Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,316

    Default Using the Mac Lamannia Client For Update 21

    Note you need the existing Mac Lamannia client to attempt this. I am not sure how one goes about getting it anymore.

    If you have it:

    The Mac Lamannia Launcher hangs at the very first screen saying "Installing Prereqs". It eventually crashes.

    If you run it a second time, it gets to the progress screen but has the message:

    "Failed to Initialize or Install Akamai NetSession Interface"

    If you find and install Akamai NetSession Interface for Mac manually (here is a link I found: https://a248.e.akamai.net/client.aka...=installer.dmg), and run the Launcher for a third time, then the Lamannia client will download.

    Update:

    The Lamannia client did eventually download. I am running round 6 now. The Mac damage display bug is still there. I assume the clipping one is too. I leveled a sorc up to 28, but without gear or twists, she doesn't survive long.

    The DDO store doesn't work, so I can't play the new content.
    Last edited by Katie_Seaglen; 03-03-2014 at 12:30 AM.

  2. #2
    Community Member Gnarkh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Katie_Seaglen View Post
    If you find and install Akamai NetSession Interface for Mac manually (here is a link I found: https://a248.e.akamai.net/client.aka...=installer.dmg), and run the Launcher for a third time, then the Lamannia client will download.
    Thanks much. That did the trick.
    "Don't mess with dragons for thou art crunchy and go well with ketchup."
    Proud citizen of Khyber, Dabbler in the arcane art of creating flavor builds and weird guides:
    The Gladys Knight (A melee warlock with soul), The Stonehenge (Efficient druid survival caster), The Starman (Ranged coup-de-grace assassin), DDO Urban Dictionary (All those useless acronyms - fully explained!)

  3. #3
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I'm not sure if I'm running the L client. I downloaded it through steam, but I did download the link you posted and installed it then restarted the client and its still saying it can't install the extra stuff (Akamai). Do you have any ideas or suggestions?

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,316

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Musiik View Post
    I'm not sure if I'm running the L client. I downloaded it through steam, but I did download the link you posted and installed it then restarted the client and its still saying it can't install the extra stuff (Akamai). Do you have any ideas or suggestions?
    You are not running the Lamannia client. The steam version is the live client.

    If the live client is broken like the Lam client was, installing Akamai through the link I provided should be helpful. The reason I can't say for sure is that I already had Akamai installed when I updated my live client. I don't know if Turbine added it to the Mac client or not. From what I am reading, it sounds like they didn't.

    So to recap:

    1) If the live client is sitting there saying "Installing Prerequisites", just quit and relaunch it.
    2) It might now complain that Akamai is missing. To get around that, quit the launcher and run the installer on this disk image:
    https://a248.e.akamai.net/client.aka...=installer.dmg
    3) The game should now update by itself. It might crash periodically, but just keep relaunching it. It will get there eventually.

  5. #5
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gnarkh View Post
    Thanks much. That did the trick.
    Ditto, though much later (for U21). I was in a perpetual loop of DDO trying to get me to agree to the installation of the NetSession manager. When I first installed it, I now see that i'm getting updates....

    I'm downloading now... 6 gigs later (this evening) I may take a look, though I have 600K on main toon to get back to level 27...

  6. #6
    Community Manager Cordovan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Boston Area, MA
    Posts
    15,822

    Default

    We have been investigating various issues people are experiencing in getting the Mac client updated, and are working on a solution.
    Have fun, and don't forget to gather for buffs!
    Submit DDO Bugs through: ddobugs.turbine.com
    Follow DDO on: Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest
    Join us on Twitch!



  7. #7
    Community Manager Cordovan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Boston Area, MA
    Posts
    15,822

    Default

    Please see this thread for more information on the Mac-specific launcher issue.
    Have fun, and don't forget to gather for buffs!
    Submit DDO Bugs through: ddobugs.turbine.com
    Follow DDO on: Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest
    Join us on Twitch!



  8. #8
    Founder Valamar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cordovan View Post
    Please see this thread for more information on the Mac-specific launcher issue.
    That solution has worked fine for me... currently updating.

    One other thing I did notice -- if you go to the download page and select the High-Rez download, it will hang on Apple's Gatekeeper -- the App isn't signed. (DDO_MAC_3.60.pkg)\
    The Fix is simple.
    See my comments for the (old) LOTRO issues with Gatekeeper:
    http://lotro-wiki.com/index.php/Mac_...and_Gatekeeper

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload