Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst 12345678915 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 339
  1. #81
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    To the OP / creator of this tool: THANK YOU!
    I have a $1,600 gaming laptop (year old now) and even though it's new gaming machine, it still was slow loading DDO. I had tried defragmenting HD routinely, optimizing HD, uninstalling/reinstalling DDO, and even installing DDO on HD # 2. Nothing really worked to speed up load times, which seemed oddly slow considering the machine I am using. Using your tool, the game loads at least four times faster now It is a world of difference in how fast the game loads and how soon I am logged into my character. Now the only thing slow for me is deconstructing items in the cannith crafting area :P You don't by chance have a miracle cure for that too do ya? :P

    Again, big thank you for this loader tool

    Omnii Evermind, TR of Thelanis

  2. #82
    Community Member Lurzifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    637

    Default

    Well tbh i didnt read the whole thread and i am only posting for those who keep track and like to stay informed here.

    I am using currently Imdisk with a script thats creating a partition in my ram and then copies the whole game folder into that partition. After the copying which takes around 60-90 secs the invoker starts automatically and i play the complete game from my ram, reducing basically any loading time to a minimum.

    Frankly u need quite a bit of ram for that, my current setup contains 32GB which was actually cheaper than getting a SSD for all my games etc.
    Used this while i had 8 GB by simply creating a 4GB partition and exlcuding the big sound and texture files from loading in. Now with the 32GB the created partition has 11.5 GB and contains the full installation.
    The script can be easily edited to load in other games into ram, a simple dismount cmd removes the partition from the ram again after finished.

    This can be even installed in a way that the windows services execute the script on startup etc.

    Note: this little Trick basically works with all games that dont save stuff in their installationfolder while playing, screenshots and savegames etc usually are saved in the users documents.
    Haek N' Slay (©ompletionist Juggernaut / Zeus Life 61 of 61)My Toon is better than your toon.Mitis Mors - Thelanis

  3. #83

    Talking

    I was not reading the whole thread, but let me add this:

    I always had login issues, like waiting a bunch of minutes and then had red connection. I recently bought a ssd, and now I log into ddo within a few (<10) seconds without red connection. I now also log through different areas within few (<<5) seconds. Life is so much better with ssd now.

    Note: I only use default launcher without any modification.
    Last edited by morkahn82; 07-25-2013 at 09:19 AM.

  4. #84
    Community Member ForwardWu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    245

    Default

    It shortens my time for double logging (red connection in first attempt always) with 6 minutes into 2 minutes. Through I do not understand the mechanics behind it, it solves my problem, thanks to the author.

  5. #85
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    This sounded too god to be true. And it was. The launch the program and as the ddo launcher starts i get a message saying "Internal error, please contact customer support." What now, huh?

  6. #86
    Founder & Hero cdbd3rd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Escaping Mizzery in the Tavern Attic.
    Posts
    25,732

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lurzifer View Post
    ... my current setup contains 32GB ....

    /Experiences a wave of RAM envy.




    Did the Preloader thing now, too. Makes hopping from free daily roll to free daily roll much less time consuming.


    ...but yes, an SSD is on my wish list.
    Last edited by cdbd3rd; 07-26-2013 at 06:38 AM.
    CEO - Cupcake's Muskateers, Thelanis
    DDO Freebies

  7. #87
    Community Member Wanesa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    602

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Abdaka View Post
    This sounded too god to be true. And it was. The launch the program and as the ddo launcher starts i get a message saying "Internal error, please contact customer support." What now, huh?
    After this shows and you press OK, try to launch the launcher manually by doubleclicking on the TurbineLauncher.exe. DDOPreload.exe only puts one file to the memory cache, it does nothing with the launcher. It only starts it to make things easier for the users.

    Thelanis: Shewind the Airbender (Sorc20/Epic5 -> Bard20/Epic8 -> Rog20/Epic8/Epic2 -> Harper_FvS20/Epic4 -> Art20/Epic8/Epic8 -> Rng20/Epic10 -> Drd6),
    Azaxe (Rog18/Wiz2 -> Sorc20/Epic8/Epic10->Sorc(EK)17)

  8. #88
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    The game loads faster..but when i quit the game then it freeze.....gg

  9. #89
    2015 DDO Players Council
    Ravenguard Press
    MuleAxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    757

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Psycr0vv View Post
    The game loads faster..but when i quit the game then it freeze.....gg
    Love the preloader, makes things move so much faster. However, I have experienced the same problems as this^^

    It didn't happen the first few times I used it, more of a recent development.


    `````````````````````````````````````````````````` `````
    MuleAxe~1 | Occidere~1| MuleRaptor | MuleFort | MuleParts

  10. #90
    Community Member Wanesa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    602

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Psycr0vv View Post
    The game loads faster..but when i quit the game then it freeze.....gg
    How do you quit the game?

    Alt+F4 sometime freezes - i need to use Ctrl+Alt+Del and kill process using task manager. It happens also at my home computer with SSD (so I don't use preloader there). Sometime it looks frozen however it only takes a long time to return back to the desktop (long means up to 1 minute).

    A click on the Close button (when windowed) is similar to Alt+F4

    Esc -> Quit and Esc -> Logout - Quit always works and they are faster.

    Apparently in-game "quit" works well. The quit using windows UI has troubles.

    Thelanis: Shewind the Airbender (Sorc20/Epic5 -> Bard20/Epic8 -> Rog20/Epic8/Epic2 -> Harper_FvS20/Epic4 -> Art20/Epic8/Epic8 -> Rng20/Epic10 -> Drd6),
    Azaxe (Rog18/Wiz2 -> Sorc20/Epic8/Epic10->Sorc(EK)17)

  11. #91
    Community Member Forzah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanesa View Post
    Sometime it looks frozen however it only takes a long time to return back to the desktop (long means up to 1 minute).
    So the time you win at the start you lose in the end
    Quote Originally Posted by Steelstar View Post
    The fact that some changes are necessary is not diminished by the fact that other necessary changes have not happened yet.

  12. #92
    Community Member Wanesa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    602

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Forzah View Post
    So the time you win at the start you lose in the end
    1) This is not connected with the preloader.
    2) You can still exit game using Power Off button :-).

    Thelanis: Shewind the Airbender (Sorc20/Epic5 -> Bard20/Epic8 -> Rog20/Epic8/Epic2 -> Harper_FvS20/Epic4 -> Art20/Epic8/Epic8 -> Rng20/Epic10 -> Drd6),
    Azaxe (Rog18/Wiz2 -> Sorc20/Epic8/Epic10->Sorc(EK)17)

  13. #93
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,053

    Default Ty

    This made quite an improvement, Ill eventually grab a ss drive, but til then this is pretty much a requirement to run ddo without frustration.

    I may be off here, but it appears you were able to make this happen pretty quick, wht doesnt ddo preload automatically? makes no sense.

    Turbine should hire you, and probably me, and about 5% of the people on this forum really that know more about the game than anyone else.

  14. #94
    Community Member Flavilandile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Forzah View Post
    So the time you win at the start you lose in the end
    Quote Originally Posted by Wanesa View Post
    1) This is not connected with the preloader.
    2) You can still exit game using Power Off button :-).
    I don't use the preloader ( kudos for it though ) as I'm on SSD.

    But I have the problem of the black screen when I exit DDO... I've been having it since those awesomium **** process appeared.
    Most of the time I have to go to the process manager and kill DDO, just because I want to leave DDO.
    On G-Land : Flavilandile, Blacklock, Yaelle, Millishande, Larilandile, Gildalinde, Tenalafel, and many other...

  15. #95
    Community Member taurean430's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2,670

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flavilandile View Post
    I don't use the preloader ( kudos for it though ) as I'm on SSD.

    But I have the problem of the black screen when I exit DDO... I've been having it since those awesomium **** process appeared.
    Most of the time I have to go to the process manager and kill DDO, just because I want to leave DDO.
    The black screen on exit, for me, seems to be linked to incompatible audio data. I can't seem to narrow down specifically what the problem is however. So I have no further insight on that.

    I did try this loader just a bit ago. I've found that for my machine it significantly decreased waiting time to load into the game. And I offer thanks for that as it was getting to be a terrible annoyance.
    Khyber: Evandus, Halfdeadd, Licoricewhip, Sawyn, Elkabongg, Brothanumsi, Soulbro, Cromix.
    And an army of gimp experiments!

  16. #96
    Community Member Wanesa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    602

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 01000010 View Post
    Turbine should hire you, ...
    Thank you, I am always dreamed about a work on an online game. Seriously.

    Actually this is not whole my work, code is written by my friend. We both work in a large IT company.

    Thelanis: Shewind the Airbender (Sorc20/Epic5 -> Bard20/Epic8 -> Rog20/Epic8/Epic2 -> Harper_FvS20/Epic4 -> Art20/Epic8/Epic8 -> Rng20/Epic10 -> Drd6),
    Azaxe (Rog18/Wiz2 -> Sorc20/Epic8/Epic10->Sorc(EK)17)

  17. #97
    Pirate Hero
    2015 DDO Players Council
    RedOrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,201

    Default

    Thanks from me as well, it saves me a LOT of time!
    Before: 5+ minutes to load and log in, red disconnect sign, quit and restart game, load again... Toal of about 10 minutes waiting before I'm in (generic toshiba windows laptop for the curious).
    After: 2 minutes to load and arrive in the game ready to rock! Yay!

    Greetz,
    Red Orm

  18. #98
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    208

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RedOrm View Post
    Thanks from me as well, it saves me a LOT of time!
    Before: 5+ minutes to load and log in, red disconnect sign, quit and restart game, load again... Toal of about 10 minutes waiting before I'm in (generic toshiba windows laptop for the curious).
    After: 2 minutes to load and arrive in the game ready to rock! Yay!

    Greetz,
    Red Orm
    It takes me 15-30 seconds to load.... Constantly.

    The game does have a memory leak though if you log in/out/in/out/in/out/in/out (don't ask me how I know....) the game will consistently slow down until you are so leaked that the game becomes unplayable. It takes about 15 login/outs in a row to get to that point...

  19. #99
    Pirate Hero
    2015 DDO Players Council
    RedOrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,201

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scrag View Post
    It takes me 15-30 seconds to load.... Constantly.
    I can only sigh in envy, and hope my next computer (someday) does better
    (and yea I've run into the memory leak too, and quite a bit faster; but hey)

    Greetz,
    Maya Deva

  20. #100
    Scourge of Slayers FAQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,053

    Default Best thing since sliced bread

    Just wanted to say thank you for making DDO preloader availible. IMHO, it is the best thing since sliced bread.

    Before this, the first time I logged in I always, ALWAYS, got a red disconnect.

    After using DDO preloader for 2 weeks it has not happend once.

    So thank you again and rock on

Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst 12345678915 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload