Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Compendium Lite

Default Compendium Lite

I wrote a compendium to take the place of the spreadsheet I've been using ever since I started playing. That spreadsheet has evolved to be quite advanced over the years, but it was still lacking in some key areas. Compendium answers the call.

The core design goal is to list all the quests in a logical order -- including links to their wiki pages -- and be able to track your characters' progress so you can see at a glance who still needs to run what. On top of that I wanted a place for my notes, as my notes file is also years old and has been with me through thick and thin. And then since I just recently created the dashboard page on the wiki, I thought it might be nice to also have a customizable dashboard-style links area.

And finally, this seemed like the most logical place to toss all the old quickie utilities I wrote for DDO years ago.

The program (as well as complete source code) is bundled along with my other tools, which I've now dubbed DDO Lite Tools, available for download over in the Character Builder Lite thread.

Fair warning that this initial 1.0 release may be buggy; I literally just finished working on it like an hour ago. The plan is to fix any issues with an update to my various programs when U36 goes live.

Default Favor

Here's a thumbnail of the main screen, click to enlarge and click again to see it full size:

As you can see, unlike my character builder and crafting planner, I'm finally taking advantage of the available screen real estate on my high def monitor. However, I didn't leave lower resolutions out in the cold. If you shrink the window down, the Notes and Links tabs snap over to the left with the quests into a single unified pane: