Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default Mac install problem

    I have downloaded the instal client but when i attempt to open it I get a message that says "Warning the Following disc image could not be opened" the reason stated is that it was not recognized. I changed my security settings but that has not worked, does anyone know what is going.

  2. #2
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Same here.

    Quote Originally Posted by irfluffs View Post
    I have downloaded the instal client but when i attempt to open it I get a message that says "Warning the Following disc image could not be opened" the reason stated is that it was not recognized. I changed my security settings but that has not worked, does anyone know what is going.
    I am having the same problem. I tried changing the file type (.dmg to .exe or .app), but nothing worked. Help!?

  3. #3
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,316

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HunsuckerThis View Post
    I am having the same problem. I tried changing the file type (.dmg to .exe or .app), but nothing worked. Help!?
    Are you running Mac OS 10.6 or lower? Mac OS 10.7 or higher is required. This *might* be what is wrong, but I would have thought the disk image could still be opened.

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Katie_Seaglen View Post
    Are you running Mac OS 10.6 or lower? Mac OS 10.7 or higher is required. This *might* be what is wrong, but I would have thought the disk image could still be opened.
    I am Running 10.8.4 the newest version out

  5. #5
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,316

    Default

    I just downloaded the image from:
    http://download.ddo.akamai.turbine.c...NDLauncher.dmg

    It was created December 14, 2012 2:25 PM and it is 7,996,749,533 bytes in size.

    The image mounted fine in Mac OS 10.8.3 even with the security settings set to "Mac App Store and Identified Developers".

    I can get a checksum in Disk Utility if you want. It takes a very long time to generate though. Probably, if the size is incorrect, that will be the source of the problem unless its something to with 10.8.4. I can check that tonight.

  6. #6
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,316

    Default

    Yea, it works on 10.8.4 as well. The file is probably corrupt. Be sure it completely downloaded.

  7. #7
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Katie_Seaglen View Post
    I just downloaded the image from:
    http://download.ddo.akamai.turbine.c...NDLauncher.dmg

    It was created December 14, 2012 2:25 PM and it is 7,996,749,533 bytes in size.

    The image mounted fine in Mac OS 10.8.3 even with the security settings set to "Mac App Store and Identified Developers".

    I can get a checksum in Disk Utility if you want. It takes a very long time to generate though. Probably, if the size is incorrect, that will be the source of the problem unless its something to with 10.8.4. I can check that tonight.
    i re-downloaded the file from the link above and i still get the same message that it is not recognized, i made sure the download finished totally and got the same message.

  8. #8
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default I also cannot get it to run

    I am getting the error that "The following disk image could not be opened","No mountable file systems". The file size that I have downloaded is 7.83GB. I am running a macbook pro with 10.8.3 with 8GB of ram. Could someone please help me out? Thank You

  9. #9
    Community Member whmagill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by irfluffs View Post
    I have downloaded the instal client but when i attempt to open it I get a message that says "Warning the Following disc image could not be opened" the reason stated is that it was not recognized. I changed my security settings but that has not worked, does anyone know what is going.
    Your problem is with Apple's Gatekeeper.

    I have documented many of the issues with the LOTRO Mac Client (basically the same as the DDO Mac Client) at: http://lotro-wiki.com/index.php/Mac_...er_Information

    Check out the whole section on the Mac Client, while written from the LOTRO point of view, virtually all of it applies to the DDO Client as well.

  10. #10
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    7

    Default Gatekeeper down and still no install

    Hi all,

    I'm having a similar problem but have followed the steps to allow files from Anywhere in my security settings and am still getting a "no mountable file systems" error when I try to open the .dmg file. I've downloaded DNDLauncher.dmg twice and same story.

    This is a reinstall of the application because I had DDO and kept losing landscapes and other graphics during game play. Wrote Turbine and they suggested I uninstall/reinstall and so here I am.

    When I uninstalled, I made sure the game was quit, dragged the application to trash, and emptied trash. Maybe I missed something there or need to take an additional step with Gatekeeper.

    Can anyone offer some additional advice? I'm missing out on that XP.

  11. #11
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,316

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chazazz View Post
    Hi all,

    I'm having a similar problem but have followed the steps to allow files from Anywhere in my security settings and am still getting a "no mountable file systems" error when I try to open the .dmg file. I've downloaded DNDLauncher.dmg twice and same story.

    This is a reinstall of the application because I had DDO and kept losing landscapes and other graphics during game play. Wrote Turbine and they suggested I uninstall/reinstall and so here I am.

    When I uninstalled, I made sure the game was quit, dragged the application to trash, and emptied trash. Maybe I missed something there or need to take an additional step with Gatekeeper.

    Can anyone offer some additional advice? I'm missing out on that XP.
    Unless the file is exactly the size I mentioned, it's not going to work. Unfortunately the file pretty much can't be downloaded from Turbine at the moment. They haven't commented and they might not even know. If you check out the main thread or jj's post, you can find a torrent that deadspatula set up. I haven't tried it, but if it's working, then that will be your best bet.

  12. #12
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Katie_Seaglen View Post
    Unless the file is exactly the size I mentioned, it's not going to work. Unfortunately the file pretty much can't be downloaded from Turbine at the moment. They haven't commented and they might not even know. If you check out the main thread or jj's post, you can find a torrent that deadspatula set up. I haven't tried it, but if it's working, then that will be your best bet.
    Also, Steam has no problems downloading the Client also. It's how I got ahold of the client in the first place. (i downloaded it several times to make sure it consistently downloads).

  13. #13
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DeadSpatula View Post
    Also, Steam has no problems downloading the Client also. It's how I got ahold of the client in the first place. (i downloaded it several times to make sure it consistently downloads).
    Thanks for the reply. I looked back and the files were not the correct size, so that was definitely the issue. I'll download through Steam and am hoping that's the fix.

    Do you find that it works well via Steam? I've heard mixed reviews so just wondered.

    Thanks again! Very helpful.

  14. #14
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chazazz View Post
    Thanks for the reply. I looked back and the files were not the correct size, so that was definitely the issue. I'll download through Steam and am hoping that's the fix.

    Do you find that it works well via Steam? I've heard mixed reviews so just wondered.

    Thanks again! Very helpful.
    Heres the thing, you don't even need steam to run it. You can find the .app file, (/library/application support/steam/steamapps/common/ddo) and run it without steam running. Its not a steam app. It looks like they have an extra wrapper on it, but it hasn't impacted Mac play anymore then the errors the mac (BETA) client already has, from what I have seen. So does it work well? At least as well as any other method. Given its the only download ive ever gotten of the Mac Client, Id say its better then every other method.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload