Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Community Member White's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    93

    Default launcher fails at 88% unknown error: 0xffffffff80043012

    Here is what my launcher says.

    http://i.imgur.com/upMJ0vX.jpg

    I just paid for a new months vip and now i cant even log in to enjoy the game. I've tried both downloading from ddo.com and steam. Both clean installs on different hard drives. Still gets stuck at 88% with an error.

    any advice.?
    Prettypuppy

    Katapult Kittens
    G h a l l a n d a

  2. #2
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I am having the same issues as well. very irritating...not sure how to fix....any ideas?

  3. #3
    Community Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi All and Admin,

    I am having the same problem and I did submitted a ticket few days ago.

    Please help me. Cheers.

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yeecks View Post
    Hi All and Admin,

    I am having the same problem and I did submitted a ticket few days ago.

    Please help me. Cheers.
    Same error.

  5. #5
    Community Member Ellihor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,367

    Default

    I have the same trouble. My computer is running windows 8.1

    Last edited by Ellihor; 04-25-2014 at 12:27 PM.

  6. #6
    2015 DDO Players Council Seikojin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    gamertown usa
    Posts
    7,471

    Default

    There are some troubleshooting options to recheck the update. I would try there. I am having to update as well, so I will see if a preloader executed ddo will have the same issue when patching (win8.1). My win7 machine did not have this issue.

  7. #7
    2015 DDO Players Council Seikojin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    gamertown usa
    Posts
    7,471

    Default

    Using the ddo preloader, no errors during patching or logging in. I would suggest looking into ways to force a redownload of the patch.

    Some places to look:
    in your <drive letter>:\<path to>\Turbine\Dungeons & Dragons Online folder should be the following files... mind you, moving any of these could make things worse and are definitely not supported by turbine.

    patchcache.bin - looks like a file that may control what was patched. So moving that to the desktop and launching ddo should force a redownload of the patch.

    Maybe the projectversion file, but that may not do anything useful. Other than that, everything else looked, name wise, irrelevant to forcing a redownload.

  8. #8
    Community Member Ellihor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,367

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Seikojin View Post
    Using the ddo preloader, no errors during patching or logging in. I would suggest looking into ways to force a redownload of the patch.

    Some places to look:
    in your <drive letter>:\<path to>\Turbine\Dungeons & Dragons Online folder should be the following files... mind you, moving any of these could make things worse and are definitely not supported by turbine.

    patchcache.bin - looks like a file that may control what was patched. So moving that to the desktop and launching ddo should force a redownload of the patch.

    Maybe the projectversion file, but that may not do anything useful. Other than that, everything else looked, name wise, irrelevant to forcing a redownload.
    I tried with pre loader and still had the same problem. Also moved patchcache.bin out of the ddo folder and didn't work.

  9. #9
    Community Member Ellihor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,367

    Default

    Now tried on an old machine I have. Windows XP 32 bit and got the same problem.



    Come on turbine, we cannot play! This is an important issue we eed response.

  10. #10
    Community Member mofkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    try running as administrator, worked for me

  11. #11
    Hero Phoenix-daBard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,351

    Default

    I searched for the error code on the other Turbine games and came across the same solutions for Infinite Crisis and LOTRO:
    Well I TRIED to go on (c program files then infinite crisis and run turbine launcher as admin
    IT WORKED ...at least for me
    Basically run TurbineLauncher.exe as an admin.

  12. #12
    2015 DDO Players Council Seikojin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    gamertown usa
    Posts
    7,471

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ellihor View Post
    Now tried on an old machine I have. Windows XP 32 bit and got the same problem.



    Come on turbine, we cannot play! This is an important issue we eed response.
    Looking at your screenshot, I see a yellow shield for what looks like to be an action center. Could you make sure you have no firewall blocking as well? Maybe turn user account management to lower settings to allow potentially blocked updates from installing (when ddo is installed, it should have asked if you wanted to allow it network access. Denying that can cause problems like this)..

  13. #13
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default its happening again

    Hello guys. Im having this same issue you guys have had. Has anyone succeeded in correcting this mistake?

  14. #14
    Community Member skorpeon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    703

    Default Been a lot of log in issues since the last patch

    Quote Originally Posted by laplacezombie View Post
    Hello guys. Im having this same issue you guys have had. Has anyone succeeded in correcting this mistake?
    I tried posting in all the ones I have seen recently so I could look for the similarities. I did see one mention of something linked to the way microsoft internet explorer was functioning. Turn out I had some infection there even though I don't use that browser. I used a program to clean it out (spy hunter) and maybe it fixed the problem. I did not have to buy the spy hunter program for it to reestablish control of the internet browser.

    I will check again this afternoon to see if it still works. But after I did this I logged in first time.

    Here is the post I saw previously that led me to this possible solution


    Post from Sardonica (sorry don't know how to do this properly..

    Hope this helps!
    This is very weird, but I was able to fix the problem by going into Internet Explorer (which I NEVER use) and change some settings. Apparently DDO uses those settings. Read more about it here:

    https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...=1#post5456492

    Hope this helps!
    Last edited by skorpeon; 10-23-2014 at 05:13 AM. Reason: grabbed the quote from pervious post.

  15. #15
    Community Member skorpeon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    703

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skorpeon View Post
    I tried posting in all the ones I have seen recently so I could look for the similarities. I did see one mention of something linked to the way microsoft internet explorer was functioning. Turn out I had some infection there even though I don't use that browser. I used a program to clean it out (spy hunter) and maybe it fixed the problem. I did not have to buy the spy hunter program for it to reestablish control of the internet browser.

    I will check again this afternoon to see if it still works. But after I did this I logged in first time.

    Here is the post I saw previously that led me to this possible solution


    Post from Sardonica (sorry don't know how to do this properly..

    Hope this helps!
    This is very weird, but I was able to fix the problem by going into Internet Explorer (which I NEVER use) and change some settings. Apparently DDO uses those settings. Read more about it here:

    https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...=1#post5456492

    Hope this helps!
    Hmm seems this solution was not solving my issue, cleaned out map ware and browser issues. Seems logging out restarting the computer fro some reason is successful?

  16. #16
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default It is happening to me too

    Hello everyone!

    Unfortunately I am having the same issue, is it possible that thhere is an error with the patching client? Just throwing out ideas here not having much technical knowledge or whatsoever but to me it appears that the patch.dll seems corrupted or even busted.

    So it might be a shot in the dark here but is it possible that by replacing the dndlauncher.exe/patchclient.dll would fix it?

    I would love to try this out but if anyone has like a new patchclient.dll or got a dndlauncher.exe they could send me so I can see if I can get it to work that way? (obviously I looked around for it on the internet but could not find something similar, but I do believe that could be the issue....if not then...well I tried right?!))

    well if anyone could assist me in this little test or is willing to try it out on their own I would love to know thank you

    EDIT:
    Actually I just got it to work, for me it was a proxy setting in the launcher that I just had to turn off basically. I hope this information is actually useful for those with a similar problem as I have
    Last edited by Vanwen; 10-31-2014 at 05:33 PM.

  17. #17
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    9

    Smile Found fix!

    Hi just had the same issue, and I found a way to fix it!

    I thought it might be helpful for you, if I write down the single steps that led me to the point to finally allowed the DDO client to properly update the files! (DAMMED!)

    A few words ahead, the fix may be very different for your computer, since the reason for this issue can depend on various programs that somehow interact with the operating system.
    Often suspicious candidates are antivirus software, additionally installed firewall programs, or other services that influence the behaviour of the file system of widows.
    Also consider to temporarily switch off the windows firewall or any special tools that somehow control the network

    Now, the main idea that was a critical step in my solution is to let my computer run a "clean boot" of Windows.

    Turbing explains the steps nicely on their support pages:
    http://support.turbine.com/ics/suppo...&questionID=88

    Following this approach I did the following steps:

    1. Start the "msconfig" configuration tool. You can do this by opening the command line with <Windows-key>+R and then type msconfig and press return.
    __a) In the "General" tab click to enable the "Selective Startup" option, and then click to de-select the "Load Startup Items" setting.
    __b) Switch to "Services" tab:
    ____1. Very important: Enable the "Hide all Microsoft services" option
    ____2. Click the "Disable all" button to the right. This disables all services that are non-related to Microsoft.

    2. Now reboot the system. Windows now boots without all the usual daily balast.
    3. Start the DDO client and see if it succeeds in the updating process. If yes, all good. Congratulations and enjoy the game!

    4. If not (like in my case) then
    __a) close the DDO client.
    __b) open the Task Manager (ctrl+shift+escape)
    __c) in the menu chose "view"->"select columns". Check the "command line" option, so you can see the paths on your hard drive from which each program is loaded from.
    __d) You will now hopefully see a few interesting programs that might still run, despite the "clean" boot of Windows.
    __e) try to stop any processes like
    ____- virus scanners (Avira, etc., if you can),
    ____- additional firewall programs
    ____- tools for connecting with repositories, e.g. TortoiseSVN "TSVNCache.exe" (this was causing my update issues!),
    ____- any other program that is not winlogon.exe, explorer.exe or resides in the path "C:\Windows\.."

    5. Start the DDO client again. The client should now update properly (pressing all thumbs!).

    Now, dont just start playing! Close the DDO client, we still have work to do: Undo the special "clean boot" setup!

    6. Run "msconfig" (<Windows-key>+R, type msconfig and press return)
    __a) In "General" tab activate the "Load Startup Items" checkbox again
    __b) In "Services" tab:
    ____1. Enable the "Hide all Microsoft services" option (very important step!)
    ____2. Click the "Enable all" button to the right. This will allow all services (non-related to Microsoft) to load again on the next boot.
    __c) reboot the system.

    That should hopefully do it. Remember these were steps specifically helping for the problem that some "hidden" programs (that I was not aware of) interrupted somehow the update process.

    Still there are other possibilities that might interfere.

    Also make sure that in the options of your DDO client in the tab "Proxy" the connectivity settings are correct.
    The default value here is "Use the system proxy settings" which reads the configuration from the Internet Explorer, so if anything settings are weird in the IE, the DDO client will derive these settings, so you might wanna try with "No proxy" or insert the proxy data manually.

    Best of luck to you!
    Cheers
    Yarek

  18. #18
    Community Member adrian69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    853

    Default

    I tried the last guy in 2015s suggestion, but could not get it to work cause there's no networking.

    So, I fixed this on two occassions now by starting the computer in Safe Mode w/ Networking and downing the patch. After restart, log in, and enjoy.

  19. #19
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Able to download

    I was able to "fix" the problem. Just pause your Anti-virus protection while doing the update then play.

    Oh and restart your protection.

    Work for me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload