Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Community Member C-Hound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    50

    Question Forum "Display Name" default?

    I've got 2 diff names that can be displayed for my forum posts, C-Dog and C-Hound. (No idea how this happened, not sure I care, not intentional.)

    I'd far prefer the latter, for a number of reasons, not the least that

    1) iirc it's against the ToU to post w/ 2 diff names (altho' that may be 2 diff "accounts" - whatever).

    2) Several times I've responded to a thread I've started with the other name - we are not schizophrenic, really.

    3) Twice the work to find "my" old posts.

    4) "Friends" are one or the other. Private mails go to only one or the other, and PM Notices are only visible via one or the other.

    5) Only one is shown to be "online" at a time.

    6) Also worry that both display names are getting Rep differently, cutting my (already tiny) Rep in half. <sigh>

    I'd ~really~ like to try to stick to just one, , but as it stands, my preferred name is not the default one, so if I forget to tweak it I start my posting w/ the "wrong" name until I notice.

    Any way to switch this default, to choose my preferred alias?

  2. #2
    Community Member C-Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Lacalifusa
    Posts
    3,924

    Default

    This is the "other" me, btw.

  3. #3
    Community Manager
    Cordovan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Boston Area, MA
    Posts
    26,143

    Default

    I'll be PMing you. Unfortunately, there may not be much we can do to help, but we'll see.
    Have fun, and don't forget to gather for buffs!
    Follow DDO on: Facebook Twitter Pinterest
    Join us on Twitch!
    Hello from Standing Stone Games! Facebook Twitter
    For Support: https://help.standingstonegames.com



  4. #4
    Community Member brzytki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Warsaw
    Posts
    783

    Default

    Don't know if you got the problem solved but i can give the solution for you or anyone else who's got that problem.

    When you are logged in, click "My Account" on the top of the site, left from your login name. Go to "Manage Subscription" and there should be two of them displayed. Each subscription is connected to a different forum name (one of them you probably created for the early MotU beta access, that's how i got my 2 display names). Now just click "Set as default" next to the one which you want to be the main. Relog and see if that works.

    I must say though that it only works when i'm on my laptop. When i log in via my smartphone it always picks the other display name as a default, so it might set the default not for the whole forum system but it can be linked with the machine you access the forum. Maybe if i went through the same steps on my phone i'd get my main display name as a default as well.
    Quote Originally Posted by Absolute-Omniscience View Post
    Did Einstein solo eLoB without pots or what?
    Guild: Captain's Crew
    Characters: Kyorli , Xunrae , Halisstra , Nyarly

  5. #5
    Community Member PNellesen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brzytki View Post
    Don't know if you got the problem solved but i can give the solution for you or anyone else who's got that problem.

    When you are logged in, click "My Account" on the top of the site, left from your login name. Go to "Manage Subscription" and there should be two of them displayed. Each subscription is connected to a different forum name (one of them you probably created for the early MotU beta access, that's how i got my 2 display names). Now just click "Set as default" next to the one which you want to be the main. Relog and see if that works.

    I must say though that it only works when i'm on my laptop. When i log in via my smartphone it always picks the other display name as a default, so it might set the default not for the whole forum system but it can be linked with the machine you access the forum. Maybe if i went through the same steps on my phone i'd get my main display name as a default as well.
    I just tried this on my phone and it appears to work the same way. Thanks for posting ????
    Quote Originally Posted by Ertay View Post
    While they were at it though, the devs decided to go on an incredible nerfhammer rampage and left nothing in their wake standing...

  6. #6
    Community Member C-Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Lacalifusa
    Posts
    3,924

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brzytki View Post
    ...Go to "Manage Subscription" and there should be two of them displayed. ...
    Unfortunately, the two of "them" that are displayed are accounts, not ID's. One is what must be my original F2P account ("My DDO 01/02/2012"), and the other has nothing to do with my login, so I have NO idea what's going on there.

    Thanks, but not relevant here, it seems. :/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload