Community Member

Angry I refuse to spend another dime on DDO until the UI is fixed and modernized

(This will get burned by the residents who blindly defend the company no matter what or people who don't play other games so lemme cast Flame Shield first.)

I started playing this game when it was still called DDO: Stormreach, before it went F2P. It was my first and most-played MMORPG, and I must have put close to $5000 into it so far.

I took a break of like 4 years though, until a few months ago when I felt like picking the game up again.

The amount of new stuff to catch up to was too overwhelming. There were barely any groups (on Cannith) that wanted to help me get up to speed. Most were TRs zerging routinely through stuff, zombies numb to the grind. I tried logging in at different times, but it always seemed like a low active population.

I didn't mind, I often liked to play solo, at my own pace, anyway. I hung around for a few days, trying to figure things out.

But MAN, the user interface. God, DDO's UI feels like a macabre torture device in this day and age, SPECIALLY when there are SO many things to keep manage and track of now! It has barely changed since 10! years ago (I mean I still have my screenshots from back then.)

I saw the ads for the upcoming Ravenloft expansion and was excited. It seemed like they were preparing for an overhaul, so I hoped maybe the UI and "quality of life" would FINALLY get some long overdue love too, and decided to put DDO away again until the expansion was out.

But when I checked back yesterday, *sigh...*

We still can't snap toolbars. We still have to repeat a lot of customization on each one, like for keybinds. The chat boxes are still buggy. Many windows are still too cluttered and clunky.

And DAMN, SO. MANY. Skills and abilities! All over the place!!

Character skills. Feats. Enhancements. Epic Destinies. Item clickies. Tens of incompatible crafting systems.