Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Fast leveling but end-game viable build with no resources

I am starting anew on a new server and need/want to fast level to 16-17 in 2 weeks (tops). What I want is a toon that is self-sufficient enough to be able to run quests for XP whether or not there are groups (and hopefully can manage not to die no matter how bad the PUG is).

I will not have access to any of my pp, any of my crafting, any of my amassed loot... kind of like a complete noob, except I have quest knowledge.

Some ideas I've had:
    - a sorcerer (fire or ice, than switch to air at some level?!) - Pro: fun Con: this isn't solo able unless I mean with 1 cleric and 1 rogue hireling at minimum
    - The Helves Angel build (http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php?t=289591) - Pro: I love the idea of AA, and this one seems less sucky for end-game content. Con: zero idea of solo ability of Rangers and such.
    - Evoker FvS (some nice builds on forum) - Pro: self-heals Con: I don't know how evoker FvS are at low level.

I prefer ranged toons, I've thought about paladin but they're not very epic viable or end-game awesome (working on a tank through 2-3 lives for eLotB on my main server). Melee FvS are fun to level, but I also don't think they're that awesome for epics and difficult raids.

Any ideas? Thoughts?

Thank you.

Max INT WF wizard/sorc with decent STR

High-Max WIS Cleric/FvS with decent STR

12/6/2 Fighter/Ranger/Monk, you can go the AA route, but for fast leveling, I'd just stick with melee, pulling the bow out now and again for manyshot. Fairly easy to get a decent AC with this build.

18/2 Paladin/monk or Paladin/rogue (AC with monk, UMD with Rogue)
    Quote Originally Posted by Teh_Troll View Post
    We are no more d000m'd then we were a week ago.
    Quote Originally Posted by Eth View Post
    When you stop caring about xp/min this game becomes really fun. Trust me.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary_Gygax