Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Customer Service Representative Carpe_Noctem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    186

    Default Update: The current status of Character Transfers

    Over the past couple of weeks we have re-opened Guild renames and Character Undeletes free of charge for premium and VIP players. We are excited about the changes to these services, and hope you are as well.

    That said, we realize that the most sought-after service that has been put on hold is the Character Transfer, and we wanted to take a moment to provide everyone with an update.

    Due to increased volume over the last few months we had to temporarily close down our Paid Services. It had become apparent that in order for us to continue to provide efficient, quality support to all players, this was a necessity. A few weeks ago we were able to start providing these services again , and Character Transfers are next.

    We are not yet ready to set a time for the return of Character Transfers. As mentioned back in March, we are making changes to the Character Transfer service. In an effort to make Character Transfers quick and easy for players, we are working on making them automated! However, it is taking more time than initially expected to make this an automated service. We realize that players really, really want these transfers back as soon as possible, so our plan is to bring them back before the automated transfer system is ready. Please note that Character Transfers will continue to be a Paid Service, not a Premium Service similar to Guild renames or character undeletes.

    We are working out the best way to bring this service back as soon as we can, while maintaining acceptable turnaround times and avoiding any other problems that may arise. Once again, we will provide another update as soon as we have one. Your patience as we work this out is greatly appreciated.

    -Carpe Noctem
    DDO Support Page & Knowledge Base
    To request support from a Customer Service Agent, simply click on "Submit a Ticket"
    English Account/Store Support is available from 12:00 pm to 7:00 pm, Monday through Friday (GMT -5). 855-WBGAMES (855-924-2637)

    Contact us on Twitter @DDOSupport

  2. #2
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    6,910

    Default

    Hi, I saw a post from Cordovan that linked to this post. I confirmed that your posts are not making it to dev tracker which means many people are missing your posts.

    Just an fyi.

    Thank you for offering these services!
    CC Casting Druid: https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...C-Summer-Build
    Shiradi Wiz Plan for 1st Lifers: https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...r-First-Lifers
    LE Capable Int Assassin - U29: https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...Assassin-Build
    Warlock DC Caster: https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthrea...ld-Blast-Build

    Several characters on Sarlona all starting with "Rand" in the Guild "Guardians of House Cannith". My main four characters are Randowl (20 Warlock EA DPS Build), Randslar (Bard 14 / Fighter 4 / Rogue 2 Swashbuckler), Randek (Druid CC Caster 17/Fvs 3) and Randomall (Rogue 20 assassin).

  3. #3
    Customer Service Representative Carpe_Noctem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    186
    DDO Support Page & Knowledge Base
    To request support from a Customer Service Agent, simply click on "Submit a Ticket"
    English Account/Store Support is available from 12:00 pm to 7:00 pm, Monday through Friday (GMT -5). 855-WBGAMES (855-924-2637)

    Contact us on Twitter @DDOSupport

  4. #4
    Community Member ppsm09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Roanoke, VA, USA
    Posts
    115

    Default Oh yeah???

    Quote Originally Posted by Carpe_Noctem View Post
    Oh, they're back alright! Same old bugs and all! ^_^ Just received this email:

    Greetings Allen,

    Thanks for your inquiry. Paid Services has received your request to transfer your character. I apologize, but due to a technical limitation I
    am not currently able to process this transfer.



    As your World Character Transfer request has not been completed, any payment that may have been processed have been refunded, and I have closed your request without moving your character.




    Turbine continues to investigate this issue, and will post in the
    Premium Service Status Sticky in the Account Management forum once it has been resolved. We apologize that we are not able to transfer your character as you have requested in the interim.



    If you have any additional questions or concerns, please respond to this email, and I will be happy to assist you.


    Thank you,

    Paid Services Agent


    Eshyr
    Turbine, powered by our fans.

    Okay, so for well over a year now I've been trying to transfer my characters off the dead server Wayfinder onto my new play server Argo. I finally get a few of them, but most were bugged, receiving identical copies of the above email, and then paid services were shut down. Now, they finally come back up, and what happens? Same old thing, different day/week/month/year. Great job Turbine! I'd email them back, requesting information, but after a 20-email tag I played with them last year, I found out they don't give information on the problem, or answers to questions, or anything else even remotely close to being helpful. Go figure. Just wanted to throw this out there before anyone else decides to waste their time. I'm sure some of the transfers probably work, but for me, as always, nope. ~ Le sigh~

  5. #5
    Community Member ppsm09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Roanoke, VA, USA
    Posts
    115

    Default

    Okay, so in response to that last message, I sent them this...

    Is there an issue with my account? Last year when I tried to transfer my characters, I kept getting these exact same messages, and no one at Turbine would tell me why. It's been well over a year, and the paid services were taken away, and then brought back. I thought this issue was fixed. Why can't I have my characters transferred? What is the 'technical limitation'. Please explain. I am and have been a VIP for years, as well as buying a lot of Turbine points. I think I deserve an explanation, and some information on what's being done to fix this problem. Thanks in advance for your time and hopefully your assistance.

    And this is what I get in response...

    Greetings Allen,

    Thank you for your response. I do apologize, however I do not have the exact information on why your character is unable to be transferred. Any updates will be made via the game forums. If you have any further questions or concerns please reply to this message.
    Thanks!

    Eshyr
    Turbine, powered by our fans.

    So it really is right back to the way it was before they took paid services down. Confirmed, back to being stonewalled.

    Two characters unable to be transferred from Wayfinder to Argonnessen thus far.

    Coryna
    Legendary

    Going to attempt a third character next week, but I'm sure it won't work, and there won't be an answer.

  6. #6
    Founder Epitome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    471

    Default

    This is very frustrating. I don't think they care to really 'investigate' and fix this issue to be honest. Although they can generate some revenue if they did fix the issue I'm thinking it is just easier to cut their losses and say they can't do it.

    I recently tried to send 4 characters on Khyber back to the servers they originally came from (Thelanis) some 9+ months ago and they all failed, multiple times. I figured I'd check it out again this week (10/18/13) and same song, different day.

    This issue is extremely frustrating. I'd caution people to be very certain they are going to a server because if it does work you are likely stuck there.
    ELITE RAIDERS
    Xevlen
    . Jibcutter . Pipehitter . Seanconnery-
    Live Twitch Feed - Youtube Channel - Facebook


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload