Default High Lords will host Riding the Storm Out teaching raid on Saturday, Jan 13 at 9p EST

Last week's inaugural teaching raid saw a good turnout for Legendary Shroud, including one long time player who had never raided! You can read about it and watch the live stream here.

Next in our teaching raid series will be one of DDO's newest raids Riding the Storm Out on Saturday, January 13 at 9pm EST!

One of the inspirations for hosting teaching raids is the bad experiences I had in raids in my early days of DDO. In early 2010 I had been playing for just a few months and I started joining some pug raids. I had such off-putting experiences with raid leaders with bad attitudes, who were quick to scream when something went wrong but never explained anything. It's like they just expected everyone to know what to do and if you didn't know then you were just a waste of time noob. These experiences left me so soured that I almost left the game because I didn't want to be a part of that kind of scene.

Then I met a guy named Glam who led morning raids like VON5-6 and epic Chronoscope every day. Glam was always happy to explain how the raid worked and always made sure that everyone knew the methods we'd use to be successful. This was my first experience with a raid leader who actually explained things... and what a difference it made. I saw how raids could not only be smooth and understandable, but most importantly fun!

There are so many DDO'ers out there who don't raid for a variety of reasons. Our teaching raid events are meant to reach out not only to those who are new but also to all those players out there who are intimidated or confused by raids or were turned off by bad experiences. Just like I learned from Glam's raids years ago, I want others to see that raids can be smooth and enjoyable and a way to experience more parts of the game that we love!