Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 48
  1. #21
    Community Member Bodic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    2,648

    Default

    Check out my new Bad Boy cant beat this:



    and this is my Old gaming set up:

  2. #22
    Community Member zztophat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    669

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hambo View Post
    One thing to remember is that to some people the Intel/AMD question is almost Religious and/or Political. Like the Apple/PC question

    I compare features to cost myself, and the day Intel beats AMD on the bang/buck question is the day I switch
    I have an intel processor and an AMD graphics card, when I first installed them I wondered if they would try to kill each other in secret.

  3. #23
    Community Member Myrdinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    345

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ExK444 View Post
    I'd just like to note that the ATI fans out there can get a Radeon HD 5770 for about the same price and with similar performance.
    I would add that the radeon hd 5770 seem to be around 100 to 160$ depending on manufacturer. So it would be a great replacement if you like ATI.

    I personally prefer nvidia

    Xalekk - 18pal/2rog Xalek - 18barb/2rog
    Xalekia - 18Rng/1Mnk/1Rog Alekian - 12wiz/6mnk/2ftr
    Cynvan - 18Clr/2Mnk Aleathiel - 20 sorc

  4. #24
    Community Member Myrdinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    345

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zztophat View Post
    I have an intel processor and an AMD graphics card, when I first installed them I wondered if they would try to kill each other in secret.
    lol

    Xalekk - 18pal/2rog Xalek - 18barb/2rog
    Xalekia - 18Rng/1Mnk/1Rog Alekian - 12wiz/6mnk/2ftr
    Cynvan - 18Clr/2Mnk Aleathiel - 20 sorc

  5. #25
    Community Member Tres_Tacos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    93

    Default

    I've been thinking of assembling a new machine, but I would like to keep my old rig more or less intact. So I'm wondering are there any other bits that are needed besides the ones mentioned in the original post? Obviously it doesn't include keyboard, mouse and monitor, but are there any other items I would need to make a new working machine?

  6. #26
    Community Member zztophat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    669

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tres_Tacos View Post
    I've been thinking of assembling a new machine, but I would like to keep my old rig more or less intact. So I'm wondering are there any other bits that are needed besides the ones mentioned in the original post? Obviously it doesn't include keyboard, mouse and monitor, but are there any other items I would need to make a new working machine?
    Cables. I've known more than one person that has ordered a slew of parts for a new machine and only when they arrived did they realize that they need things like SATA cables. Of course compared to online prices most stores are terribly over priced so you then have to either pay more at a local store or order them and wait.

    To give you and idea of price difference: at the nearby staples an ethernet crossover cable was about $30 for 10 feet, I bought one online and including shipping I got 15 feet for about 10 dollars.


    EDIT: It should be noted that all cables are the same, a few defective brands aside there isn't any difference between them. If you see a 5 foot HDMI cable for $80 promising NASA level clarity and the ability to stream video at 20 gigapoodles don't fall for it.
    Last edited by zztophat; 06-06-2011 at 12:32 PM.

  7. #27
    Founder Hambo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Posts
    3,784

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrkGrismer View Post
    I'm considering get a tablet (like one of the ASUS ones) to play from my couch. Alas, none have good graphic cards yet. Maybe next year...
    One thing you might want to watch for... AMD's new "Fusion" multicore CPU (now called "APU"s) release actually contains a GPU as one of the cores, with DirectX 11 supported. They've annonced a low power model aimed at the tablet/netbook market.
    Carpe D.M.! (Sieze the Dungeon Master!)
    Founder #2003 - Interocitor Repair - Call for discount prices

  8. #28
    Founder Hambo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Posts
    3,784

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zztophat View Post
    I have an intel processor and an AMD graphics card, when I first installed them I wondered if they would try to kill each other in secret.
    AMD graphics is in reality the company formerly known as ATI, btw...

    I used to be an Nvidia fan but will probably have to change my stripes now that AMD is shipping multicore "APUs"... Chips that combine CPU cores with GPU cores using ATI tech.
    Carpe D.M.! (Sieze the Dungeon Master!)
    Founder #2003 - Interocitor Repair - Call for discount prices

  9. #29
    Community Member Myrdinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    345

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tres_Tacos View Post
    I've been thinking of assembling a new machine, but I would like to keep my old rig more or less intact. So I'm wondering are there any other bits that are needed besides the ones mentioned in the original post? Obviously it doesn't include keyboard, mouse and monitor, but are there any other items I would need to make a new working machine?
    Depend on what you wanna change.

    a computer include:
    motherboard
    processor (come with its fan most of the time)
    ram
    video card
    power supply
    dvd/blu-ray writer/reader


    motherboard, processor and ram are often change together since there can be compatibility issue

    video card, depend on which you have and if you are upgrading your motherboard (mostly all 5 year to today computer use pcie2 x16)

    power supply depends on your video card.

    and any extra like DVD, extra USB slot, wireless card should fit in new motherboard and even older one without problem (some motherboard may have limited slot though)

    Xalekk - 18pal/2rog Xalek - 18barb/2rog
    Xalekia - 18Rng/1Mnk/1Rog Alekian - 12wiz/6mnk/2ftr
    Cynvan - 18Clr/2Mnk Aleathiel - 20 sorc

  10. #30
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    154

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tres_Tacos View Post
    I've been thinking of assembling a new machine, but I would like to keep my old rig more or less intact. So I'm wondering are there any other bits that are needed besides the ones mentioned in the original post? Obviously it doesn't include keyboard, mouse and monitor, but are there any other items I would need to make a new working machine?
    The only thing I can think of is internet connection. If you connect with wires, you need that, if wireless you will need a wireless adapter.

    Oh, and dont forget the copy of windows

    New hard drives come with SATA cables (OEM dont), new power supplies come with SATA power adapters, so you should be fine on all other cables.

  11. #31
    Founder Hambo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Posts
    3,784

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tres_Tacos View Post
    I've been thinking of assembling a new machine, but I would like to keep my old rig more or less intact. So I'm wondering are there any other bits that are needed besides the ones mentioned in the original post? Obviously it doesn't include keyboard, mouse and monitor, but are there any other items I would need to make a new working machine?
    That would depend on your old hardware. For example, I have a dual core AMD X2-555 cpu on a mainboard using DDR2 ram. When I upgrade, the new mainboard will need DDR3 ram, but I specifically selected my CPU for current and future compatability. Later on I can get the 6 or 8 core CPU of my choice

    I would probably also upgrade my video card, because the old one would go into the "Hand-me-down" hardware set and I would upgrade to DirectX 11 support.

    As things stand, everything I have now would be reused except for the mainboard, ram and video card.
    Carpe D.M.! (Sieze the Dungeon Master!)
    Founder #2003 - Interocitor Repair - Call for discount prices

  12. #32
    Community Member fluffybunnywilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    758

    Default

    Make sure that whatever monitor you get can display the resolution you want to see, also.

    My monitor can display 1280x1024 and I wish I could do better than that because my hotbars take up too much of my screen. No matter how much I improve my video card, however, my DDO will look the same because my monitor can't do any more than that.

  13. #33
    Community Member Myrdinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    345

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zztophat View Post
    Cables. I've known more than one person that has ordered a slew of parts for a new machine and only when they arrived did they realize that they need things like SATA cables. Of course compared to online prices most stores are terribly over priced so you then have to either pay more at a local store or order them and wait.

    To give you and idea of price difference: at the nearby staples an ethernet crossover cable was about $30 for 10 feet, I bought one online and including shipping I got 15 feet for about 10 dollars.


    EDIT: It should be noted that all cables are the same, a few defective brands aside there isn't any difference between them. If you see a 5 foot HDMI cable for $80 promising NASA level clarity and the ability to stream video at 20 gigapoodles don't fall for it.
    Yep, that's why it depend on what he is upgrading, some new motherboard have extra cable, some have extra screw, some need those same screw

    And the same goes for video card and which monitor output you got, DVI, VGA, or even HDMI :P

    Xalekk - 18pal/2rog Xalek - 18barb/2rog
    Xalekia - 18Rng/1Mnk/1Rog Alekian - 12wiz/6mnk/2ftr
    Cynvan - 18Clr/2Mnk Aleathiel - 20 sorc

  14. #34
    Founder Hambo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Posts
    3,784

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by game5551 View Post
    The only thing I can think of is internet connection. If you connect with wires, you need that, if wireless you will need a wireless adapter.

    Oh, and dont forget the copy of windows

    New hard drives come with SATA cables (OEM dont), new power supplies come with SATA power adapters, so you should be fine on all other cables.
    Most quality mainboards include all internal cables except power, and may have a set of adaptors for specific power needs. My last new ASUS board even came with 4 SATA cables.

    As far as external cabling is concerned, if the store redirects you to the AV section for HDMI cables leave immediately... They'll rob you blind. I go to Fry's, for example. If I were to go to the AV department they'd get me for $60-$80 for a 6' HDMI cable pachaged for TV buyers, so I went to the computer department and got one for $9.99 sold as a monitor cable.

    Lan cables are generally the same as nong as you compare CAT-5 to CAT-5. If you need CAT-6 don't buy CAT-5! The twists per inch inside the cable are different, and CAT-6 is wired for power-over-ethernet for specific equipment. I work with Lan equipment all the time so I bought crimpers, RJ-11 connectors and a 1000' roll of CAT-5 and make my own cables when I need them.
    Last edited by Hambo; 06-06-2011 at 12:59 PM.
    Carpe D.M.! (Sieze the Dungeon Master!)
    Founder #2003 - Interocitor Repair - Call for discount prices

  15. #35
    Community Member Myrdinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    345

    Default

    if you want HDMI cable, go to monoprice.com, they have excellent quality and price for lot of cable, including ethernet and sound cable.

    Monoprice and newegg are my top list for any electronic buy

    You can get a 6 feet HDMI for 3-4 dollars I bought them in batch of 5, always has some spare

    Xalekk - 18pal/2rog Xalek - 18barb/2rog
    Xalekia - 18Rng/1Mnk/1Rog Alekian - 12wiz/6mnk/2ftr
    Cynvan - 18Clr/2Mnk Aleathiel - 20 sorc

  16. #36
    Scholar Of Adventure & Hero Missing_Minds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    work....
    Posts
    30,354

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hambo View Post
    Lan cables are generally the same as nong as you compare CAT-5 to CAT-5. If you need CAT-6 don't buy CAT-5! The twists per inch inside the cable are different, and CAT-6 is wired for power-over-ethernet for specific equipment. I work with Lan equipment all the time so I bought crimpers, RJ-11 connectors and a 1000' roll of CAT-5 and make my own cables when I need them.
    Where did you pull that from? I've never heard anything of the sort in my readings of the differences of the two.

    And.. RJ-11???? What the heck are you doing? telephone lines? Networks use RJ-45.

  17. #37
    Community Member Myrdinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    345

    Default

    I must add that with all the stuff I listed, I only had 4 screws included, so it was a good thing I reused the one I already had, if not i would have need to order some.

    Also my previous motherboard was a micro motherboard, which was 2-3 inch shorter. which mean I was missing the gold screw (dont know how they name it) under the motherboard in which you need to put the normal screw to secure the motherboard



    was missing 3 of those, so just went ahead without them But make sure to be more careful when inserting ram and IDE cable

    Xalekk - 18pal/2rog Xalek - 18barb/2rog
    Xalekia - 18Rng/1Mnk/1Rog Alekian - 12wiz/6mnk/2ftr
    Cynvan - 18Clr/2Mnk Aleathiel - 20 sorc

  18. #38
    Community Member Cyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    7,571

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Myrdinn View Post
    I will take the bad rep with a neutral mind.

    Do you guys think this is worth a bad rep? If yes, could you explain? Just trying to figured if my post was a bad idea or if it is just someone alone disliking it.
    I thought about neg repping your OP also as it reads like an add in the general forums. I would prefer if the DDO forums did not become like so many other forums where fake posters are really there to just hawk wares. Not that I think the OP is only here to do that (hence why I decided against the neg rep), but it certainly read that way.
    Proud Recipient of At least 8 Negative Rep From NA Threads.
    Main: Sharess
    Alts: Avaril/Cyr/Cyrillia/Garagos/Inim/Lamasa/Ravella

  19. #39
    Scholar Of Adventure & Hero Missing_Minds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    work....
    Posts
    30,354

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Myrdinn View Post
    Also my previous motherboard was a micro motherboard, which was 2-3 inch shorter. which mean I was missing the gold screw (dont know how they name it) under the motherboard in which you need to put the normal screw to secure the motherboard
    It is called a "stand off".

  20. #40
    Community Member Myrdinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    345

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Missing_Minds View Post
    It is called a "stand off".
    Thanks missing
    I also saw pillar under the picture I linked, so I supposed both can be used, anyway, good to know

    Xalekk - 18pal/2rog Xalek - 18barb/2rog
    Xalekia - 18Rng/1Mnk/1Rog Alekian - 12wiz/6mnk/2ftr
    Cynvan - 18Clr/2Mnk Aleathiel - 20 sorc

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload