Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Melee Master Vampires UNITE!

Disclaimer: This is a work in progress. I am no expert on PMs so please post your suggestions. There have been a number of threads recently with players proposing vampire builds. I also was intrigued and played a 6 monk/7 wiz/7 rogue version to cap recently out of curiosity. There are many strengths and weaknesses of this dual-fanged runt of the PM tree.

Why Choose Shroud of the vampire
    1. The Multiclass build has under 12 levels of wizard and hence unable to use the vastly superior wraith form. I will presume this is always the case.
    2. While in this form, you gain +2 Strength, +2 Charisma, +2 to the DC's of you Enchantment spells, and generate 25% less threat from spells and attacks.
    3. On Vorpal Melee Hit: Your attack causes Energy Drain, inflicting 1 Negative Level on your victim.
    4. You have +100% critical hit resistance, are healed by negative energy, and are unaffected by positive energy or repair effects, but take triple damage from light effects.
    5. You are considered undead rather than your original type for the purpose of most effects.
    6. Undead resistances (thread)—100% stacking fortification, free deathblock, deathward, immunity to poisons such as Drow venoms, green dragon breath and nasty poison traps (and resistant to disease etc.)
    7. Tier 5: While in Shroud of the Master Vampire, you gain +2 Dexterity, your vulnerability to Light damage is reduced to 200% (from 300%), and your melee and unarmed attacks heal you for 1 point of Negative Energy damage. This currently also works on ranged attacks (throwers and bows have been tested) although it is not WAI (so don't build around it, but hey! Think of all the non-WAI stuff floating around!
    8. Self-buffing from usual arcane levels such as displacement etc.
    9. You saw a re-run on Netflix of one of those horrendous Underworld films and were dazzled by the leather tights

Key Issues with Vampire Form