] 
    000000000.000: Initializing the global event handler...
    000000000.000: Creating trigger schedulers...
    000000000.000: Initializing the network...
    000000000.000: Initializing the cache...
    000000000.000: CLCache::Init: called.
    000000000.000: LookForFile trying cwd
    000000000.000: Is_File_Here found 'client_general.dat' in 'C:/Program Files (x86)/StandingStoneGames/Dungeons & Dragons Online'
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_general.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:3,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_highres.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:3,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_gamelogic.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:3,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_anim.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:3,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_mesh.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:3,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_sound.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:3,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_surface.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:3,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_cell_1.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:0,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_map_1.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:0,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_cell_2.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:0,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_map_2.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:0,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: 
    
    
    DiskCon::InitFile:
      datfile "client_local_English.dat" stamped with datpack versions eng:112, game:3,
      executable supporting datpack versions eng:-1, game: -1.
    
    
    000000000.000: Initializing display with title 'Dungeons and Dragons Online'...
    000000000.000: Device_WIN32::Init: called.
    000000000.000: Device_WIN32::InitDEVICE|  Detected operating system: Windows 7
    000000000.000: Failed to start rendering system.
    000000000.000: Device_WIN32::Cleanup: called.

  15. #35
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    48

    Default

    like many of you, after the last update my client crashed on load, differently for me, over a more prolonged period than it often has on weekends during high traffic. so i found the link to the Beta Wine client and installed it. while i had to tweak all the graphics settings to make things look right like just days ago with the native client, everything seemed to work smoothly.

    i made the mistake of uninstalling the old client before checking the key mapping in the Wine client; turns out that not only did the new client not preserve the ddo.keymap file, it refused to recognize any button input from my mouse. furious, i repeatedly tried fresh reinstalls of the native client starting on Tuesday afternoon to find at first that the client would just crash right out of the gate, and then finally would get to the point of downloading the .dat files and either crash, reset to the beginning of .dat file download, or throw error codes.

    finally tonight, the native client completed downloading only to present me with the resource folder when choosing play; since i'd located what might be my old ddo.keymap file, i decided to see if i could try the Wine client again and figure out to where to overwrite the keymap file to...upon opening the app in my applications folder, i was presented with an error stating that the app is broken and should be deleted.

    i tried several reboots and clean installs but the same error. normally i'd screenshot and post them, but i'm weary from investigating the long-standing Mac client issue with the 'unrendered walls of color and need to logout/in problem' that appears to have had complaints going back 5+ years.

    when SSG responds to my support requests, it's typically to inform me that SSG doesn't support the Mac client. so not only have i been sucked into the cycle of investment in the game, but i'm told to go to the forums for support. and it doesn't make it better that it would seem SSG chooses not to append their download site with any sort of notice that Mac users spending money on the game will be provided no support and rather to just collect the profits without making the situation clear right off.

    regardless, i'm happy to provide SSG with any data they ask for.

    so what now?
    Last edited by Daarsurra; 08-01-2019 at 09:50 PM.

  16. #36
    Founder & Super Hero Arkat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    7,961

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daarsurra View Post

    so what now?
    Buy a Windows PC.
    The heart of the wise inclines to the right, but the heart of the fool to the left. - Ecclesiastes 10:2 (NIV)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lynnabel View Post
    Hi Welcome

  17. #37
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkat View Post
    Buy a Windows PC.
    gotta say i'm a little hesitant to spend the money for an additional computer to play a 13yo game with questionable support, but i appreciate the snarky and predictable advice.

  18. #38
    Community Member jwelch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tallahassee FL
    Posts
    317

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cydrith View Post
    For anyone having trouble with this client, try installing with these steps in mind:

    • Once the dmg file is open, drag DDO into your applications folder
    • After the copy finishes, close the dmg
    • Navigate to applications, and right click DDO, and open it (be sure you are opening the new DDO)


    This should clear up issues people are seeing with it not working. It cannot be run from within the DMG.
    Additionally, there is a point where the installer hangs up momentarily. It will come back from that given a bit of time.
    Any unwanted links/shortcuts placed on the desktop or dock bar can safely be removed.

    If these steps don't seem to help you get up and running, please report back. We'll take a look into any issues we have sufficient information on. Let us know what went wrong, as well as the steps taken to get to that point.
    Is the WINE client going to be 64-bit? because if it isn't, it's going to be VMware or Boot Camp to play DDO on a Mac after about september.
    "Sorry Elminster, it was really dark, and I'd drank a LOT of coffee..."

  19. #39
    Community Member jwelch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tallahassee FL
    Posts
    317

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daarsurra View Post
    gotta say i'm a little hesitant to spend the money for an additional computer to play a 13yo game with questionable support, but i appreciate the snarky and predictable advice.
    Is it though? I mean, and I say this as someone who has played the Mac client since the days of bent trees, this isn't even a good WINE experience. Running DDO in WINE is not new. People have been doing it on Linux for a *while* now.

    As well, based on a cursory search, WINE running 32-bit apps in a 64-bit only environment like the next rev of macOS is not even in beta yet. Note that Apple knifing 32-bit is not new. It is at least two years old. The current OS actively warns you about this. It's the kind of things that users expect Devs to pay attention to. Rather a few of us on the Mac client have been trying to get Turbine, now SSG to deal with this before it's an actual problem. And given what I'm seeing here and on the LOTRO forums, I'm not seeing this as saving SSG any actual work, other than shoving most of it from the dev staff to the support staff. This has been a known thing for two years now, and the solution is a (very very wonky) WINE implementation? Y'all cannot convince me (because I kind of actually know such things) that by the end of it, WINE is going to save you any time or money.

    You'd have been more honest to just say "here's a link to how to do Boot Camp and on fast hardware, it'll probably run okay in a VM." That would still suck, but it would be honest and actually save you time, and more importantly, let your customers actually just play the game, not become IT admins just to start a game.
    "Sorry Elminster, it was really dark, and I'd drank a LOT of coffee..."

  20. #40
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    1

    Angry New version and new problems for mac users

    Am I the only one that cannot connect now even with the wine client?
    When entering my password is giving me this error now:
    "Failed to read authentication response [err: unexpected end of file][line: 1][col: 1]"

    And about a real solution from SSG.... you can start forgetting about it.... after several tickets, they told me this:
    Today at 11:21
    Hello xxxx,

    Thanks for getting back to us. I apologise but at this moment we do not offer technical support for Mac. I recommend navigating to https://www.ddo.com/forums/forumdisp...cal-Assistance and collaborate with other players to explore other possible solutions.

    If you have any other questions or require any further assistance, please let me know.

    Kind regards,
    Customer Support
    Standing Stone Games


    I dont think they should advertise as available for MAC if they dont provide technical support when every new update prevents us from playing....
    Last edited by Pocha; 08-13-2019 at 09:55 AM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload