Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Default Commendation of Valor Turn-ins for Hearts are a Great Idea

No, seriously. The current token system is dysfunctional and is probably best replaced one way or another. Replacing it with the saga system actually makes a lot of sense. (They just have to fix the numbers from what are ultimately first-pass numbers on a test server, and it would help if they added more epic Eberron sagas.)

I'm new to DDO within the past 6 months. That's important in this case in that it gave me the benefit of going through my first TR with a fresh set of eyes. My experience went something like this:

(1) Wait, only a few certain older content chains drop tokens? What about all this new content that I bought and I'd like to play? If I play the new content, I'll make no progress towards TRing.
    (2) EE is way too hard for my first life character with no epic destinies completed. Meanwhile, EN and EH quests mostly drop like half a token per quest except Devil Assault and Cannith Challenges. Grinding this will take forever unless I play DA or challenges only.
    (3) I can farm a token in 2-3 hours on Time is Money. It gets quickly boring, but if I want to TR, why would I ever play anything else?

The token system heavily incentivizes you to run and only run a narrow sliver of two arbitrary P2P content packs. This is terrible game design.

Presumably, the reason you need to farm hearts at all is so that players are required to take their freshly (re)minted level 20 characters and at least dabble in epic content. The token system, as it currently stands, does pretty much the opposite - it makes people tediously farm just a couple of specific quests and ignore epic content generally.