Community Member

Default New Player Seeking Major Help!

Hello, I found out about this game and I thought it was pretty cool, so I'm deciding to give this game a shot. Though I am new to this game which means I know nothing about this game. So I need all the help I can get PLEASE!!! I was thinking of starting off with a Melee Monk class. I don't know what path, rage, stats, etc., I should be using for a Melee Monk. So can anybody help me out with this please? Thank You!

Community Member

Quote Originally Posted by JimmyNguyen View Post
    Hello, I found out about this game and I thought it was pretty cool, so I'm deciding to give this game a shot. Though I am new to this game which means I know nothing about this game. So I need all the help I can get PLEASE!!! I was thinking of starting off with a Melee Monk class. I don't know what path, rage, stats, etc., I should be using for a Melee Monk. So can anybody help me out with this please? Thank You!
    I've been playing off and on for about 3 years now, and I really have only been doing fighter. My recent restart had me make a new character, and I went for a monk this time. Allow me to assure you monk is really not a class I'm up for recommending as your first go about at DDO, it is not that forgiving.

If you're used to smashing things in the face, Fighter or Barbarian are great first choices, it's really hard to break the character no matter what you take, and you get to see really big numbers go on your screen.

Definitely not saying Monk is underwhelming or boring by any means, but they are indeed not something that's easy to choose as a starting class.

If you are set on trying monk, I recommend reading this post, https://sites.google.com/site/bookofsyn/ , I found it while browsing this forum (if you're reading this, thank you very much Spencerian for having it in your signature!), it's very well written and will give you quite a bit of insight on the monk class.