Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    223

    Angry DDO not recognizing DirectX 10/11

    I'm running a new laptop with Windows 8 with a GeForce 730M with the latest drivers. There is the on-board graphics as well, but DDO is definitely running off the GeForce.

    The game doesn't seem to pick up DirectX 10-11 at all, the option to change DirectX versions is grayed out in the graphics options. Somehow I got it to recognize it a few days ago (or it picked it up on its own), but after the update I had to go back to the default graphics or the game wouldn't get past the launcher (it would crash right when it should be picking up DirectX).

    Changing admin privileges and/or compatibility modes in all the .exes in the DDO folder doesn't make a difference.

    The reason that it's such a big deal is that the screen frequently freezes in-game with a kernel mode driver error. I need to ALT+Tab around back to the program again every time it happens. It didn't happen when I managed to get DirectX 11 working in game (or, more likely, it somehow worked on its own). DxDiag, DirectX Caps Viewer and GPU-Z show definite DirectX 11 compatibility. MSI Afterburner shows normal voltage, temperature, etc.

    Here's the relevant lines from the dndclient logger -

    000000000.000: Initializing display with title 'Dungeons and Dragons Online'...
    000000000.000: Device_WIN32::Init: called.
    000000000.000: Device_WIN32::InitDEVICE| Detected operating system: Windows 7 (is this weird?)
    000000000.000: RenderD3D::Startup: called.
    000000000.000: RENDER| DirectX 9.0 detected and initialized successfully

    What am I missing? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    223

    Default

    Of course after struggling with it for a couple of days I figure out how to fix it right after starting a forum thread. Do I ever feel like a goose.

    So I went into the UserPreferences file in the documents folder and changed DisplayAdapter=0 to DisplayAdapter=1

    I guess the game thinking it's going to be on the on-board graphics then being switched over to the GeForce by the Optimus nonsense confused the dookie out of the program.

  3. #3
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PopeDX View Post
    Of course after struggling with it for a couple of days I figure out how to fix it right after starting a forum thread. Do I ever feel like a goose.

    So I went into the UserPreferences file in the documents folder and changed DisplayAdapter=0 to DisplayAdapter=1

    I guess the game thinking it's going to be on the on-board graphics then being switched over to the GeForce by the Optimus nonsense confused the dookie out of the program.


    I'm having the same problem. i tried what you did but it still wont work for me. i still have DX9 grayed out

    Any thoughts?

  4. #4
    Hero Marcus-Hawkeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,055

    Default

    I had a similar problem a while back. I've searched my email and I can't seem to find it but they had me run some directx download from Microsoft to make sure Directx was installed then it worked for me. I wish I had the link for you but I can't seem to find it.

  5. #5
    Community Member PsychoBlonde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,837

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marcus-Hawkeye View Post
    I had a similar problem a while back. I've searched my email and I can't seem to find it but they had me run some directx download from Microsoft to make sure Directx was installed then it worked for me. I wish I had the link for you but I can't seem to find it.
    I'm resurrecting this thread because I'm having precisely the same problem on a laptop. I've got DirectX 11 installed, I tried the DisplayAdapter thing, not sure what's going on.

  6. #6
    Hero Marcus-Hawkeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,055

    Default

    You actually ran the microsoft installer for directx 11? I thought I had it installed, but had to actually run the installer (maybe it did a repair or something) in order for the problem to go away.

  7. #7
    Community Member Levonestral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    389

    Default

    I ran into the same problem with my video card when I replaced it recently. I was able to get it to be recognized after I reinstalled the "DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010)" which can be found here:

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/downl...s.aspx?id=8109

    After installing that, you might want to restart the computer, then try the game again. It worked for me. Good luck!
    Leader of The Madborn, Thelanis
    Searros, Kangaros, Xearos, Fearos, Tearos, Zenros, Rocknros, Rargasauros, Whilyros, Frostyros, Rosificer, Levonestral, Clankros, Stabbyros

  8. #8
    Community Member PsychoBlonde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,837

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Levonestral View Post
    I ran into the same problem with my video card when I replaced it recently. I was able to get it to be recognized after I reinstalled the "DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010)" which can be found here:

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/downl...s.aspx?id=8109

    After installing that, you might want to restart the computer, then try the game again. It worked for me. Good luck!
    I think the actual problem was that my housemate installed the low-res version of the game on this laptop without notifying me--or, at least, installing the high-res version fixed the problem.

  9. #9
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default RE DDO Not recognizing Directx 11

    I see this thread hasn't been addressed in a while.
    I've just run into this issue.
    Rebuilt my PC and can't get it to recognize 11; only 9c.

    Gigabyte GA-970
    AMD FX-6300 Processor
    GtX 660 video card
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit OS.

    I've reinstalled my video drivers.
    I've reinstalled DDO.
    No change.

    I've searched Google and have found no way to manually install Directx 11 to see if that fixes the issue.

  10. #10
    Community Member Stoner81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,020

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johannas1969 View Post
    I see this thread hasn't been addressed in a while.
    I've just run into this issue.
    Rebuilt my PC and can't get it to recognize 11; only 9c.

    Gigabyte GA-970
    AMD FX-6300 Processor
    GtX 660 video card
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit OS.

    I've reinstalled my video drivers.
    I've reinstalled DDO.
    No change.

    I've searched Google and have found no way to manually install Directx 11 to see if that fixes the issue.
    You need to install DirectX Redist which can be found here:

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/down...s.aspx?id=8109

    Stoner81.

  11. #11
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoner81 View Post
    You need to install DirectX Redist which can be found here:

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/down...s.aspx?id=8109

    Stoner81.

    Thanks!
    I did that immediately after posting (Microsoft CLAIMS DirectX11 is already a part of WIN 8.1) and after installing 211 updates to Windows, all is well in DDOville once again.
    Sorry for the false alarm!

  12. #12

  13. #13
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Just got my first Windows 10 machine and am having a similar issue. I do actually have a note that I went through this exact process when I bought my last machine, which was windows 7, 4+ years ago. Does anyone know if this is safe to run under Windows 10, or what the windows 10 equivalent would be? Thanks.

  14. #14

  15. #15
    Community Member tanjal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default Thanks

    Just had same problem on HP laptop with Windows 10, this fixed my issue. Thank you!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload