Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Community Member

Default Barbarians Best Buddy

Hi,

I am looking for help and advice to guide me in the right direction for a new character to play duo with my son. He has a half-orc barbarian that he has fallen in love with, two handed axe smashing things left and right and looking for big crit numbers popping up. He will be staying pure barbarian, he doesn't do traps, he doesn't heal himself and in general is a bit reckless. We will likely just be playing duo with these characters, and we are just talking heroic dungeons.

I am hoping to create a character to play with him that can support his barbarian nature as well as I can, my goal is to create the "Barbarians Best Buddy". I just started playing the game again after a long break and lost my old account in some purge, but I have access to whatever VIP gives and have unlocked drow and artificer. I figure I need to be able to (in order of importance):

* Heal him and myself.
    * Do traps/locks.
    * He would love if I could buff him a bit.
    * DPS a bit either ranged or melee.

I am not looking for a munchkin build, but something that is not broken. The goal is not that the build is fantastic on its own, but that it is a great assistant for a barbarian. Flavor is appreciated. No idea how fast we will level, the build needs to be somewhat playable from level 5-6 and onwards I suppose.

I've been browsing over builds and enhancement trees, but there is just so much to take in that I am starting to go in circles. My current very rough ideas are either:

1. A halfling bard, splashing a little rogue and possibly ranger. I would probably stay at 16 levels bard and splash either 4 levels rogue or 3/1 or 1/3 ranger/rogue or some similar combination. My thought was to dump STR and go high DEX. My motivations here are:
    * Flavor (tiny Halfing buddy taking care of his big Half-Orc Barbarian)