Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33
  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    29

    Exclamation There better be a good explanation for this...

    Apparently the dndclient.exe is a screen logger.
    Screenshot: http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/9849/c80j.png
    Last edited by Krenshar_White; 07-22-2013 at 11:50 AM.

  2. #2
    Founder
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4,607

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Krenshar_White View Post
    Apparently the dndclient.exe is a screen logger.
    Screenshot: http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/9849/c80j.png
    Well, unless there is some misunderstanding in your security program (and someone can prove this) I guess I'm off to find a new MMO.

  3. #3
    Community Member darksol23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    708

    Default

    I don't know if they do or don't have that capability, but if they do you may have agreed to it...

    "When the Game is running, Turbine may monitor your computer for the use of programs that violate Section 1. You hereby grant Turbine permission to monitor your computer for purposes of identifying such use and communicating potential violations to the Game Server. "

    http://www.turbine.com/en/content/du...ense-agreement
    Officer of the Platinum Knights of Cannith, Founder of the guild GHOSTBANE of Cannith
    Main - Death - Completionist and then some...
    Other Characters - Holy, Leap, War, Optimusprime, Intimitank, Lanfear, Can, Afkbiobrb, Garagesale, Leverpuller and many more

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3,080

    Default

    first do a full virus scan of your computer. some viruses can infect other programs or you might have got a fake game client by mistake (less likely, but still possible)

    if your system is clean then chances are it's a "false positive", ie the security software has raised the alarm by mistake.

    if this alert popped up when you tried to get a screen capture (is it alt+p or ctrl+p? might have mashed those keys by mistake) then i'd say a false positive is very likely. the other reason is your security software might have noticed DDO's ability to take it's own screenshots and that could be what it's flagging up.

    DDO is not a widely known game, you can be sure WoW is in your security software's list of legit software but chances are they don't even know DDO exists. so it's up to the automated software to spot security concerns, and yes, DDO can take a picture of your screen, so it's not a massive surprise to see that alert.
    Last edited by ReaperAlexEU; 07-22-2013 at 12:17 PM.
    www.legendsguild.eu A light RP guild that's moved from Keeper in Europe to Thelanis
    Play DDO in 3D, for fweeeee! how to use coloured 3D glasses with DDO.
    East? West? Which way's that? Putting East and West back on the (mini)map
    Tired of chasing blue dots? Find a speed or striding item, vets are hooked on them and you will be too!

  5. #5
    Community Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    341

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darksol23 View Post
    I don't know if they do or don't have that capability, but if they do you may have agreed to it...

    "When the Game is running, Turbine may monitor your computer for the use of programs that violate Section 1. You hereby grant Turbine permission to monitor your computer for purposes of identifying such use and communicating potential violations to the Game Server. "

    http://www.turbine.com/en/content/du...ense-agreement
    That might explain why it won't run on my computer (win7) without being given admin rights.

  6. #6
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    671

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darksol23 View Post
    I don't know if they do or don't have that capability, but if they do you may have agreed to it...

    "When the Game is running, Turbine may monitor your computer for the use of programs that violate Section 1. You hereby grant Turbine permission to monitor your computer for purposes of identifying such use and communicating potential violations to the Game Server. "

    http://www.turbine.com/en/content/du...ense-agreement
    You do realise this si the PREVIEW program EULA right?

  7. #7
    Community Member bsquishwizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2,819

    Default

    Like someone said, run the virus checker on your system to see what comes up.

    As recent events with my colleague have shown (they got stung by a nasty virus), not all virus checkers are the same, and not all of them do a stellar job.

    I've always used Norton, and find that it does the best job of detecting threats, and isolating them. If worse comes to worse, download their free trial to see if you have something roaming about on your system that your current virus scanner doesn't detect.

    Your DDO client may be infected, it could be a false positive, or your virus scanner just sucks. Inevitably, it is one of those three...

  8. #8
    Community Member bsquishwizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2,819

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Citzen_Gkar View Post
    That might explain why it won't run on my computer (win7) without being given admin rights.
    I run the client on Win7 with UAC. I do NOT have to run the software with admin rights. Either it is not installed properly, or you have other things going on with your system.

  9. #9
    Community Member Miow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2,408

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Krenshar_White View Post
    Apparently the dndclient.exe is a screen logger.
    Screenshot: http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/9849/c80j.png
    Heuristics are implemented in most security/antivirus software to try and catch new viruses if they display certain behaviors...whatever dnd is doing might have set this off. If you trust the file, allow it and continue on.

  10. #10
    Community Member Ryiah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,852

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Krenshar_White View Post
    Apparently the dndclient.exe is a screen logger.
    It is asking for screen content. Are you certain you didn't accidentally hit the key for a screenshot? Though really it sounds like a false positive. As for the tool you're using, I have never heard of Online-Armor nor the company that created it.
    Last edited by Ryiah; 07-22-2013 at 04:24 PM.
    Ryiah | Raeyah | Reikara
    Toy Soldiers

  11. #11
    Community Member bsquishwizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2,819

    Default

    It is highly unlikely that hitting printscreen while the ddoclient is up would trigger the virus checker. The type of stuff the virus checker looks for is an application that accesses screen devices, calls certain APIs, and has network connectivity. It is relatively easy to, via code, get a screen DC, and start doing captures.

    I could see, maybe, a full-screen DDO session triggering something like that. Windowed mode, maybe not.

    Print screen, on the other hand, is kinda hardwired to the system (for lack of a batter term).

  12. #12
    Community Member Ryiah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,852

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bsquishwizzy View Post
    It is highly unlikely that hitting printscreen while the ddoclient is up would trigger the virus checker.
    Online-Armor is a firewall not a virus scanner.

    Quote Originally Posted by bsquishwizzy View Post
    Print screen, on the other hand, is kinda hardwired to the system (for lack of a batter term).
    I never stated the print screen button. The print screen button though is fairly trivial to override as noted by the fact that different OSes handle it differently. On MS-DOS the default function is to send the current text screen buffer to the standard printer port - typically LPT1. On Windows the default function is to send the screen buffer to the clipboard.

    What I was actually indicating was the key combination that is assigned for taking screenshots by default. That combination is CTRL + P.
    Ryiah | Raeyah | Reikara
    Toy Soldiers

  13. #13
    Community Member bsquishwizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2,819

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryiah View Post
    Online-Armor is a firewall not a virus scanner.


    I never stated the print screen button.
    You said, "hit the key" which is singular. Ctrl+P is two keys, and therefore plural.

    You're right, but just telling you where it comes from.


    Quote Originally Posted by Ryiah View Post
    What I was actually indicating was the key combination that is assigned for taking screenshots by default. That combination is CTRL + P.
    Does ddoclient have a screen-grabber key? I've never bothered to take a screenshot, so I really don't know.

    I've never heard of Online-Armor either. But if it is monitoring APIs and acting as a firewall, it might be a virus checker and firewall in one. In which case, I could easily see it freaking out with screen access and opening up an IP port.

  14. #14
    Community Member Charononus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    5,345

    Default

    It probably means nothing, it's probably similar to how constant guard from the xfinity security package thinks that every game is a keylogger.

  15. #15
    Community Member Hendrik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bell's Brewery, MI.
    Posts
    10,991

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryiah View Post
    It is asking for screen content. Are you certain you didn't accidentally hit the key for a screenshot? Though really it sounds like a false positive. As for the tool you're using, I have never heard of Online-Armor nor the company that created it.
    Me either, but it is rated best Firewall Software of 2008!!!

    2008.

    Unknown piece of software made by an unknown company giving false positives.

    Get rid of it and get something else.

    Quote Originally Posted by hsinclair
    I heard the devs hate all wizards, bards, clerics, fighters, and fuzzy bunnies and only want us to play halfling barbarian/paladin shuriken specialists!

    It's totally true, I have a reliable source. You better reroll now.
    Adventurer, Bug Reporter, Mournlander.

  16. #16
    Community Member Hendrik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bell's Brewery, MI.
    Posts
    10,991

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HAL View Post
    Well, unless there is some misunderstanding in your security program (and someone can prove this) I guess I'm off to find a new MMO.
    Bye.

    I mean you just HAVE to trust the best Firewall app of 2008 don't you.


    Quote Originally Posted by hsinclair
    I heard the devs hate all wizards, bards, clerics, fighters, and fuzzy bunnies and only want us to play halfling barbarian/paladin shuriken specialists!

    It's totally true, I have a reliable source. You better reroll now.
    Adventurer, Bug Reporter, Mournlander.

  17. #17
    2015 DDO Players Council Hazelnut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Canada, EST
    Posts
    884

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hendrik View Post
    Me either, but it is rated best Firewall Software of 2008!!!

    2008.

    Unknown piece of software made by an unknown company giving false positives.

    Get rid of it and get something else.
    I feel the need to chime in here. I've never heard of "Online Armor". There is no recognized ranking of firewall software, so there is no "best firewall software of 2008". Firewall software does NOT monitor the activity of programs on your computer. Firewall software (or hardware) blocks and monitors network traffic. I am an expert network security. CNET does seam to like it, which is at least a good sign in the consumer software market.

    You might have some sort of malicious application detection software that is using heuristics and noted an attempt to access video memory (a screen capture). Whether ddoclient did this on it's own or you accidentally hit the hot-key is a valid question.

    Yes, I did go to the vendor's website to see what they are claiming. Given it starts with a "free version", my guess is that the popup you are seeing is somewhat valid in that it triggered a warning from a heuristic. Best advice has already been given. Run an AV program to check for malware. Watch for popups warning about ddoclient again. Also try do a screen capture from ddoclient (whatever the actual hotkey combo is) and see. If you do this test, make sure you use the DDO hotkey sequence, not the windows hotkeys.
    Zyinniah Hazelnut and Curissa Hazelnut on most servers.

  18. #18
    Community Member Ryiah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,852

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hazelnut View Post
    There is no recognized ranking of firewall software, so there is no "best firewall software of 2008".
    Just took a glance over their awards page and the links provided. It appears the rating is from a UK-based magazine called Virus Bulletin. Never heard of them either but then I don't generally seek out IT magazines.
    Last edited by Ryiah; 07-22-2013 at 09:29 PM.
    Ryiah | Raeyah | Reikara
    Toy Soldiers

  19. #19
    Founder AnubisPrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    547

    Default

    While there might be some sort of logging in the beta? Online Armor might be somewhat to blame. PC Mag rates it "Meh"...2.5 out of 5 (http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2384237,00.asp)
    The Old Timers Guild
    www.oldtimersguild.com
    >> Open to the Public! <<
    Founder #2231
    PROUD MEMBER OF MOURNLANDS

  20. #20
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I was not skeptical of the game at all really, I'v been playing since 09 with nothing like this before, but this came with the steam version that I downloaded recently. In addition Online Armor is up-to-date AFAIK, although a false whatever is possible. Finally, this had nothing to do with a screen shot.

    This happened as I loaded up the new launcher, before I even typed in my password. They must have changed something in the launcher with the last 'update' to it, that may be causing this issue. Whatever it is, it's something recent, and I'm sure it's a screw-up as opposed to it being out of malicious intent. It may have something to do with the way they check your user/password or something, I really am not sure.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload