Results 1 to 17 of 17

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Launcher Stuck at Checking Dat Files

    I have an old MacBook from i think 2008 and I wanted to play DDO. However, when I try to run the game, it loads normally, but then gets stuck when it says "Checking dat files." I left it running overnight, and nothing changed. I tried downloading it from both steam and Turbine to get the same result. I would really appreciate someone helping me to get it running without using a parallel Windows machine.

  2. #2
    Community Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Launcher just hangs never moves past "Checking Dat Files"

    I have the same issue. Have tried on much newer Mac: Mac book pro retina. Launcher just hangs never moves past "Checking Dat Files"

  3. #3
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1

    Angry Me Too!

    I am having the same problem. I'm trying to run DDO for the first time, using an iMac with OSX 10.8.4 and a 3.2 GHz Intel Core i5. Has anyone solved this problem?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Founder Korlia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    42

    Default Dem Dat Files!

    I understand this is all the way in May, but I have the same issue. Stuck at 77% for checking .dat files. Only thing I managed to figure out is it is related to (possibly) my router. If i connect directly to my modem I can load the launcher fine. If I connect via wire or wirelessly to my router, i get stuck at 77%. I tested the launcher over at an establishment that has free WiFi and was able to connect fine.

    I did a hard reset to my router (in case a setting was changed) and no luck on connecting, even updated the firmware.

    I have a slightly annoying internet company, so unsure if they're tampering. Darn you Comcast!!!
    KCCO

  5. #5
    Hero AZgreentea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lost in the Swamp
    Posts
    3,638

    Default

    There was another thread with Mac users having issues launching the game. They fixed it by reinstalling the game and moving it to the applications folder.

    I'm not a Mac expert, so I'm just repeating what I read when they said they fixed it.
    The problem is never how to get new, innovative thoughts into your mind, but how to get old ones out. Every mind is a building filled with archaic furniture. Clean out a corner of your mind and creativity will instantly fill it.
    Dee Hock

  6. #6
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Found a workaround

    Quote Originally Posted by Korlia View Post
    I understand this is all the way in May, but I have the same issue. Stuck at 77% for checking .dat files. Only thing I managed to figure out is it is related to (possibly) my router. If i connect directly to my modem I can load the launcher fine. If I connect via wire or wirelessly to my router, i get stuck at 77%. I tested the launcher over at an establishment that has free WiFi and was able to connect fine.

    I did a hard reset to my router (in case a setting was changed) and no luck on connecting, even updated the firmware.

    I have a slightly annoying internet company, so unsure if they're tampering. Darn you Comcast!!!
    Hey,

    I have the same issue, I put a ticket for this in Support.
    But, by pure accident, I found a workaround:

    1. Run launcher, it gets stuck at 77%. Keep it open.
    2. Run it once again while keeping the first one open.
    3. The second one gets past this silly problem.
    4. Now important, before you log in and run the game from the second launcher instance, close the first one, as it blocks access to the .dat files.
    5. Log in and play.

    Hope this helps in the meantime, before Support fixes the real issue .

    Cheers,
    Mat

  7. #7
    Community Member Wxob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by czerwonasmierc View Post
    Hey,

    I have the same issue, I put a ticket for this in Support.
    But, by pure accident, I found a workaround:

    1. Run launcher, it gets stuck at 77%. Keep it open.
    2. Run it once again while keeping the first one open.
    3. The second one gets past this silly problem.
    4. Now important, before you log in and run the game from the second launcher instance, close the first one, as it blocks access to the .dat files.
    5. Log in and play.

    Hope this helps in the meantime, before Support fixes the real issue .

    Cheers,
    Mat
    I am on (yuk) Vista platform with my laptop. I received the same problem of getting stuck at 77%. Your solution to the "work around" fixed it. That is until it was ready to launch and then the program crashed saying I am not on the right client. No idea what is wrong. I hope I will not have to re-download.
    The Duck
    --------------------------------------------
    Sublime Guild

  8. #8
    Founder & Hero Steiner-Davion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    2,310

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by czerwonasmierc View Post
    Hey,

    I have the same issue, I put a ticket for this in Support.
    But, by pure accident, I found a workaround:

    1. Run launcher, it gets stuck at 77%. Keep it open.
    2. Run it once again while keeping the first one open.
    3. The second one gets past this silly problem.
    4. Now important, before you log in and run the game from the second launcher instance, close the first one, as it blocks access to the .dat files.
    5. Log in and play.

    Hope this helps in the meantime, before Support fixes the real issue .

    Cheers,
    Mat
    thanks this work around appears to be working for me. LOTRO launcher gets hung up to, and I can connect to both games using my cell phone's mobile hot spot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload