Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default My ideal definition of how DDO should be challenging me. (From HN -> EE)

My difficulty design philosophy is as follows:
    Normal: Learning the game, roflstomping, just killing time.
    Challenge level: Minimal.
    Hard: Getting better at the game, looking for an interesting step up from Normal but nothing too lethal.
    Challenge level: Moderate - Failure is possible but rather unlikely.
    Elite: I think I'm an expert now, I want to see just how uber my toon is, hubris & mistakes are costly.
    Challenge level: Lethal - The game is trying to kill me and failure rate ranges from possible to probable.

I fully realize little if any of what's to follow can actually be implemented, and whatever could be probably won't be due to resource investment etc. I'm ok with that, this is just more of a wish list than anything else. Enjoy

Randomness. Take any given quest, and randomize the traps & mobs number, placement and type.

• Traps: Normal would use fixed spawn points and Simple traps, the common stuff we already see. Hard would use some fixed + some *random spawn points and has limited (in Heroic) to moderate (in Epic) chance to spawn Complex traps, ie: Spinning Blades + Grease, Poison + Fire. Elite would use only *random spawn points and base spawn Complex traps, with limited (in Heroic) to moderate (in Epic) chance of Exotic Traps, ie: Net Mines + Grease + Fire, Sound Burst + Sleet Storm + Spinnng Blades.