Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Community Member Yetzederixx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sulphur, LA
    Posts
    144

    Default Mic doesn't even show up

    I get home from classes today and plug up my mic hoping to get a group together for the new quest chain and no voice.

    check my connections, check my options, kill the client, unplug and replug everything, reload the client, still nothing. I can only yell at my laptop screen.

    Anyone know how to fix this?
    Last edited by Yetzederixx; 09-12-2011 at 03:12 PM. Reason: added forgotten step

  2. #2
    Community Member Yetzederixx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sulphur, LA
    Posts
    144

    Default

    PS: Voice chat on MSN works fine, so it's not a windows issue.

    I did have to add exceptions to my firewall to get voice to work initially. Do you think I need to re-add them?

  3. #3
    Community Member Yetzederixx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sulphur, LA
    Posts
    144

    Angry

    So on top of the mic not showing up my mouses thumb buttons won't register clicks to remap them.

    I'm pretty friggin irritated about all this now, and am quickly finding out why so many are as well.

    Every bloody thing worked fine yesterday and now I have nothing but problems. I've even went so far as to uninstall, delete all my settings/folders, and reinstall to no avail.

    I really like this game and the people I play with, however, if I have to remap and relearn my interface and make compromises every couple of months there are plenty more.

  4. #4
    Community Member Dozen_Black_Roses's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,135

    Default

    Are you sure your mic is not working or just that you are lighting up. What I have found with everyone is that due to the new ui of the party listing, unless you go into UI and uncheck show large vitals bar, you are not listed in the party but rather in a seperate large bar, and that will not light up. Once you uncheck that, then you will show up in the party, and your mic will now light up.
    Shogyo Mujo (Nothing lasts forever and everything must change).
    @>---Fuhgly, Suzee, Blohnde, Shakkei, Redhawt, Sanctified, Punkrawk, Gaelsong, Deviliscious, Liethal----<@

  5. #5
    Community Member Yetzederixx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sulphur, LA
    Posts
    144

    Default

    The mic does not show up in the options list of devices. I'm not logging back in to take a screen shot, but go to options > audio > scroll all the way down and if you're on a laptop with a built in mic you should see two devices, your screen mic and your headset mic.

    I could care less if people couldn't see my green if they could hear me, but they litterally cannot hear me unless I scream at my screen mic. Wife is not happy with this option, and I'm pretty ****ed about that and the mouse I specifically bought to play DDO with not working right in the game anymore either.

  6. #6
    Community Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I'm having the same problem. My mic is not showing up in the Audio section, and nothing I do changes that. I can see in the userpreferences file it detects something or other (a whole bunch of numbers and letters), but nothing I do can make ddo detect it. My mic works perfectly through skype and windows audio recording software.

    Highly annoying.

  7. #7
    Euro-Founder and Keeper Refugee Dexraven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    229

    Default

    the game doesn't seem to check dynamically for headsets, only when it boots up.

    i have to make sure my mic/headphones are plugged in before i load the client, and then selected on the character selection screens options, if i load a toon and then select mic/headphones it doesn't work.

    as for the mouse, try mapping the buttons in the mouse software to the keys you would press, that way you press the button mapped to number 1, the game thinks you pressed number 1, doesn't care about it being on a mouse
    Last edited by Dexraven; 05-31-2013 at 05:27 AM.

  8. #8
    Community Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dexraven View Post
    the game doesn't seem to check dynamically for headsets, only when it boots up.

    i have to make sure my mic/headphones are plugged in before i load the client, and then selected on the character selection screens options, if i load a toon and then select mic/headphones it doesn't work.
    Doesn't work for me. My mic is always plugged in :/

  9. #9
    Community Member arkonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,467

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yetzederixx View Post
    I get home from classes today and plug up my mic hoping to get a group together for the new quest chain and no voice.

    check my connections, check my options, kill the client, unplug and replug everything, reload the client, still nothing. I can only yell at my laptop screen.

    Anyone know how to fix this?
    i cant say this is a solution or not but have you restarted your computer with everything plugged in? sometimes the computer might not see it being put back in. my old headset gave me a lot of issues. my usb headset not so much. im just wondering.

  10. #10
    Community Member Gimli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I have the exact same problem but I'm on a Mac and use the Mac client, so I can say that it's probably a DDO issue rather than a windows issue. Game sounds are fine but I can't hear anyone on voice no does my mic work. The options for the voice in the audio settings are greyed out and are set at built in audio. I relaunch DDO, reboot computer, unplug and replug the usb headset over and over. Every blue moon the audio options will not be greyed out and let me select my headset. But next time i log in, I'm right back to where I started.

  11. #11
    Community Member Lorien_Stargard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    California, United States
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I'm having the same issue on my Mac. Everything was working fine, then I restarted my system. Now, the DDO client does not recognize my headset for voice chat, only game sounds. I checked the system preferences and they are set up correctly. I can use the headset in other apps. Definitely a DDO issue.
    The many faces of Tal

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload