2015 DDO Players Council Sebastrd's Avatar

Default Blown away by Ravenloft

I picked up the Ultimate Ravenloft Bundle during the recent sale; and I started doing a solo, flower sniffing run through the expansion yesterday. I'm only through the first chain, and I'm astonished at the quality of the content.

The atmosphere is perfectly creepy. I actually jumped when some skeletons popped out of the ground in Death House! I can't tell you the last time I was so invested in the setting that I forgot about the game. The NPCs and flavor text clickable objects do a fantastic job of revealing the Ravenloft story; and, even though I'm familiar enough with Ravenloft from years of playing tabletop, I'm still learning new details and nuances from the DDO treatment.

Death House is already my favorite quest in the game. I imagine the children's voices coming from the creepy doll on the splash screen, and it's wild. Castle Ravenloft is huge! I spent over an hour exploring the whole place, and not because of ubiquitous mobs of mobs like in ToEE. The castle population feels organic, not artificial. I can't wait to get through the rest of it. I'm not sure I've ever been this excited about playing new content.

When I inevitably run Ravenloft for the table, I guarantee I will use this expansion as inspiration. Well done, SSG! Thank you for the great content.
    Astreya the Unturning

It's always a shame when the hammer of poor design choices smashes the fun of player tactical adaptation.

Community Member

I am just hoping that Sharn will have a similarly good atmosphere.

Death House is also one of my favourite quests in the game.

Quote Originally Posted by thedip View Post
    I am just hoping that Sharn will have a similarly good atmosphere.

Death House is also one of my favourite quests in the game.