Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Stormreach Advisor
    Founder

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13,518

    Default Questions about Cannith crafting with named items

    I missed the part when they introduced name items with the Craftable property, and my search skills failed me at finding answers to these two simple questions:
    1. Can you apply shards of potential on named items?
    2. Can you disjunct craftable (and already crafted) named items to "reset" them to their original state?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    DDO Catalog MrCow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Merrimack, NH
    Posts
    7,316

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tihocan
    Can you apply shards of potential on named items?
    Named items with craftable potential can not have their craftable potential increased.

    Quote Originally Posted by tihocan
    Can you disjunct craftable (and already crafted) named items to "reset" them to their original state?
    Yes, named items with craftable potential can be disjuncted back to their former self (for Cannith Challenge items). However, be careful that you actually disjunct them and not accidentally break them down into essences.

    Rune arms, however, defy this rule and do not allow disjuncting effects off of them.
    Last edited by MrCow; 04-23-2012 at 07:14 PM.
    Server - Thelanis
    Diaries of a True Reincarnate (Wizard, Sorcerer, Melee, Divine, Artificer, Druid)

  3. #3
    Community Member Shishizaru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    488

    Default

    To add to MrCow's second point:

    Random generated loot that you disjuct and craft on can be disjuncted again to get the blank slate back.

    Rune-arms (the only named items with craftable I'm aware of) do not allow this kind of flexibility. Once you've crafted something onto it, you're stuck with it until you get a new one. According to the full description of Craftable Rune Arm, this is working as intended.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shishizaru View Post
    Rune-arms (the only named items with craftable I'm aware of)
    Tier 3 non-epic challenge items are craftable.

  5. #5
    Stormreach Advisor
    Founder

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13,518

    Default

    Thanks a lot for the info, much appreciated

  6. #6
    Community Member masterzzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    302

    Default

    careful!!

    i cleared my level 16 tier 3 ring of the artificer and it lost it's 1/rest charge!.(posted it here in the forum too).

    i had to make a new one and upgrade the bugged one into an epic one( upgrading is actually getting a new item instead of the old so the bug went away).
    ^^^^^^^^
    This Side UP


  7. #7
    Community Member brian14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,893

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrCow View Post
    Yes, named items with craftable potential can be disjuncted back to their former self (for Cannith Challenge items). However, be careful that you actually disjunct them and not accidentally break them down into essences.
    That would really, really suck
    "Beauty is in the eye of the beholder."

    "Of course it is. Are YOU going to question beholder's artistic sense?"

  8. #8

    Default

    However, be careful that you actually disjunct them and not accidentally break them down into essences.
    That shouldn't be possible, they are not randomly generated.
    I am the 'Who' In the call "Who's there!?"
    I am the wind blowing through your hair.
    I am the shadow on the moon at night, filling your dreams to the brim with fright.

  9. #9
    DDO Catalog MrCow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Merrimack, NH
    Posts
    7,316

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Matuse
    That shouldn't be possible, they are not randomly generated.
    The base item may not be randomly generated, but the applied craftable properties are able to be harnessed as essences, just like the base shards that applied the effect in the first place.



    Cannith Challenge items are quirky like that.
    Server - Thelanis
    Diaries of a True Reincarnate (Wizard, Sorcerer, Melee, Divine, Artificer, Druid)

  10. #10
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,979

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrCow View Post
    Yes, named items with craftable potential can be disjuncted back to their former self (for Cannith Challenge items). However, be careful that you actually disjunct them and not accidentally break them down into essences. Rune arms, however, defy this rule and do not allow disjuncting effects off of them.
    How does Mr Cow always know everything? What in the name of... Seriously, who thinks to themselves: "Hmm, I wonder what will happen if I attempt to break down this Toven's Hammer? Well, better test it!"

  11. #11
    Stormreach Advisor
    Founder

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13,518

    Default

    I have two follow-up questions on this topic:
    - Does the named item's ML increase when you add effects to it through crafting?
    - Can you decrease it with a shard of Masterful Craftmanship?

  12. #12
    Community Member dynahawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tihocan View Post
    I have two follow-up questions on this topic:
    - Does the named item's ML increase when you add effects to it through crafting?
    - Can you decrease it with a shard of Masterful Craftmanship?
    Not sure

    Yes

  13. #13
    Founder & Hero jjflanigan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5,063

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tihocan View Post
    I have two follow-up questions on this topic:
    - Does the named item's ML increase when you add effects to it through crafting?
    - Can you decrease it with a shard of Masterful Craftmanship?
    Yes to both.

  14. #14
    Scholar Of Adventure & Hero Missing_Minds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    work....
    Posts
    30,181

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Faent View Post
    How does Mr Cow always know everything? What in the name of... Seriously, who thinks to themselves: "Hmm, I wonder what will happen if I attempt to break down this Toven's Hammer? Well, better test it!"
    A person who has a larger appetite for knowledge than loot?

    Seriously, if he's this in depth in DDO, can you imagine what he's like in his chosen field? (besides an obvious grazer.)

  15. #15
    Stormreach Advisor
    Founder

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13,518

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jjflanigan View Post
    Yes to both.
    Awesome, thanks

  16. #16

    Default

    - Does the named item's ML increase when you add effects to it through crafting?
    Yes, and it also goes up if you run it through a stone of change recipe...which is a bug, but apparently one Turbine has no interest in fixing.
    I am the 'Who' In the call "Who's there!?"
    I am the wind blowing through your hair.
    I am the shadow on the moon at night, filling your dreams to the brim with fright.

  17. #17
    Community Member LeoLionxxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    871

    Default

    My question:

    Are you able to add bound shards to non bound crafting items and non bound shards to bound items?
    Thanks.

  18. #18
    The Hatchery NytCrawlr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    1,022

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LeoLionxxx View Post
    My question:

    Are you able to add bound shards to non bound crafting items and non bound shards to bound items?
    Thanks.

    Yes to both, but in the latter instance the item retains its bound nature. (the former would become BtC obviously)
    Last edited by NytCrawlr; 04-30-2012 at 04:02 PM.

  19. #19
    Community Member LeoLionxxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    871

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NytCrawlr View Post
    Yes to both, but in the latter instance the item retains its bound nature. (the former would become BtC obviously)
    k.thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload