Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25
  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    28

    Default Game will not install. Windows 8.1

    Hey.

    Just thought I'd ask what you're going to do about the fact that your game does not work without Microsoft .net Framework 1.1, and that .net framework 1.1 is NOT supported and doesn't work at all in windows 8.1, so people, myself included, cannot play the game if they have Windows 8.1?

    This seems really poorly made from your side.

    Is there even anything to be done?

    Do turbine even look in these forums anymore? The last thread i posted in here got no response from turbine whatsoever.

    Thanks

    ---------EDIT----------

    I managed to get it to install .net framework 1.1 correctly by using this tool: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/astebner/arc.../10336934.aspx

    I just selected the .net framework 1.1 in the program, it did it's thing, restarted my computer and i was able to re-install .net framework 1.1 correctly.

    -Lynix
    Last edited by Lynix; 10-30-2013 at 09:14 AM.

  2. #2

    Default

    Yeah. dotNet 1.1 is a pain to get working on a fresh Win8.x install. I updated from 8 to 8.1 and it told me that that 1.1 was incompatible with the OS and supposedly uninstalled it. I just ran the dotNetFX install again and everything worked.

    Turbine either needs to update the launcher to 3.5 , re-code it in C++ or simply change the initial load over to TurbineInvoker altogether. It's nothing now but a splash screen that collects command line args and invokes TurbineInvoker anyway.
    The newest computer can merely compound, at speed, the oldest problem in the relations between human beings, and in the end the communicator will be confronted with the old problem, of what to say and how to say it. - Edward R. Murrow (1964)

  3. #3
    Community Member illutian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2

    Angry

    Wow...they STILL haven't fixed this?

    Glad I decided to check to see if this was fixed. I didn't feel like wasting my time after downloading the Turbine games from Steam.
    --lol, I bet they didn't even bother to update the LoTRO Steam copy. Bet it'll still install MS VC C++ 2005, then after updating itself go and install MS VC C++ 2010, which I might add the version downloaded from Turbine does not install any MC VC C++ 2005 redistributables. I know, I checked on a fresh install for shizz and giggles.

    I refuse to put .Net 1.x on this system. It's not supported anymore....STOP USING IT.
    You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else. - Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    so, what is the official word from Turbine. are they going to fix this? I´m not gonna do all that **** just to install the game...I´m running Win 8.1 here. so either fix it or I simply won´t play it.

    thx.

  5. #5
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stonemask View Post
    so, what is the official word from Turbine. are they going to fix this? I´m not gonna do all that **** just to install the game...I´m running Win 8.1 here. so either fix it or I simply won´t play it.

    thx.
    Any news on this problem? I have the same issue

  6. #6
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lynix View Post
    Hey.

    Just thought I'd ask what you're going to do about the fact that your game does not work without Microsoft .net Framework 1.1, and that .net framework 1.1 is NOT supported and doesn't work at all in windows 8.1, so people, myself included, cannot play the game if they have Windows 8.1?

    This seems really poorly made from your side.

    Is there even anything to be done?

    Do turbine even look in these forums anymore? The last thread i posted in here got no response from turbine whatsoever.

    Thanks

    ---------EDIT----------

    I managed to get it to install .net framework 1.1 correctly by using this tool: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/astebner/arc.../10336934.aspx

    I just selected the .net framework 1.1 in the program, it did it's thing, restarted my computer and i was able to re-install .net framework 1.1 correctly.

    -Lynix
    That worked? I have the same problem any info would be appreciated...

  7. #7
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Geekhann View Post
    That worked? I have the same problem any info would be appreciated...
    It worked for me. I ran that tool and ran the install and didn't have any issues. I was not looking forward to setting things up in windows 8, but I have to admit that it went smoothly. Reading this thread ahead of time was nice because I just got the utility, ran it, and never even tried any other way. Windows 8 also lets me use the runas command to have 3 short cuts that start the game with different users from the same file location. Seems to work quite nice.

  8. #8
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ancient View Post
    It worked for me. I ran that tool and ran the install and didn't have any issues. I was not looking forward to setting things up in windows 8, but I have to admit that it went smoothly. Reading this thread ahead of time was nice because I just got the utility, ran it, and never even tried any other way. Windows 8 also lets me use the runas command to have 3 short cuts that start the game with different users from the same file location. Seems to work quite nice.
    Tyvm for replying so fast, will try ur solution in a bit, hopefully it will work. I ve been playing ddo with breaks for a long time now. My toons are Heronious, Vecnaa, Olidamarah and Zorrg. I play on Cannith sever, if ur solution works and u have a toon there hit me up so i can come up with a reward for u m8 ). Thx again for replying wasnt expecting any answer :P

  9. #9
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I have been searching around for a solution to this issue. I just recently upgraded to Windows 8.1 and find that I can no longer install DDO. I am struck with an error and nonsense about missing patches and the like. I tried the .NET Framework cleanup tool but was met with no success. Until a solution can be found I can no longer play DDO.

  10. #10
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oregon, USA, and Locutius.Com
    Posts
    1,546

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lynix View Post
    <cut>I managed to get it to install .net framework 1.1 correctly by using this tool: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/astebner/arc.../10336934.aspx
    <cut>
    I was reluctant to clear all dotnet versions just to get this to work, so looked for another solution. The first solution listed here, while complicated to type, worked great for me:
    Good luck all.
    Nyr Dyv Raiders - Sarlona
    Bloodbath, Barb 20 · Stonehaul, AC Build 20 · Sonnkral, Melee 20 · Sacrament, Cleric 17 · Sentient, Sorcerer 17 · Kimosabe, Archer 20 · Livid, Rogue 15 · Luthiena, Bard 20 · Luxoria, Paladin 8· Machinos, Wiz 8

  11. #11
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default

    hello.

    Im having the same problems. i cant play after updating my windows to 8.1
    and i didnt understand any of ur instructions ^^

    any news from turbain or new easyer guid to solve this?

    ty. ^^

  12. #12
    Community Member Dalmeros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Cannith
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Hello everyone. I updated to 8.1 a few weeks ago (had been playing on Win 8 before) and I can't start DDO since then. I tried the launcher and pylotro, in both cases after entering my password and chosing the server, the launcher just exits and nothing happens. No error message, no process running in the background, just nothing.
    I tried both fixes here in the threrad, the program and the manual .net 1.1 install, and it's still not running.
    Anyone has another fix? Or maybe it's not .net but something else? I'll download a fresh install of DDO to be sure, but I don't think that will fix this, because it was running fine before the update.

  13. #13
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dalmeros View Post
    Hello everyone. I updated to 8.1 a few weeks ago (had been playing on Win 8 before) and I can't start DDO since then. I tried the launcher and pylotro, in both cases after entering my password and chosing the server, the launcher just exits and nothing happens. No error message, no process running in the background, just nothing.
    I tried both fixes here in the threrad, the program and the manual .net 1.1 install, and it's still not running.
    Anyone has another fix? Or maybe it's not .net but something else? I'll download a fresh install of DDO to be sure, but I don't think that will fix this, because it was running fine before the update.
    I am suffering the exact same problem. I have tried everything with no success. I can not find a solution to this issue. It would be greatly appreciated if someone could post with something to fix this problem. :/

  14. #14
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,056

    Default

    Have you tried updating your Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable?

    I had issues when I upgraded to 8.1, and that was one thing I did before the client finally worked. I'm not sure which version is the critical one, but my system has the 2005, 2008, and 2010 versions installed.
    I Cannith-craft (150 levels in all schools) for free on Thelanis if you provide all needed materials.
    Getting Past Traps without Trap Skills | Musical Musings

  15. #15

    Lightbulb

    Okay, right now, I was able to get DDO working on the Steam version of the game. I'm unsure if the same goes for the non-Steam version, but if the files below are similarly placed, it should work.

    1.) Make sure you have at least .NET Framework 4 installed
    2.) Open the directory where your copy of DDO is installed*
    3.) Open TurbineInvoker.exe.config in a text editor
    4.) Make sure the version variable for requiredRuntime and supportedRuntime is set to "V4.0" (this should be on lines 5 and 6)
    5.) Save and close the file
    6.) Open TurbineLauncher.exe.config in a text editor
    7.) Make sure the version variable for requiredRuntime and supportedRuntime is set to "V4.0" (this should be on lines 5 and 6)
    8.) Save and close the file

    *: Where %ProgramFiles% is "C:\Program Files" for 32-bit Windows and "C:\Program Files (x86)" for 64-bit Windows, the default install location for the non-Steam version is "%ProgramFiles%\Turbine\Dungeons and Dragons Online", while the Steam version installs to "%ProgramFiles%\Steam\steamapps\common\Dungeon s and Dragons Online"
    Last edited by BiafraRepublic; 01-26-2014 at 03:13 AM. Reason: It works...

  16. #16
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3

    Angry It's almost 11 years old - time to dump it dev people

    I can't figure out why their developers continue to use .NET 1.1 for their launcher requirements considering that framework is almost 11 years old. We're talking Windows XP days.

    It absolutely makes no sense from a business perspective given the prevalence of Windows 8. How much business are they losing from those people who are not tech savvy and can't play DDO on their Windows 8 machines? It's absolutely ludicrous. Clearly they don't want to stay on top of current technological trends, which will only have one outcome in time: no more business because nobody can run .NET 1.1.

    Absolutely idiotic, Turbine. Honestly.

  17. #17
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by BiafraRepublic View Post
    Okay, right now, I was able to get DDO working on the Steam version of the game. I'm unsure if the same goes for the non-Steam version, but if the files below are similarly placed, it should work.

    1.) Make sure you have at least .NET Framework 4 installed
    2.) Open the directory where your copy of DDO is installed*
    3.) Open TurbineInvoker.exe.config in a text editor
    4.) Make sure the version variable for requiredRuntime and supportedRuntime is set to "V4.0" (this should be on lines 5 and 6)
    5.) Save and close the file
    6.) Open TurbineLauncher.exe.config in a text editor
    7.) Make sure the version variable for requiredRuntime and supportedRuntime is set to "V4.0" (this should be on lines 5 and 6)
    8.) Save and close the file

    *: Where %ProgramFiles% is "C:\Program Files" for 32-bit Windows and "C:\Program Files (x86)" for 64-bit Windows, the default install location for the non-Steam version is "%ProgramFiles%\Turbine\Dungeons and Dragons Online", while the Steam version installs to "%ProgramFiles%\Steam\steamapps\common\Dungeon s and Dragons Online"
    I tried this technique on a non-steam version and it didn't work. I also tried the suggestions for Windows 7 install that someone posted higher up, but that didn't work. Then I found this on Microsoft's website: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...v=vs.110).aspx

    This just underscores how stupid Turbine is for requiring antiquated code.

  18. #18
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4,645

    Default

    Why not rage at Microsoft for pushing an OS upgrade that doesn't support (some) existing applications. Win 8.* is the change that caused your troubles, not Turbine.
    http://myaccount.turbine.com

    Je ne suis pas
    DDO Alpha Tester

  19. #19
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by Lynix View Post
    Hey.

    Just thought I'd ask what you're going to do about the fact that your game does not work without Microsoft .net Framework 1.1, and that .net framework 1.1 is NOT supported and doesn't work at all in windows 8.1, so people, myself included, cannot play the game if they have Windows 8.1?

    This seems really poorly made from your side.

    Is there even anything to be done?

    Do turbine even look in these forums anymore? The last thread i posted in here got no response from turbine whatsoever.

    Thanks

    ---------EDIT----------

    I managed to get it to install .net framework 1.1 correctly by using this tool: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/astebner/arc.../10336934.aspx

    I just selected the .net framework 1.1 in the program, it did it's thing, restarted my computer and i was able to re-install .net framework 1.1 correctly.

    -Lynix
    Quote Originally Posted by Geekhann View Post
    That worked? I have the same problem any info would be appreciated...
    This worked for me, but had to install through Steam. Couldn't get anything to work trying to install normally. But now my daughter can play on her new laptop.

  20. #20
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by Tscheuss View Post
    Why not rage at Microsoft for pushing an OS upgrade that doesn't support (some) existing applications. Win 8.* is the change that caused your troubles, not Turbine.
    If it were just an update that caused the problem, then I could see your point. However, installing it on Windows 8 without the update requires extra work.

    Not to mention the fact that Windows XP supports higher than just .NET 1.1. If they want to keep backward compatibility with XP, fine, but at least update the frackin' .NET framework requirements.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload