Hybrid View

Community Member

Question Bard template - need help

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the game. I'd like to play as a Spellsinger Bard (I like the supporting CC + heal + buff playstile). I've read some posts discussing builds and endgame content, but I don't understand a lot of stuff people discuss on their builds. So I'd like to ask veteran players to reply with some advice about this playstile in a language that 'newbies' like me can understand. Btw, I've paid VIP status, if it adds something useful to the build. Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by Melius View Post
    Hi everyone,

I'm new to the game. I'd like to play as a Spellsinger Bard (I like the supporting CC + heal + buff playstile). I've read some posts discussing builds and endgame content, but I don't understand a lot of stuff people discuss on their builds. So I'd like to ask veteran players to reply with some advice about this playstile in a language that 'newbies' like me can understand. Btw, I've paid VIP status, if it adds something useful to the build. Thanks.
    Hi and thanks for posting on the forums! That's a fairly broad topic and I want to say first that the best way to learn is to play. Now, let me think of some pointers.

As a new player your support character will probably be fairly group oriented. It's possible to build a spellsinger with good melee ability if you have the resources (tomes, plat, gear, past lives) but I'd advise not to spread yourself too thin for now. As a consequence I'll give some tips for group play.

1) Don't get aggro. Monsters focus their attacks on the player at the top of their aggro list. You usually get aggro by being the first in the room or damaging the monster. Let others go in first. If you are swinging a weapon, hit a mob that the fighter has already engaged.

2) Shed aggro if you get it. Bring a light shield and block, or use Diplomacy to make the mobs lose their interest in you.

3) Sing, heal and buff. Throw CC.