Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 61 to 76 of 76
  1. #61
    Community Member Weyborn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    93

    Default

    what did you all do to break this?

    in 10 years never had this issue after an update

  2. #62

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Weyborn View Post
    what did you all do to break this?

    in 10 years never had this issue after an update
    May I ask what the issue you are experiencing is?
    Tell me about any and all bugs you encounter by clicking here!


    NOTE: Submitting a bug in this manner is not a quick fix for past occurrences; it is instead a means of bringing issues to our attention to prevent future occurrences for both you and others. Providing detailed information, especially specifics about your account and character as well as what steps you took leading up to the issue, are critical to us being able to pinpoint the cause of any problems you have encountered.

  3. #63
    Community Member Weyborn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cocomajobo View Post
    May I ask what the issue you are experiencing is?
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Turbine\DDO Unlimited\TurbineLauncher.exe

    Windows cannot access the specified device,path or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.

    again - never had an issue after an update

  4. #64
    Community Member Weyborn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Weyborn View Post
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Turbine\DDO Unlimited\TurbineLauncher.exe

    Windows cannot access the specified device,path or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.

    again - never had an issue after an update
    My short cut that has always worked for the Launcher is not working

    in order to get it to work - had to right click it and run it as an adminstrator

    rest of download took place after initial launcher crash

    but still need to run as admin to get it to work

    again - not normally how i need to do it

  5. #65
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default Lauching bug

    Cant log on game. The laucher stucks at "Installing pre-reqs", and never goes beyond that point. Is there a sugestion on how to fix it? The same is happening on 2 diferent computers.
    Last edited by Malbrart; 09-27-2017 at 08:05 PM.

  6. #66
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    63

    Default

    There seems to be some sort of incompatibility issue with win 10 do to your latest update which is causing an error logging in: connection closed.
    That's a pretty big mess up guys. I'm willing to bet it has something to do with the ddo store in game trying to connect to a browser combined with operating system.
    Setting things to admin doesn't seem to work, fixing ie doesn't work, switching to fire fox or chrome as main net explorer doesn't work. So, yeah.
    The lack of attention to detail with updates causing more bugs than fixes is becoming a more common occurrence.
    Last edited by calouscaine; 09-27-2017 at 10:39 PM.

  7. #67
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    312

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by calouscaine View Post
    There seems to be some sort of incompatibility issue with win 10 do to your latest update which is causing an error logging in: connection closed.
    That's a pretty big mess up guys. I'm willing to bet it has something to do with the ddo store in game trying to connect to a browser combined with operating system.
    Setting things to admin doesn't seem to work, fixing ie doesn't work, switching to fire fox or chrome as main net explorer doesn't work. So, yeah.
    The lack of attention to detail with updates causing more bugs than fixes is becoming a more common occurrence.
    Sorry about the difficulties you are having, but the problem can't just be down to a general "incompatibility with win 10" problem.

    I'm running Win 10 and have had no issues. Was with 4 guildies last night, all on Win 10 machines. Nobody else had issues either.

    I know this doesn't help you, but just wanted to point out there much be some other more specific aspect to this.

  8. #68
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    312

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Weyborn View Post
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Turbine\DDO Unlimited\TurbineLauncher.exe

    Windows cannot access the specified device,path or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.

    again - never had an issue after an update
    Are you saying that the file is not actually there any more? Or it is there but you still get that error (implying a permission issue)?

  9. #69

    Default

    Thank you all for the information provided here and in PM. We are looking into the cause.

    For anyone encountering an issue where your client is not launching: I would appreciate it if you would PM me with the name of any antivirus software you have active.
    Tell me about any and all bugs you encounter by clicking here!


    NOTE: Submitting a bug in this manner is not a quick fix for past occurrences; it is instead a means of bringing issues to our attention to prevent future occurrences for both you and others. Providing detailed information, especially specifics about your account and character as well as what steps you took leading up to the issue, are critical to us being able to pinpoint the cause of any problems you have encountered.

  10. #70

    Default

    In addition: Can you tell me what exactly is happening to you specifically. At what part of the process is the client failing?
    Tell me about any and all bugs you encounter by clicking here!


    NOTE: Submitting a bug in this manner is not a quick fix for past occurrences; it is instead a means of bringing issues to our attention to prevent future occurrences for both you and others. Providing detailed information, especially specifics about your account and character as well as what steps you took leading up to the issue, are critical to us being able to pinpoint the cause of any problems you have encountered.

  11. #71
    Founder Gol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    6,133

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Weyborn View Post
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Turbine\DDO Unlimited\TurbineLauncher.exe

    Windows cannot access the specified device,path or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.

    again - never had an issue after an update
    Have you tried reinstalling to or moving your install directory to a folder outside of Program Files (ie, to C:\Turbine\DDO)?

  12. #72
    Community Member Thalamask's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    58

    Angry PSA for those affected by the launch bugs

    Don't worry, mates... you're not really missing anything on this "event" unless you only have high-level, non-melee characters. If you've got lowbie characters, or melee's, don't even bother playing. The "geniuses" at SSG didn't make any attempt at all to level balance the "event", so any chest you open (at all... including quest-required key chests) has a fair chance of killing you. Unless you think your character can survive a DoT that procs five times for between 20-40 damage after resists have been taken into account (on top of whatever combat damage you're taking) at level FIVE (just as an example).

    As far as I can see, the game is nearly unplayable, so don't worry about not being able to play. SSG screwed the pooch so hard on this "event", that the pooch had to retire to the bathroom with a tube of soothing cream and a hernia cushion.

  13. #73
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Thalamask
    PSA for those affected by the launch bugs
    Don't worry, mates... you're not really missing anything on this "event" unless you only have high-level, non-melee characters. If you've got lowbie characters, or melee's, don't even bother playing. The "geniuses" at SSG didn't make any attempt at all to level balance the "event", so any chest you open (at all... including quest-required key chests) has a fair chance of killing you. Unless you think your character can survive a DoT that procs five times for between 20-40 damage after resists have been taken into account (on top of whatever combat damage you're taking) at level FIVE (just as an example).

    As far as I can see, the game is nearly unplayable, so don't worry about not being able to play. SSG screwed the pooch so hard on this "event", that the pooch had to retire to the bathroom with a tube of soothing cream and a hernia cushion.
    Sorry but this is incorrect, I have toons with mediocre gear and weapons and the mimics are anything but difficult. The game may be unplayable to you, but not to others. Honestly Thalamask you do this every time something isn't handed to you on a silver platter. Grow up and stop acting like a fool.

    The path I see is this: C:\Program Files (x86)\StandingStoneGames\Dungeons & Dragons Online\TurbineLauncher.exe and it works just fine. I'm betting that it's people who have older systems that are experiencing the problems.

  14. #74
    Community Member irnimnode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cuyahoga Falls Ohio
    Posts
    270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SilentRunning View Post
    Sorry but this is incorrect, I have toons with mediocre gear and weapons and the mimics are anything but difficult. The game may be unplayable to you, but not to others. Honestly Thalamask you do this every time something isn't handed to you on a silver platter. Grow up and stop acting like a fool.

    The path I see is this: C:\Program Files (x86)\StandingStoneGames\Dungeons & Dragons Online\TurbineLauncher.exe and it works just fine. I'm betting that it's people who have older systems that are experiencing the problems.

    You're correct about the older systems I think it may have something to do with the store browser not working with the older systems. Was working with coco on that earlier today changing the dndbrowserhelper.exe name but it did not work so he said he would work on it and get back with me.

  15. #75
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    63

    Default Possible fix for the client log in issue:

    So, this has worked for us at my house hold, not sure if it will work for anyone else having issues with the client not letting them on.
    Go to your options, change the proxy setting to no proxy.
    I hope this works for anyone else having issues.

  16. #76
    Community Member irnimnode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cuyahoga Falls Ohio
    Posts
    270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by calouscaine View Post
    So, this has worked for us at my house hold, not sure if it will work for anyone else having issues with the client not letting them on.
    Go to your options, change the proxy setting to no proxy.
    I hope this works for anyone else having issues.

    Nope gave it a shot but still not working thanks for the help though

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload