Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 32 of 32
  1. #21
    Community Member Aliss7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Happy Hunting Grounds
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Devachan View Post
    In the OP, there is a list of command line parameters which the DDO Launcher will accept. Any idea how to make use of them with the python script?

    I'm particularly interested in -u, --user : <name> : Character Name you would like to play, so that I can bypass the character selection screen and launch straight into the toon I want.
    The OP is referencing a bash script program which is different from the python launcher. You'll want to read the README.TXT from the ddolauncher github site instead.

    Something like
    Code:
    python ddolauncher.py -s Khyber MyLogin
    should do want you want, but, fyi, I haven't used/tried the python launcher myself.

  2. #22
    Community Member UurlockYgmeov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Somewhere on the waters of this planet.
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Devachan View Post
    Awesome, thanks. Now I just get 'The given server appears to be down', so hopefully all will be good when the servers are up.

    In the OP, there is a list of command line parameters which the DDO Launcher will accept. Any idea how to make use of them with the python script?

    I'm particularly interested in -u, --user : <name> : Character Name you would like to play, so that I can bypass the character selection screen and launch straight into the toon I want.
    should just have to append -u <character> to the end

    e.g.
    -u Uurlock

  3. #23
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Thanks very much, I'll give -u a try.
    Member of Storm Lords on Thelanis.
    In game: Unshriven, Unbidden, Unsated, and Unfazed.

  4. #24
    Community Member AtomicMew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2,709

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Devachan View Post
    Thanks very much, I'll give -u a try.
    The parameters were taken directly from the DDO executable. Like a lot of things turbine, it's probably outdated and not guaranteed to work. In fact, I suspect most of the parameters do not.

  5. #25
    Community Member Aliss7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Happy Hunting Grounds
    Posts
    492

    Default

    I use -u all the time to log straight into any toon I specify. It's great. The other options I have no idea, I don't use the others or have tried them.

  6. #26
    Community Member UurlockYgmeov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Somewhere on the waters of this planet.
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    ok - script works perfectly. only thing - tried to multibox it - didn't work.

  7. #27
    Founder THAC0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,024

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by petden View Post
    cool. it works thanks.
    it's is perfect for multiboxing, because it doesn't check if the game is already running. so you don't have to have multiple copies of the game folder.
    It is actually easier to do this if you are trying to multibox DDO:

    How to Set Up your PC for Multiboxing DDO

    If you need to run multiple instances and on the "alt account" you want to lower settings for graphics and turn off sound, etc to improve performance you may note that adjusting the settings in one of the clients affects settings for both or all.

    This is because, by default, the game loads the keymap and userpreferences out of your My Documents folder.

    To get around that and be able to configure each instance independently of the other, you can create a second user account (or third or fourth....) in Windows (I set mine to Administrator and some cryptic pswd so that game updates can occur without pop-up authorizations.) Then create a shortcut on your desktop like this:

    C:\Windows\System32\runas.exe /user:NewWindowsAccountName /savecred "C:\Turbine\Dungeons & Dragons Online - Stormreach\TurbineLauncher.exe"

    * Adjust for your path. Mine is in C:\DDO_1. For example:

    c:\windows\system32\runas.exe /user:My2Account /savecred "C:\DDO_1\TurbineLauncher.exe"

    You will have to set your icon for it, but that is easy as it is in the same folder as the TurbineLauncher.

    In the end, you will have 1 regular shortcut and 1+ pre-configured shortcuts that look like the above.


    Why Does This Work?

    This causes the shortcut to run under the new user you created and will use the keymap and userpreferences from THAT My Documents (location) allowing you to cap the FPS at 25 and lower graphic settings / audio without negatively impacting the game for your primary game session.

    As long as you start all the launchers together before logging in to either one, you should have no issues getting them both up and running.

    You can also leave the minimized in your system tray.

    I've posted this (and the crazy adventures...) of my multiboxing on our guild site for some time. Even got a few others doing it now for fun.

    Good luck!

    T.
    Last edited by THAC0; 02-16-2013 at 12:41 PM.

  8. #28

  9. #29
    Community Member AtomicMew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2,709

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by THAC0 View Post
    It is actually easier to do this if you are trying to multibox DDO:

    How to Set Up your PC for Multiboxing DDO

    If you need to run multiple instances and on the "alt account" you want to lower settings for graphics and turn off sound, etc to improve performance you may note that adjusting the settings in one of the clients affects settings for both or all.

    This is because, by default, the game loads the keymap and userpreferences out of your My Documents folder.

    To get around that and be able to configure each instance independently of the other, you can create a second user account (or third or fourth....) in Windows (I set mine to Administrator and some cryptic pswd so that game updates can occur without pop-up authorizations.) Then create a shortcut on your desktop like this:

    C:\Windows\System32\runas.exe /user:NewWindowsAccountName /savecred "C:\Turbine\Dungeons & Dragons Online - Stormreach\TurbineLauncher.exe"

    * Adjust for your path. Mine is in C:\DDO_1. For example:

    c:\windows\system32\runas.exe /user:My2Account /savecred "C:\DDO_1\TurbineLauncher.exe"

    You will have to set your icon for it, but that is easy as it is in the same folder as the TurbineLauncher.

    In the end, you will have 1 regular shortcut and 1+ pre-configured shortcuts that look like the above.


    Why Does This Work?

    This causes the shortcut to run under the new user you created and will use the keymap and userpreferences from THAT My Documents (location) allowing you to cap the FPS at 25 and lower graphic settings / audio without negatively impacting the game for your primary game session.

    As long as you start all the launchers together before logging in to either one, you should have no issues getting them both up and running.

    You can also leave the minimized in your system tray.

    I've posted this (and the crazy adventures...) of my multiboxing on our guild site for some time. Even got a few others doing it now for fun.

    Good luck!

    T.
    Much simpler is to just use multiple preference files and swap them before launching the game. Only the official launcher checks for multibox instances, so if you use a custom launcher you don't have to worry about launching them at the same time.

  10. #30
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    46

    Default

    So it seems a recent change in the tool has broken the script. Is anyone willing to share their work-around?

  11. #31
    Community Member -Zephyr-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,263

    Default

    I've been using pyLotro (Windows version) for quite a long time, but unfortunately the server hosting that seems to have disappeared. You might be able to find a way to recompile it yourself with the sources available on google.
    It's mostly just because it's faster than the official launcher (and doesn't try to remove my custom loading screens each time I run DDO), because the official launcher allows multiboxing just fine now.
    Owy Evoker FvS / Praledric Completionist Qstaff Rogue/Monk/Druid / Laraeph DC Wizard / Laraelph AA Monk/Ranger/Pally / Gaenry Shiradi Sorc/FvS/Wiz / Reasis SWF Pally & numerous others
    The Leveller for DDO!

  12. #32
    Community Member Aliss7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Happy Hunting Grounds
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sloejack View Post
    So it seems a recent change in the tool has broken the script. Is anyone willing to share their work-around?
    I just used the script yesterday with no problem (or are you talking about the python launcher? I don't use that.)

    What I've experienced in the past when the script doesn't work, is if one or some of turbine's logon servers are down.... the bash script doesn't do a good job of trying/identifying alternatives while the official launcher does.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload