Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 54
  1. #1

    Default You can upgrade a Cannith crafted item without deconstructing!

    steelblueskies just posted that you can overwrite shards on existing crafted items to upgrade one part of the item without deconstructing the whole thing first. Please rep the linked post if you didn't already know this; I know I didn't, and for me this is a game-changer.

    In the Options panel under Gameplay, there is a new checkbox, "Disable Crafting Overwrite Messages," that is unchecked by default. The description of this option is as follows:

    If checked, the crafting item effect overwrite message will not display when you apply an effect that replaces an existing one, such as when a new prefix effect gets applied and the old one is 'overwritten' and replaced.

    I haven't actually tested it yet; I immediately created this thread to shout this revelation to the mountaintops. heh. But the description of it clearly states you can overwrite shards, which rules.

  2. #2
    Community Member bradleyforrest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,397

    Default

    I just tested this myself with a couple low level prefixes and I can confirm that this does work. Thanks for bringing it to our attention

  3. #3

    Default

    Dear EllisDee37 and steelblueskies,

    THANK YOU!

  4. #4
    Community Member AMDarkwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    now curious, can u upgrade the shard of potential on crafted items mid crafting?(like if u need a higher crafting + level, can u upgrade it without wiping the item?)

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AMDarkwolf View Post
    now curious, can u upgrade the shard of potential on crafted items mid crafting?(like if u need a higher crafting + level, can u upgrade it without wiping the item?)
    Yep, you sure can.

  6. #6
    Community Member badbob117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    964

    Default

    Wow.

    Worked for me. I swapped a few shards on some weps that got obsolete well levelling. Props to him for finding this and props to you for reposting it.

    +1 to both of ya . thanks man. saved us all some time posting this
    Born to play, Forced to work !

  7. #7
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    411

    Default

    Yeah figured that one out a short while ago when I made a weapon, had it's ml go too high, disjuncted it again to start over and had a crafting blank with a too high ml( adding shards corrected the ml btw).
    Was thinking there's got to be a better way, and found that by chance. Make note and take care however: sometimes the ml requirement gets fubar( don't overwrite same prefix as is already in place, ditto suffix, sometimes it bugs the ml straight to 20. Overwriting with alternate prefix suffix seems to recalc the ml when it does. And it's inconsistent to reproduce.).

  8. #8
    Community Member samho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    1,719

    Default

    Hmm, very useful found. I didn't even realize that there's such a option on gameplay.. Anyway, +1 for you :-)
    [ Fernia / Ghallanda ]
    -- Role of the Combat Cleric : We fight for our party's survival --

  9. #9
    Community Member Blank_Zero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    GMT -7, USA
    Posts
    3,830

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EllisDee37 View Post
    Yep, you sure can.
    Thank you so much for this!

    I remember making my +3 holysilver lob weapons and forgetting to us shards of potential first.....ugh.
    Smrti///Warcrye///Dukkha///Nomey///Dhaarmika///Smrtiheals
    Focused Melee Discussion as of U17
    Proud Gimp of Crimson Eagles and now Loreseekers!

  10. #10
    Community Member voodoogroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Cackalacky
    Posts
    9,593

    Default

    Crazy how we all start to go with some assumptions and then assume it's fact. Awesome news, I've wasted a fair few shards playing around already.
    Ghallanda - now with fewer alts and more ghostbane

  11. #11
    Community Member Junts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    8,505

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EllisDee37 View Post
    Yep, you sure can.
    Unfortunately, you still can't disjunction pre- 9.1 items that have more than +5 potential of enchantments.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Junts View Post
    Unfortunately, you still can't disjunction pre- 9.1 items that have more than +5 potential of enchantments.
    Yep, unfortunately that's a permanent bug with no fix; a sacrifice on the altar of Beta.

  13. #13
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    839

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Junts View Post
    Unfortunately, you still can't disjunction pre- 9.1 items that have more than +5 potential of enchantments.
    yea thats the first thing i tried too getting silver kopeshes.. getting really hard

  14. #14
    Community Member fluffybunnywilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    758

    Default

    I did notice one issue with "cross-grading". The crafting altar assumes that you will be adding the shard to the existing item and it demands a high enough potential on that weapon to allow you to make the change.

    That means starting with a +4 Holy of Lawful Outsider Bane (+8 total) and changing to a +4 Holy of Evil Outsider Bane will require you to upgrade the potential of the weapon to +10 so that you can "add" the Evil Outsider Bane in addition to the Lawful Outsider Bane. Even though the Lawful Outsider Bane will go away in the process. The end result will still be +8 at the end even though it requires +10 potential to make the change

  15. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fluffybunnywilson View Post
    I did notice one issue with "cross-grading". The crafting altar assumes that you will be adding the shard to the existing item and it demands a high enough potential on that weapon to allow you to make the change.

    That means starting with a +4 Holy of Lawful Outsider Bane (+8 total) and changing to a +4 Holy of Evil Outsider Bane will require you to upgrade the potential of the weapon to +10 so that you can "add" the Evil Outsider Bane in addition to the Lawful Outsider Bane. Even though the Lawful Outsider Bane will go away in the process. The end result will still be +8 at the end even though it requires +10 potential to make the change
    Hmmm, interesting. So I guess add fire touch or some other +1 ability to "clear" out whatever was there and then add the real one.

    The net effect is that upgrading requires an extra 1 potential, which seems a reasonable fee for upgrading. It also means that +12 weapons are particularly uber since they have to be made from scratch.

  16. #16
    The Hatchery Rinnaldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    322

    Default

    Has anyone tried replacing an enhancement bonus this way? For example, if you check the box to overwrite, can you replace the +1 you put on a blank with a +2? If you can do this, that would make this an even more awesome find!

  17. #17
    Community Member Raithe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3,482

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EllisDee37 View Post
    Hmmm, interesting. So I guess add fire touch or some other +1 ability to "clear" out whatever was there and then add the real one.
    By the time you add an additional level of potential, create a dummy +1 shard, and then add the shard you actually want, this process doesn't save a lot of ingredients.

    For instance, the cost of going from bound +7 to bound +8 is 175 lesser essences, which is the same as going from +5 to +7. This process will really only be useful for replacing an effect on an item which has a very high level, expensive prefix or suffix.

  18. #18
    Community Member dingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    774

    Default

    Anyone test if you can downgrade an item?

    I miscalculated my ML in a brain fart and am 2 levels higher than my toon on my weapon. WOuld be cool to remove the +2 and put on a +1 so I could use it.
    April 27th, 2011 - Dungeons and Casters Unlimited is released to the public
    Quote Originally Posted by Junts View Post
    This is an impressive min/min build.

  19. #19
    Scholar Of Adventure & Hero Missing_Minds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    work....
    Posts
    30,189

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dingal View Post
    Anyone test if you can downgrade an item?

    I miscalculated my ML in a brain fart and am 2 levels higher than my toon on my weapon. WOuld be cool to remove the +2 and put on a +1 so I could use it.
    Did you brain far or did it screw up MLs on you? Wrong ML being applied is a known issue.

  20. #20
    Hopeless Romantic Nomical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    120

    Default

    I had the problem that someone above described - the minimum level got too high.

    I had a +4 holy lawful outsider bane that I was trying to make +4 holy burst greater lawful outsider bane. When I put on the holy burst shard, it just stacked the minimum level on top, making the item level 19 +4 holy burst lawful outsider bane, and not letting me put the greater on.
    Fanarchy - Fanatik - Fanfare - Fanda Bear - Fantta Squirt - Fanttom of the Roq Opera
    Co-Leader, Ghallanda ReRolled (GRR)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload