Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22
  1. #1
    2016 DDO Players Council PsychoBlonde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,035

    Default Connection Problems PSA

    Howdy, folks. Are you one of those people who has problems with the game instantly "losing connection" when you log in or shortly thereafter? Do this:

    1. Uninstall the game
    2. Delete the ENTIRE DIRECTORY AND EVERYTHING THAT WAS IN IT where you had the game installed.
    3. Go to My Documents/Dungeons and Dragons Online or the equivalent and delete the ENTIRE FOLDER
    4. Download and install the game again.

    There's a good chance this will fix your issue. It's not actually a connection issue but a result of accumulated data corruption. Do a complete slate cleanout and it should help.

    Also do common sense stuff like making sure your drivers are up to date and running checks for viruses/spyware/malware and so forth. Pull up your task manager and look to see if there's stuff running that you don't know what it is. Clean house. Makes a big difference in whether DDO runs properly or craps out.
    Thelanis player: Lehren (heroic/epic completionist), Kimberlei (heroic/epic completionist), Natheme, Daiahn, Arrekeh

  2. #2
    Community Member AtomicMew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2,815

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by psychoblonde View Post
    1. Uninstall the game
    2. Delete the entire directory and everything that was in it where you had the game installed.
    3. Go to my documents/dungeons and dragons online or the equivalent and delete the entire folder
    4. ?????
    5. Profit
    ftfy.

  3. #3
    Community Member Saravis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,406

    Default

    I've had the red latency problem with a fresh installation on a freshly installed OS. The only solution that I have ever seen reliably fix the problem is the DDOpreloader.

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,762

    Default This latest problem

    This latest problem is a connection issue. Data corruption issues don't start at 930 est on same day for everyone experiencing them, lol.

    Wether its an issue at turbine or somewhere along the routes to turbine remains up in the air, but this is a connection problem.

    Reinstalling does help some problems (although it shouldn't if the game was patched right), but it wont help here.

  5. #5
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Noticed this over the past several years. The first major cold snap of winter generally play havoc with Cable ISP's.

    The reason is the copper in the cable lines expands in the summer and shrinks in the winter. Thus making bad connections in several locations. After a few days the cable techs pinpoint the poor signal connections and fix them and everything is good again for the season.

    It never fails seems to happen every year to me.

  6. #6
    Community Member MartinusWyllt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Fantastic troll OP!

    I expect some folks will fall for it, too. (The ones that haven't read the threads where people noted that they already.did.that.)

  7. #7
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,762

    Default Worse than trolling if so

    Im not convinced he meant to troll, most likely just ignorant of whats going on.

    If it is a troll attempt its an assinine one, because reinstalling for no reason would suck.

  8. #8
    Community Member Hendrik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bell's Brewery, MI.
    Posts
    10,991

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PsychoBlonde View Post
    Howdy, folks. Are you one of those people who has problems with the game instantly "losing connection" when you log in or shortly thereafter? Do this:

    1. Uninstall the game
    2. Delete the ENTIRE DIRECTORY AND EVERYTHING THAT WAS IN IT where you had the game installed.
    3. Go to My Documents/Dungeons and Dragons Online or the equivalent and delete the ENTIRE FOLDER
    4. Download and install the game again.

    There's a good chance this will fix your issue. It's not actually a connection issue but a result of accumulated data corruption. Do a complete slate cleanout and it should help.

    Also do common sense stuff like making sure your drivers are up to date and running checks for viruses/spyware/malware and so forth. Pull up your task manager and look to see if there's stuff running that you don't know what it is. Clean house. Makes a big difference in whether DDO runs properly or craps out.
    Your troll failed when you added that.

    Next time tell everyone to format, re-install the OS, and then DDO.

    Hope nobody falls for your BS.

    Quote Originally Posted by hsinclair
    I heard the devs hate all wizards, bards, clerics, fighters, and fuzzy bunnies and only want us to play halfling barbarian/paladin shuriken specialists!

    It's totally true, I have a reliable source. You better reroll now.
    Adventurer, Bug Reporter, Mournlander.

  9. #9
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    100

    Default

    What's really odd to me is that my VIP account has no connection issues while my F2P account can barely stay connected. If it were a client-side issue, or even an ISP issue, I would expect the same latency behavior while logged into either account.

  10. #10
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,762

    Default yes its odd

    Had similar thing happen, trying to play with friend and son, friend is one of the immune people. Im vip, son is f2p, i and son are on same internet, same tracert. Son discos, lags, chat server drops, but im fine, he stuggles for 1/2hr then gives up. Five minutes after he gives up it nails me, i gave up a few min later. Havent been able to play since thurs 930 pm.

  11. #11
    Hopeless Romantic dunklezhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Yorkshire Toxic Fringe Zone
    Posts
    4,791

    Default

    I was having:
    The double log-on bug (where first time you log in it's red latency and you have to relog to get it back)
    The very very slow loading bug (where when you select a character and log in, it takes upwards of five mins to load)

    I now use:

    https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...eload-official

    to start the game (except right after an update/patch) and both of these issues have disappeared. Been using it for over a month now.

    I have however in the last week experienced Chat dropouts and the 'red graphics' bug (where when you load into a zone everything is tinged with a horrible red hue. Often switching instances can fix this, other times a complete restart). I do not know if these new issues are related to the preloader or not. I just know that I now have zero log in issues or unreasonable delays.

    I suggest this before you remove DDO and have to download 10GB worth of data again.
    Quote Originally Posted by Vargouille View Post
    The best of the best DDO players generally overperform when given a real challenge

  12. #12
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,762

    Default this ones a new one dunkle

    Ive been using preloader a while, and it fixed all the problems itp was supposed to.

  13. #13
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3,757

    Default

    Yeah, this is a regional ISP-based issue right now involving Ohio, Indiana, and other midwest areas for people on Time Warner Cable. And to answer other people - it's random on when it hits and which accounts. My VIP accounts have it happen as well.
    Tajawuka 20 Bladeforged Paladin running divine ETR's (3 ranger/monk/fighter pl's, 3 martial epl's) - Toolbots working on Morninglord Cleric life #2 (3 wizard/sorc/druid pl) - Evisra 28 rogue

  14. #14
    Community Member MartinusWyllt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Darkrok View Post
    Yeah, this is a regional ISP-based issue right now involving Ohio, Indiana, and other midwest areas for people on Time Warner Cable. And to answer other people - it's random on when it hits and which accounts. My VIP accounts have it happen as well.
    Yup, still today and one of 2 accounts currently logged in on the same computer is having problems, the other is, so far, stable.

  15. #15
    The Hatchery zwiebelring's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,435

    Default

    Also, use alt+tab/f constantly to improve PC performance....
    Characters on Orien:
    Wanzer/ Klingtanz/ Incanta Superior/ Mercantus

  16. #16
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,762

    Default thing is

    I am still yet to have issues with ANYTHING else on the internet, youtube, other mmos, Netflix, hulu, google. If ddo can work on dialup it should be able to work on my cable even if it was half speed, however I have no indication that anything is wrong with my connection other than ddo.

  17. #17
    Founder
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5,026

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 01000010 View Post
    I am still yet to have issues with ANYTHING else on the internet, youtube, other mmos, Netflix, hulu, google. If ddo can work on dialup it should be able to work on my cable even if it was half speed, however I have no indication that anything is wrong with my connection other than ddo.
    If it has something to do with how the ISP in question gets to the Turbine servers, only other things on that specific path would also be affected.

  18. #18
    Community Member MartinusWyllt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HAL View Post
    If it has something to do with how the ISP in question gets to the Turbine servers, only other things on that specific path would also be affected.
    And not even consistent between connections. I have one client that has had no trouble for the past hour while I'm having to relog the other one every 5-10 minutes.

  19. #19
    Hero Marcus-Hawkeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,055

    Default

    Or maybe superman can flying backwards around the planet really fast to change the flow of time itself and bring us back to a point where this issue doesn't exist.... oh wait... that's just silly... I'd lose all my XP then...

  20. #20
    Community Member arminius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,954

    Default

    OP is quite wrong. This is definitely an ISP/DNS issue. Can anyone provide the latest hosts file information? There are a number of configs archived on the internet for years but none that appear current.
    __________________
    Gwyneira : Cattari : Gorobei : Berylore : Zelphia : Aanouk : Beatriice : RobotMaria : Dalrymple : Nihill
    Captain's Crew : Fernia : Ghallanda

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload