Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
    Community Member

Default The Myth that PRR has diminishing returns

Redoubt stated a more accurate version of my thesis than the title of this thread:
    Quote Originally Posted by redoubt View Post
    "While PRR has diminishing returns in respect to damage reduction, it creates a linear affect on damage required to reduce your hit points to zero."
    Chi_Ryu explains why it is problematic to refer to this as diminishing returns:
    Quote Originally Posted by Chi_Ryu View Post
    When viewed from the perspective of increased time to live under constant damage, PRR does not suffer from diminishing returns, unless the definition of diminishing returns has changed in the 20-odd years since I studied Economics, namely: "the decrease in the marginal output of production as the amount of a single factor of production is incrementally increased, whilst all other factors of production stay constant."
    If you don't like economics, maybe Faltout's simplified explanation will help.
    Quote Originally Posted by Faltout View Post
    And why are you measuring the "via" part and not the actual outcome?
    -------- original post follows ------
    There seems to be some general confusion about the benefits of PRR. I often hear that PRR has diminishing returns. This is simply untrue. The reason that it is believed to be true is because the benefits of PRR are displayed as a percentage damage reduction.

In the table below, the first three columns on the left are taken straight from the DDOWIKI entry on PRR.

The fourth column is a simple calculation to display how many points of pre-prr damage is needed to kill a character with 1000 hit points. The simple formula is 1000 / the percentage of damage taken. The smaller the amount of damage taken gets, the larger that number will be.