Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    68

    Default Cleaning up old connection...

    Can't log into Khyber. Got stuck at a loading screen last night, so I just killed the client and went to bed. About 20 hours later, I can't even get to the character selection screen.

    I tried the UserPreferences.ini thing. I logged into another server, created a character and went into the game.

    I have tried waiting it out, but 30 minutes and still it can't clean itself.

  2. #2
    Community Member Thunder-Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    242

    Default

    Having the same prob on Ghallanda. Was selling trash to the ship vendor and it hung up, closed the vendor window, re-opened it and same thing. Killed client, restarted and it got stuck on Cleaning up old connection. Killed client, logged onto a toon on Sarlona no problem. Restarted on G-land and still stuck on Cleaning....

    What is the "UserPreferences.ini thing"?

  3. #3
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder-Monkey View Post
    What is the "UserPreferences.ini thing"?
    You'd have to search, I don't remember. I knew it wasn't going to work, this is obviously a server side issue, but I just threw out that I did it. No need to worry about it. Even rebooted the cable modem and router.

    Edit: I see they moved to Tuesday reboots, so I guess that means I'll be back to playing tonight. I just hope it doesn't happen at the beginning of the cycle.
    Last edited by Zobi; 04-17-2018 at 10:21 AM.

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Same problem on Cannith one day ago

    Have the same problem on Cannith one day ago. Client, restarted and it got stuck on Cleaning up old connection. Logged onto another land, no problem. Relog to Cannith and still stuck on Cleaning up screen....

    My guild member says my character still logged in on Cannith.
    Fortunately, my self-consciousness did not fall into the trap of virtual reality.

    Update: my account was stuck for nearly 1 week ago. right after previous restart.
    i have ticket, and still nothing happening:
    Last edited by flexich; 04-24-2018 at 02:05 AM. Reason: stucked to 1 week ago

  5. #5
    Community Member DYWYPI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Thelanis
    Posts
    820

    Default

    Have you tried editing 'UserPreferences.ini' as per: https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...=1#post6049465? Another option would be to 'power cycle' (reboot) your Router (not reset) if editing the UserPreferences.ini had no effect. Because the server is functional but needs to clear your Character login debris.

    Albeit I believe within the last several days SSG have had some major Server stability issues and needed to reboot certain servers. So another avenue to explore (I'd also recommend doing) is raising a Ticket with Customer Support they might be able to help get your "stuck" Character to load correctly. Also a server 'World' reboot sometimes unfreezes, the stuck on Loading Character.

    To me, it sounds like editing 'UserPreferences.ini' might not be enough because its seems like the issue as raised by the OP, has been effecting tonnes of players during the last few days. So its unlikely to be the typical cause of having a Character locked-up on the Loading Screen.
    Last edited by DYWYPI; 04-19-2018 at 05:13 AM. Reason: Grammar.

  6. #6
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default Similar problem with Orien

    Hi,

    I'm not sure its a problem our end - as I can log into a different Orien account or my account any other server, a complete new install (from scratch with all the bloody dl's - that took nearly 6hrs) on another computer gives me the same error (with Orien). So that makes me think its a DDO problem and I'm at 3 days. I also think this "don't expect anything for 2 business days" is **** too cause I would think that the busiest days in the week would be weekends - so why can't they have ppl on on the weekend (to at least reply or acknowledge) the problem.

    Its Wednesday here and I still have an open ticket and no email response.

  7. #7
    Community Member DirtyDJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs down Same problem with Orien after complete scrub of client and fresh install

    Uninstalled old client (both Turbine and StandingStone). Removed all files from program files, user/appdata/local. Searched and removed all "Turbine" and "StandingStone" references in Registry. Rebooted system. Turned off Norton 360 to disable all firewall and virus protection.

    Downloaded and installed a fresh copy of DDO. No installation issues are reported in exceptions report. Problem persists with Orien server not responding after "Clean up old connection" and load. I opened a help desk ticket on Sat. 4/28. I can log into other servers.

    This is a server problem that requires Standing Stone development adjustment.

    Quote Originally Posted by lion_mouse View Post
    Hi,

    I'm not sure its a problem our end - as I can log into a different Orien account or my account any other server, a complete new install (from scratch with all the bloody dl's - that took nearly 6hrs) on another computer gives me the same error (with Orien). So that makes me think its a DDO problem and I'm at 3 days. I also think this "don't expect anything for 2 business days" is **** too cause I would think that the busiest days in the week would be weekends - so why can't they have ppl on on the weekend (to at least reply or acknowledge) the problem.

    Its Wednesday here and I still have an open ticket and no email response.

  8. #8
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    82

    Default

    also having same problem now at sarlona. what to do?

  9. #9
    Community Member NXPlasmid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,691

    Default

    If you reinstalled the game you may need to install the DX9 runtime packages https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down....aspx?id=34429 I think that is the right link, windows 10 doesn't install DX9 anymore, maybe even since windows 7...

  10. #10
    Community Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    90

    Red face easy fix

    Quote Originally Posted by zobi View Post
    can't log into khyber. Got stuck at a loading screen last night, so i just killed the client and went to bed. About 20 hours later, i can't even get to the character selection screen.

    I tried the userpreferences.ini thing. I logged into another server, created a character and went into the game.

    I have tried waiting it out, but 30 minutes and still it can't clean itself.
    wait it out on the loading screen till it times out then reopen the game it will work

  11. #11
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    220

    Default same problem on Thelanis taday

    Quote Originally Posted by BillyBlaze View Post
    wait it out on the loading screen till it times out then reopen the game it will work
    After stuck in loading screen forever and finished with altF4, I restarted the pc and ddo- stuck in cleaning up old connections forever...
    Tarinia

  12. #12
    Community Member John3000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    274

    Default



    Happenned to me on GLand.... :-( Full reboot did nothing. Would be nice if there was a way to fix this....

  13. #13
    Community Member Epicstorms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    425

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BillyBlaze View Post
    wait it out on the loading screen till it times out then reopen the game it will work
    This is simply wrong imo.

    This just means that it solved itself in the time it took you to relaunch the game. :P


    In most situations you just need to have a few minutes patience. Quit the game, get some food, or do groceries, and the game will work once you're back. If not, take a nap :P

  14. #14
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Epicstorms View Post
    This is simply wrong imo.

    This just means that it solved itself in the time it took you to relaunch the game. :P


    In most situations you just need to have a few minutes patience. Quit the game, get some food, or do groceries, and the game will work once you're back. If not, take a nap :P
    This is simply not the case at the moment - happened yesterday to me and took a long time to resolve itself - seems to becoming an issue

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload