Community Member VishaiOutlander's Avatar

Lightbulb Need Advice on UMD for Sorcerer

Hello DDO Forums, I'm new to the game (playing for about three weeks now) and am thinking of making a Sorcerer. I know that Concentration is essential, but it occurred to me that I could pick up Quicken Spell at level 1 and, when under attack, just switching that on and either CC'ing or running around and blasting them till they're dead.

The reason for picking up Quicken Spell rather than raising my Concentration is because I'd like to put as many points into UMD as possible, that way I'd be able to heal with wands and scrolls as well as use magical abilities from wands and scrolls I wouldn't normally have access to because of my limited spell selection as a Sorcerer.

As far as race and stats I was thinking of choosing a Drow and going with the following:

8 Str
    12 Dex
    16 Con
    10 Int
    8 Wis
    18 Cha

Skills, I plan on putting 4 into Balance and UMD, giving me a +3 in Bal to start and a +6 in UMD.

Please let me know your thoughts on this initial selection, and let me know if there is a way that I would be able to have a nice UMD as well as Concentration, because I realize how much SP Quicken Spell would eat up. Thanks in advance!

Quicken will not apply to your scrolls, however, so concentration will still be beneficial for self-healing (the primary use of UMD on a sorc).

Looking at your posted stats, there is no reason for the 2 point bump in Dex. Move those 2 points to Int and you can have both UMD and concentration

Edit: Looking at those stats some more, I also got to recommend swapping your spent points into Cha and Con. Max Cha and 14 Con will give much more value per point then max con and 18 Cha.
    sravana, kirtana, smarana, dasya, atma-nivedana
    ...NAMASTE...

Community Member VishaiOutlander's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Samadhi View Post