Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37
  1. #1
    Community Member Shade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    14,425

    Default Failing crit confirmations on a roll of 1 that should not fail


  2. #2
    The Hatchery Scraap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2,503

    Default

    That is more than a little disturbing.

  3. #3
    Community Member Cyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    7,571

    Default

    Huh, that is a new one.

    Have any new effects (u14 related) that modify your confirm crit rolls?
    Proud Recipient of At least 8 Negative Rep From NA Threads.
    Main: Sharess
    Alts: Avaril/Cyr/Cyrillia/Garagos/Inim/Lamasa/Ravella

  4. #4
    Community Member Shade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    14,425

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyr View Post
    Huh, that is a new one.

    Have any new effects (u14 related) that modify your confirm crit rolls?
    Nope. epic mari chain and grt bold trinket should be the only relevant effects (seeker 12 total).

  5. #5
    Community Member Jay203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,122

    Default

    wait... cow? O_o;;;
    PS: Greensteel RUINED the game! and you all know it!
    less buffing, more nerfing!!!
    to make it easier for those of you that wants to avoid me in game, all my characters are in "Bladesworn Mercenaries"

  6. #6
    Community Member Wraith_Sarevok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    753

    Lightbulb

    He's right.

    If you're hitting the cow on a +39 and then missing on a +60, the confirmation rolls are bugged. Auto-fail shouldn't be applying to them.

    Could this just be a text error though? You might actually be rolling the critical damage and just not seeing it because the cow is invincible.
    Khyber: Iqus Tres (Half-Orc Barbarian 20 / Epic 5 / Legendary Dreadnought 5), Ixupi (Drow Sorcerer 20), Outlake (Warforged 7 Monk-in-progress), Petroglyph (Warforged Artificer 16)

  7. #7
    The Hatchery MRMechMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Shenzhen, China
    Posts
    2,718

    Default

    Maybe fort.

    I know that if you attack a creature with fort you can have a combat log that says "you roll to confirm critical hit 1+70: failure!" or something like that.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MRMechMan View Post
    Maybe fort.

    I know that if you attack a creature with fort you can have a combat log that says "you roll to confirm critical hit 1+70: failure!" or something like that.
    My money is on this.

  9. #9
    Community Member dredre9987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,298

    Default

    13+55>1+60
    Quote Originally Posted by Nitesco View Post
    Oh and honestly, you are all carrying portal beaters on your casters? What on earth are you using it on often enough to clog up your bag with it?
    Quote Originally Posted by HungarianRhapsody View Post
    Portals.

  10. #10
    Community Member Kalevor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    431

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dredre9987 View Post
    13+55>1+60
    but 1+60> 4+39
    Proud officer of Zuleicos (Thelanis) - Mikaelus (Melee) ; Akhnaroth (Caster) ; Kraneo (Healbot) ; Leonardu (Melee) ; Tormentazul (Melee)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hoglum
    Come play Dungeons and Dragons! In heroic play you will face the evil minions of Demons... When and if you make it to Epic levels you face even greater threats. Threats like... giant rats and wolves!

  11. #11
    Community Member Skavenaps's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    669

    Default

    1 should be always automiss. and a 20, succes.

  12. #12
    Community Member dredre9987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,298

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kalevor View Post
    but 1+60> 4+39
    Ah but perhaps crit confirmation has changed. Unless a 1 is autofail/
    Quote Originally Posted by Nitesco View Post
    Oh and honestly, you are all carrying portal beaters on your casters? What on earth are you using it on often enough to clog up your bag with it?
    Quote Originally Posted by HungarianRhapsody View Post
    Portals.

  13. #13
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    161

    Default

    The cows are in a non combat area and while you can hit them it does seem to me that you cannot damage or kill them as they are non hostile npcs standing in a non combat zone and therefor immune to damage but yes roll a 1 is usually a non hit/confirmation of crit.

  14. #14
    Community Member Kalevor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    431

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dredre9987 View Post
    Ah but perhaps crit confirmation has changed. Unless a 1 is autofail/
    this is nonsense, a 1 autofail on crit confirmation will be a serious nerf on melee damage... must be a bug... i hope...
    Proud officer of Zuleicos (Thelanis) - Mikaelus (Melee) ; Akhnaroth (Caster) ; Kraneo (Healbot) ; Leonardu (Melee) ; Tormentazul (Melee)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hoglum
    Come play Dungeons and Dragons! In heroic play you will face the evil minions of Demons... When and if you make it to Epic levels you face even greater threats. Threats like... giant rats and wolves!

  15. #15
    The Hatchery ferrite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skavenaps View Post
    1 should be always automiss. and a 20, succes.
    True but does this rule apply to critical confirmation rolls, since you've already hit. I just looked up the rule, "If the critical roll is a miss, then your hit is just a regular hit." So a 1 on the confirm roll should not cause a miss, the second die roll is a special roll that does not follow the normal rules of 1 and 20.

    Probably just a simple coding mistake.

  16. #16
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kalevor View Post
    this is nonsense, a 1 autofail on crit confirmation will be a serious nerf on melee damage... must be a bug... i hope...
    How can it be wrong, a 1 is almost always viewed as a failure, elsewise why even bother rolling to confirm the crit in the first place? Also a 1 in 20 chance of failing to confirm the extra damage of a crit is not going to nerf anything, unless of course your d20 is covered in 1s rather than the usual 1-20 that everyone elses has, remember this is a roll to confirm whether or not the additional damage of a crit has succeded or not, there has to be a chance for it not to suceed otherwise every crit hits and does the extra damage no matter what.

    Oh and if you look at the screen shot he hits on every attempt of hitting, the crit does not confirm sure, but none of the hits records any damage whatsoever, hence refer to my previous post about a non combat npc not taking damage in a non combat area, surprised it can be hit at all really.
    Last edited by sudzz; 06-15-2012 at 03:44 AM.

  17. #17
    Community Member Kalevor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    431

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sudzz View Post
    How can it be wrong, a 1 is almost always viewed as a failure, elsewise why even bother rolling to confirm the crit in the first place? Also a 1 in 20 chance of failing to confirm the extra damage of a crit is not going to nerf anything, unless of course your d20 is covered in 1s rather than the usual 1-20 that everyone elses has, remember this is a roll to confirm whether or not the additional damage of a crit has succeded or not, there has to be a chance for it not to suceed otherwise every crit hits and does the extra damage no matter what.
    wrong, chance of failling is allowed only on natural d20 (in PnP too, played the game several years)
    You need to confirm critical because a critical hit must to rely on the skills of the attacker and not only in the luck u can have rolling a crit number on a d20... otherwise is only a lucky hit.

    And is a nerf because if you have a toon that have +60 to hit and u expect every chance to crit hit to became a crit hit is a serious lost in dps.

    And yes i think my dice has more 1s than others has... ¬¬!
    Proud officer of Zuleicos (Thelanis) - Mikaelus (Melee) ; Akhnaroth (Caster) ; Kraneo (Healbot) ; Leonardu (Melee) ; Tormentazul (Melee)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hoglum
    Come play Dungeons and Dragons! In heroic play you will face the evil minions of Demons... When and if you make it to Epic levels you face even greater threats. Threats like... giant rats and wolves!

  18. #18
    Community Member brzytki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Warsaw
    Posts
    749

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by knockcocker View Post
    My money is on this.
    This is not the case. If it was fortification, it would read "Critical hit resisted" at the end of the line instead of "Failure".
    Quote Originally Posted by sudzz View Post
    How can it be wrong, a 1 is almost always viewed as a failure, elsewise why even bother rolling to confirm the crit in the first place? Also a 1 in 20 chance of failing to confirm the extra damage of a crit is not going to nerf anything, unless of course your d20 is covered in 1s rather than the usual 1-20 that everyone elses has, remember this is a roll to confirm whether or not the additional damage of a crit has succeded or not, there has to be a chance for it not to suceed otherwise every crit hits and does the extra damage no matter what.
    For a few years, if not for the whole time, in DDO rolling a 1 on confirming a crit wasn't an auto-fail. It's kind of similar to not failing skills on a 1. For skills, auto-fail on a 1 would be stupid since you train them to be better, for crit confirmation it would be stupid since you already have auto-fail on a 1 when rolling for hit.

    About the bolded part, have you been playing low lvl stuff on a low to-hit character lately? or ever? If your to-hit is not high enough to overcome a mob's AC it won't confirm crit either. Hypothetically speaking, if a mob's AC is 40 and your to-hit is 15 you won't ever get any crit because you will fail crit confirmation every time (20+15 < 40) - that's your chance of not succeeding.

    Quote Originally Posted by sudzz View Post
    Oh and if you look at the screen shot he hits on every attempt of hitting, the crit does not confirm sure, but none of the hits records any damage whatsoever, hence refer to my previous post about a non combat npc not taking damage in a non combat area, surprised it can be hit at all really.
    It doesn't matter if he does damage or not, unless it is specifically coded for this one situation which is highly doubtful.
    Quote Originally Posted by Absolute-Omniscience View Post
    Did Einstein solo eLoB without pots or what?
    Guild: Captain's Crew
    Characters: Kyorli , Xunrae , Halisstra , Nyarly

  19. #19
    Community Member Sarisa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3,614

    Default

    The SRD wording actually says you make an actual attack roll against the targets AC to see if you hit to confirm the crit. It uses the standard attack roll rules, including the 1-is-always-a-miss.

    This is a nerf, yes, but it's also closer to the few remains of PnP we have.

    http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/act...m#criticalHits
    Critical Hits

    When you make an attack roll and get a natural 20 (the d20 shows 20), you hit regardless of your target’s Armor Class, and you have scored a threat. The hit might be a critical hit (or "crit"). To find out if it’s a critical hit, you immediately make a critical roll—another attack roll with all the same modifiers as the attack roll you just made. If the critical roll also results in a hit against the target’s AC, your original hit is a critical hit. (The critical roll just needs to hit to give you a crit. It doesn’t need to come up 20 again.) If the critical roll is a miss, then your hit is just a regular hit.

    A critical hit means that you roll your damage more than once, with all your usual bonuses, and add the rolls together. Unless otherwise specified, the threat range for a critical hit on an attack roll is 20, and the multiplier is ×2.

    Exception: Extra damage dice over and above a weapon’s normal damage is not multiplied when you score a critical hit.
    Increased Threat Range

    Sometimes your threat range is greater than 20. That is, you can score a threat on a lower number. In such cases, a roll of lower than 20 is not an automatic hit. Any attack roll that doesn’t result in a hit is not a threat.
    Increased Critical Multiplier

    Some weapons deal better than double damage on a critical hit.
    Spells and Critical Hits

    A spell that requires an attack roll can score a critical hit. A spell attack that requires no attack roll cannot score a critical hit.
    http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/com...htm#attackRoll
    Attack Roll

    An attack roll represents your attempt to strike your opponent on your turn in a round. When you make an attack roll, you roll a d20 and add your attack bonus. (Other modifiers may also apply to this roll.) If your result equals or beats the target’s Armor Class, you hit and deal damage.
    Automatic Misses and Hits

    A natural 1 (the d20 comes up 1) on an attack roll is always a miss. A natural 20 (the d20 comes up 20) is always a hit. A natural 20 is also a threat—a possible critical hit.

  20. #20
    Hero JOTMON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Orillia, Ontario
    Posts
    4,315

    Default

    Looks to me like that cow has Raw Hide enhancement and probably Epic Shade Ward.
    Jotmon - Let's not forget why we play these games - to have fun - ~
    Guild: Degenerate Matter - 200 (Former Guilds: ChaosKnights, Big Damn Heroes, Shadowfiends, Order of the Drow, Unusual Suspects, Raided R)
    Argo-Jotmon(Completionist - before the Otto's/XP pots easymode), Jotmonheals(Clr17/Rog2/Mnk1-Epic Completionist), Whatthetruck.. and many many more alts..

    Update 24: Champions... "whew, it's ok, it's only a red name" .. sad day when trash spawn Champions and their one-shot ignore fort attacks instill more party fear than the Red named bosses.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload