Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Booted for logging into the world sarlona..

    My character is on argonassan, but I couldn't get in due to a full server, so I tried sarlona, not knowing that my character stays in the world I made it on. After I found that out, I went back to argonassan, but now the game keeps closing with the message "You have been booted because you have logged into the world sarlona"

    What should I do?

  2. #2
    Community Member Cholera's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    327

    Default Server boot

    This is happening to me as well. It appears to be an issue related to the log in server. I created characters on another server and when I change servers, it seems to detect what I’m guessing is the character on the other server timing or (or something similar) and treating it as activity on that server – thus logging you out of wherever you happen to be.

    Now, that is just a guess. The other possibility is far less of a nuisance and much more of a serious concern. I used to do customer support for Ultima Online and one of the issues there was the commandeering of accounts by thieves. If such people got their hands on your account information (user name, password), they’d try to log in, liquidate, pass off and otherwise drain all in-game value out of your characters and holdings.

    What I’m currently trying to find from Turbine is if they know which one it is. If it is thieves, start looking for a Trojan on your system and change your password.

    Good luck to us both.
    "No, no, NO! It’s pronounced KOL-ER-AHH, not KLO-WEE!"

  3. #3
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    The first one seems more likely. Why would a thief want an account with only a level 1 fighter and 2.5 hours of playtime?
    Also, I waited a couple of hours and it stopped doing it.

    Also, a trojan is not very likely. I have Norton Internet Security 2009 and Malwarebytes, both of which run full system scans every night while I sleep.

  4. #4
    Foe of Gharet Tarrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,330

    Default

    Hey, sorry about the problems you're having. This is definitely not a case of a stolen account or virus, so don't worry there!

    This issue should resolve itself, provided you don't keep switching between the servers. I recommend waiting a few minutes and trying to log into the server of choice again, and if that doesn't work waiting a few more minutes and attempting another time. All that's happening is a little delay between the time the servers think you log out and the time you actually do.

  5. #5
    Community Member Cholera's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Yep, I think you're right.

    I've been testing my theory out by logging from one to another server then in and out of the same. It doesn't seem to happen in the latter instance and nor in the former if one logs out first by logging to character selection screen and then off the server itself, so it's looking good.

    I also ran a complete system scan and found no Trojans (also using Norton I.S. 2009) so again, looks good.

    Turbine was decidedly unhelpful though. The response I got from my second ticket, asking for clarification on the first was even more vague. Oh well.

    Cheers.
    "No, no, NO! It’s pronounced KOL-ER-AHH, not KLO-WEE!"

  6. #6
    Community Member Cholera's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Thanks for the confirmation, Tarrant. It’s appreciated.

    The in-game support staff seemed almost intentionally vacuous in the answers they provided so, you'll pardon my grumpiness, I hope.
    "No, no, NO! It’s pronounced KOL-ER-AHH, not KLO-WEE!"

  7. #7
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Ok, thanks for your help.


    9-11.......... ALL GAVE SOME..............SOME GAVE ALL ................NEVER FORGET !!

  8. #8
    Community Member Brennie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,509

    Default

    Been having the same issue today. Is the log-in server having particular issues today, or is this just an "all the time" bug that i haven't experienced until now?

  9. #9
    Hatchery Founder Glenalth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    A mountain fortress.
    Posts
    4,280

    Default

    Had the same thing happen last night. Had been playing on Argo for a while and switched to Cannith to grind Turbine Points. After 30 minutes or so (Even completed a couple quests) I got booted for being logged in somewhere else.
    Glenalth Woodwalke ■ Preston the Ranger ■ Brisqoe the Dentist ■ Prescription Liberator
    AoK @ Argonnessen

  10. #10
    Community Member MaiaLunadaen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I am having the same issue. I made a char on Sarlona and played a bit, then was told in general chat that Thelanis was more RP based, so I deleted my char (decided I wanted to try another race) and logged into Thelanis. I get part way through the intro instance and get booted with the same message as said by OP. I am going to wait it out to see if there is in fact a delay in timing and go back tomorrow to try it out.

    Thanks for feedback on this issue. I haven't been in DDO since the first beta and I have to say, the response time for feedback from Turbine or even help from vet players is really great, and encouraging for me to stay.
    Last edited by MaiaLunadaen; 09-15-2009 at 08:21 AM.

  11. #11
    Community Member Strickalator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    yeah I cannot even play now, i wonder how long I need to let the servers reset and think I am not there?

  12. #12
    Community Member gfunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    at home
    Posts
    1,325

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tarrant View Post
    Hey, sorry about the problems you're having. This is definitely not a case of a stolen account or virus, so don't worry there!

    This issue should resolve itself, provided you don't keep switching between the servers. I recommend waiting a few minutes and trying to log into the server of choice again, and if that doesn't work waiting a few more minutes and attempting another time. All that's happening is a little delay between the time the servers think you log out and the time you actually do.
    The same happened to me, only it was between Thelanis and Sarlona. I was booted several times from Sarlona, including once while I was halfway through the new raid (I would estimate that I had been on Sarlona for at minimum half an hour as I had time to log in, kill a couple dragons in gianthold tor, then run to the new raid through the battle field and finish off the judge/jailer combo). Anyways, justa sayin that it may be more than a "few" minutes before the problem works itself out.

    As I play on more than 1 server, I consider it a bit of a problem.
    <Sarlona>Leafy 12th life TR, Ingvild 25 Fighter, Backk 25 Rogue, Hipyletus 25 Sorcerer, Reinheits 25 Cleric, Cratonic 18 Fighter/2 Monk, Archean 20 barbarian, Steamfunk 24 Arti <Quantum Entropy>
    <Khyber>Cilicis 15 Bard/1 Fighter<Eximius>

  13. #13
    Community Member Zenako's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    8,748

    Default

    hmmm was running into the "You got booted because you are logged into XXXXX" a number of time tonight. Figured it had to be some sort of name thing, since I was checking on all the servers for my Zenako named toons.

    It was annoying, but since I was only checking on the status of favor on the toons, it was not a big issue. I never got booted when I was checking a unique name.
    Sarlona - Stormreach Requisition Company (SRC):Jareko-Elf Ranger12Rogue8; Hennako-Human Cleric20; Rukio-Human Paladin18; Taellya-Halfling Rogue16; Zenako-Dwarf Fighter10Cleric1; Daniko-Drow Bard20; Kerriganko-Human Cleric18; Buket-WF Fighter6; Xenophilia-Human Wiz20; Zenakotwo-Dwarf Cleric16; Yadnomko-Halfling Ftr12; Gabiko-Human Bard15;more

  14. #14
    Community Member mac173's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, and NO JOKES.
    Posts
    2

    Default Bigger problem

    I got booted tonight being told I was logged into the server I was on LAST NIGHT. I was logged into Argonnesson, and was booted because I was logged onto Thelonis, which I logged onto last night and not since.

    I would think a full day would be enough to clear data, don't you think?

  15. #15
    Community Member Zenako's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    8,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mac173 View Post
    I got booted tonight being told I was logged into the server I was on LAST NIGHT. I was logged into Argonnesson, and was booted because I was logged onto Thelonis, which I logged onto last night and not since.

    I would think a full day would be enough to clear data, don't you think?
    A few MINUTES should be enough I would think...ouch!
    Sarlona - Stormreach Requisition Company (SRC):Jareko-Elf Ranger12Rogue8; Hennako-Human Cleric20; Rukio-Human Paladin18; Taellya-Halfling Rogue16; Zenako-Dwarf Fighter10Cleric1; Daniko-Drow Bard20; Kerriganko-Human Cleric18; Buket-WF Fighter6; Xenophilia-Human Wiz20; Zenakotwo-Dwarf Cleric16; Yadnomko-Halfling Ftr12; Gabiko-Human Bard15;more

  16. #16
    Community Member mac173's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, and NO JOKES.
    Posts
    2

    Default Cleared finally

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenako View Post
    A few MINUTES should be enough I would think...ouch!
    I logged back in about 10 min after I posted, and did not get the fault again. I will just be careful to log out before exiting the game from now on.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload