Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 84
  1. #1
    Quality Assurance Silthe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    163

    Default "The QA Lodge" is now "The House of Errors"!

    NOTE: The QA Lodge has a new home and a new name! Please visit my.ddo for the QA House of Errors!

    Welcome to the QA Lodge! This is the place to ask whether something is a bug or not when you're not entirely certain. It is also a place where you can ask about the status of a known bug and if/when it can be expected to get fixed. Remember, this is not the place to report bugs, you'll still need to continue reporting them through the bug reporting system in game.

    We ask that visitors to the Lodge please check the Known Issues list before entering the discussion.

    QA Lodge Links:
    Last edited by Tolero; 10-27-2009 at 10:57 AM.

  2. #2
    Quality Assurance Silthe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    163

    Default Q&A with QA

    Here we will cover common questions asked about QA in DDO. We will also cover common reports on "mistaken" bugs - things that are not bugs, but can easily be mistaken for bugs by people not that familiar with the game rules.

    (updated 1/20/09)


    Gameplay Issues

    Q: My Ranger has a Spot of 30+ but I still can't spot most traps. I know Spot is working since I notice secret doors fine. Why are Trap DC's so high that I can't find them?

    A: In our adaptation of the Pencil and Paper rules, we have expanded the Rogue's Trapfinding ability to affect Spot as well as Search. That means that you need to have Trapfinding in order to Spot traps with a DC higher than 20.

    Q: I've got an item that claims to give me damage reduction against slashing weapons, but my character sheet is telling me I have DR against piercing and bludgeoning instead. Why are Axeblock items broken?

    A: They're not, it's working fine. Here's the description of Damage Reduction paraphrased from the D&D Player's Handbook:

    "The number in a creature's damage reduction is the amount of hit points of damage the creature ignores. The information after the slash indicates the type of weapon that overcomes the damage reduction. Some damage reduction, such as that of a barbarian, is not overcome by any type of weapon."

    This means that a DR rating of 5/piercing, bludgeoning is telling you that you will ignore the first 5 points of damage from any physical attack except those delivered with a piercing or bludgeoning weapon. In other words, you are protected from the first five points of slashing damage.


    Q: I just completed a raid and my quest counter didn't increase. I'm almost to my 20th completion, but now the counter stopped working. Am I going to lose my reward for 20 completions?

    A: You've capped your experience points, haven't you? And you’re looking at your Experience Report, aren’t you? The part that says, “You repeated this quest # times,” right?

    Don’t.

    That counter only records the amount of times you’ve repeated a quest for purposes of calculating the XP penalty for that quest. If you’ve done the quest too many times, you start getting penalized. This also means that if you have capped your XP this number will no longer increase, so you don’t get penalized when you’re not actually getting any XP for completing the quest.

    Please use the '/quest completions' command in the chat bar. This will give you the actual times you’ve completed a raid so you know when you’re nearing the 20th mark.


    Q: I took the second level of Arcane Fluidity but my Arcane Spell Failure chance is still only reduced by 5%! Is the enhancement broken?

    A: The Enhancement is working correctly. The first level of Arcane Fluidity reduces the Arcane Spell Failure by 5% while wearing Light armor. You may have noticed that it has no effect on you while wearing Medium or Heavy armor. The second level of Arcane Fluidity reduces the ASF chance by 5% while wearing Light and Medium armor. This does not stack with the first enchancement, it just allows the 5% reduction to apply while wearing medium armor.

    Stacking rules are pretty complex in DDO and the variety of enhancements only complicates things. Please be sure to read each enhancement carefully before spending any Action Points on them.


    Q: I'm trying to level my character and the trainer won't let me select a Feat. I can't finish training without picking a Feat, but none of them work. What gives?

    A: This is mostly from Rangers trying to train 15th level, but is more understandable from 3rd level characters just multi-classing to a first level Ranger. The problem is that the trainer wants you to pick a Favored Enemy Feat, but the Favored Enemy list is collapsed so that you aren't noticing that those Feats are yellow. Click on the button to expand the Favored Enemy list and select one of those Feats to continue training.

    Q: Why am I not getting my full Dexterity bonus to Armor Class?

    A: Aside from standard game rules reasons (such as wearing Armor that limits your dex modifier) this is commonly a problem with your encumbrance. Dexterity bonus to AC is capped to 3 when carrying a medium load and 1 when carrying a heavy load. If your AC isn't adding up, check your encumbrance level.

    Q: My attack bonus is in the negatives, even though it should be +whatever due to my Base Attack Bonus, Feats, weapon, etc... What gives??

    A: Please make sure Defensive Fighting, Combat Expertise, or any other "Combat Mode" isn't activated as they provide a penalty to your attack bonus. Remember that these abilities can be turned on, even if you've dragged them off your hotbars. Remember to turn off abilities when you move them off your hotbars to avoid confusion.

    Q: I'm not getting favor for a quest I just completed. What gives?

    A: There are two possible causes for this. One is that you're too low a level for the quest to show up in your Adventure Compendium (the star on your menu bar in game). You generally can't see a quest that's more than 2 levels higher than you. Rest assured that the favor is being added, and you'll see it once you gain a few levels. The other possibility is that occasionally with certain quests the favor does not appear right after you complete the quest, even though it is being awarded correctly. You will likely have to log out and back in for any visual change to take place.

    Q: An Enhancement isn't available, even though I have all the prerequisites.

    A: Are you multi-classed with another class that gives the same enhancement? If you already have it from another class, you can't select it twice.


    Bug Reporting

    Q: How do I report a bug? Should I report it here on the forums?

    A: To report a bug, you'll need to use the help panel in game, and select the option "Report a Bug." Alternatively, you can click on the "Submit a Bug" link towards the top of this page to arrive at the same reporting tool. Be sure to fill out as many details as you can to help us understand the issue. Don't rely on the forums to report your bugs. Using the bug-reporting tool ensures that the bugs are brought to the attention of the QA department. For more information on how to report bugs, there is a very informative article available here.

    Q: How many bug reports should I send? Should I send a bug report each time the bug happens or just the first time?

    A: Once per issue is usually sufficient. The only times a second report would be useful is if you have discovered new information that could help us identify the precise problem, or after a release in which we claim to have fixed the problem. Clearly if we think we fixed it but it's still happening, we need to hear about it again.

    Q: How do I know if my bug has been received - do I get a response?

    A: When you submit a bug report, you'll receive a confirmation screen that your report went through. On rare occasions, you may be asked for more information, but only if you've provided a contact email address or some other means to reach you. This is only done if the bug you've submitted is extremely difficult for our QA department to reproduce, and we need more details to determine how it is occurring. If you're curious about the status of a bug you submitted, you can check the Known Issues list, the Release Notes, and even the QA Lodge for news and updates. Please keep in mind that not all bugs will be listed in these places, but that does not mean we have not received your bug report.

  3. #3
    Quality Assurance Silthe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    163

    Default Rules for Lodge Visitors

    We ask that visitors to the QA Lodge please adhere to the following Lodge rules:

    - DO post about actual bugs in the game, not design decisions.
    - DO post asking whether an issue is intended or is, in fact, a bug.
    - DO post about old issues that seem like they’ve been around forever. There’s no retirement age for issues that interrupt your play experience.

    - Do NOT say anything negative about another poster.
    - Do NOT use the QA Lodge as a substitute for reporting bugs in game! The reporting tool is still the best and most reliable way to get your issue looked at.
    - Do NOT try to argue about how something is implemented. If we say that it’s by design, you can discuss it in the rest of the developer discussion forum, in a constructive manner.
    - Do NOT demand responses to your posts. Don’t be surprised if a few days go by between official posts as QA has lots of other things that need to get done before spending time on the forums.

    Thank you for your cooperation, and enjoy your stay!

  4. #4
    Quality Assurance Silthe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    163

    Default

    Restarting the Lodge here to clear up some quirkiness the forum makeover created.

    And to prove I'm not on Moderation anymore, it's Renee.


    ~Silthe

  5. #5
    Community Member Mhykke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5,537

    Default

    Sweet, first!

    Any progress on fixing Warforged brute fighting to work with rage?
    Mhykke(Pldn):Mhykkelle(Srcr):Mykkelle(Rngr):Mhykael(Clrc):Mykke(Brbrn):Mhykel(Ftr):
    Mhykelle(Wzrd):Mhyke(Brd):Mykkael(Rgr/Rog/Barb):Mykkel(Rog):Mhykkaelsan(Mnk):Mhykkael(FVS):Mhykkel(Brd):Markas(Ret.Srcr)

  6. #6
    WikiGnome
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Québec City, Canada
    Posts
    24,864

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Silthe View Post
    And to prove I'm not on Moderation anymore, it's Renee.
    LOL, well good to know.
    DDOwiki.com, #1 source for DDO information.

  7. #7
    Community Member Arkat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    6,247

    Default

    Renee?

  8. #8
    Hero
    Knight of Movember
    2014 DDO Players Council
    Hafeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    at a keyboard
    Posts
    5,566

    Default

    Slithe -

    Welcome to your new spot. May Renee keep you here.

    I have had recent trouble on Korthos island (bug reported in game) where I was unable to recall. Recall would dial up and finish, go to loading screen, and then close without transporting and I would still be in the island instance. I then would walk to the gate and try to enter the town that way and the game would crash and my computer re-booted. Never seen anything like it.

    Happened multiple occasions, different days.

    Upon re-loading, my character would be wrecked on the island being asked if I wanted to take the tutorial or not. Gave a 1,000 xp each time too.

    I did not see this is as a known issue.
    Gamma Tester, Dungeons & Dragons Online
    Beta Tester, DDO: Eberron Unlimited
    Alpha Tester, DDO: Stormreach

  9. #9
    The Top Side GoldyGopher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesnowta
    Posts
    1,771

    Default

    Is there a location we can look to find a list of known Bugs and other issues.

    What I am looking for is things like reported ladders connection spots, stuck spots, traps you can't find the trap boxes, things that aren't stacking properly?

    The Twilight Avengers are always recruiting - http://twilightavengersofeberron.yuku.com/topic/655

  10. #10
    Quality Assurance Silthe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    163

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hafeal View Post
    Slithe -

    Welcome to your new spot. May Renee keep you here.

    I have had recent trouble on Korthos island (bug reported in game) where I was unable to recall. Recall would dial up and finish, go to loading screen, and then close without transporting and I would still be in the island instance. I then would walk to the gate and try to enter the town that way and the game would crash and my computer re-booted. Never seen anything like it.

    Happened multiple occasions, different days.

    Upon re-loading, my character would be wrecked on the island being asked if I wanted to take the tutorial or not. Gave a 1,000 xp each time too.

    I did not see this is as a known issue.
    Yes, we do know about it. Working to get it fixed in Mod 9.


    ~Silthe

  11. #11
    Founder Osharan_Tregarth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    fresno, ca
    Posts
    4,651

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkat View Post
    Renee?
    Tolero's middle name....
    Osharan, Esharan, Osharina, Usharina, etc... I'm the 'sharans. Epoxy. Notverysexy.
    I've taken the craft disturbing mental image feat... You have been warned!
    Share and Enjoy!

  12. #12

    Default Redemption

    Any chance this is a bug?



    Barrier in Redemtion Korthos
    Arcade~Arkades~Lakedaemon~Viktarion~Meraxes~Af~Ark ade~Barakade~Darkpadawan

  13. #13
    Developer Phax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    377

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hafeal View Post
    I have had recent trouble on Korthos island (bug reported in game) where I was unable to recall. Recall would dial up and finish, go to loading screen, and then close without transporting and I would still be in the island instance. I then would walk to the gate and try to enter the town that way and the game would crash and my computer re-booted. Never seen anything like it.
    This bug has been fixed in M9. I've never heard of the crashing issue associated with it before, however.

  14. #14
    The Front Side Gratch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunnyvale, Cactus Area
    Posts
    2,874

    Default

    Do we have a general hireling feedback thread? Or just use the Dec - Tell the Team thread?

    As to a bug question... In Mod-9 can you hit Alt-Z, M, mouse-look rotate and have your on screen map cartwheel around for you?
    Quote Originally Posted by Cordovan View Post
    DO NOT DO THIS. We are investigating.

  15. #15
    Community Member iamsamoth0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,193

    Thumbs up Sorry off topic ;)

    Wonderful new thread. I will soon resubmit the placement issues for the arch in Phoenix Tavern, the one at the front, it's floating off the lip of the floor slab. And that the bar across the pit floats a touch.
    I've PM'd about the collision box out by the Market(Ex-tent) Fountain, right behind it. Too the right of the Rogue trainer. It trips you up running through that little slip.
    And a funny one I did not see for more than a year, the first stair(on the floor)of the bank is missing it's rise(texture) the whole flight floats. And I never saw it until 3-4 weeks ago. ))! I normally have a radar for that junk...!
    I posted them as Puddle on Thelanis at one point last year after bumping into Keeper on CA.
    All of I can think of right yet.

    Cheers!
    The Truth~ +5 Transmuting Utterance of Puncturing .
    BarrelBane Crateslayers~Shamrocks.
    of Spew(Argo, Thelanis, Cannith);Chunkss[Argo]

  16. #16
    Uber Completionist Lithic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    7,959

    Default

    Are the collection quests being looked at in the shroud? I'm talking about the 4 quests you get in meridia once you've done the shroud at least once. They each ask you to return 100 items, 2 of which do not drop in the shroud, the other 2 only advance your quests if you are the one who got the kill, which means an average person can only complete these every 9 years or so.

    In addition, any chance we could get norm-elite unlocked for the solo-only quests? None of them have exp worth farming, nor items, and it looks ugly on our favor log when you sort by completion, as solo shows up between none and normal. Also, thwarting the threat is showing up in favor logs, even though you cannot get this quest anymore.
    Star Firefall
    20 Rogue Assasin
    Currently on life 42 of 42 (Final Life!)

  17. #17
    Hero
    Knight of Movember
    2014 DDO Players Council
    Hafeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    at a keyboard
    Posts
    5,566

    Default

    Thank you both. Yeah, the crashing issue was very ... strange. I don't have the issue with any other app and I have never had some of the "load" issues players complain of here on the boards. Perhaps my cpu is allergic to Korthos?

    Quote Originally Posted by Silthe View Post
    Yes, we do know about it. Working to get it fixed in Mod 9.


    ~Silthe
    Quote Originally Posted by Phax View Post
    This bug has been fixed in M9. I've never heard of the crashing issue associated with it before, however.
    Gamma Tester, Dungeons & Dragons Online
    Beta Tester, DDO: Eberron Unlimited
    Alpha Tester, DDO: Stormreach

  18. #18
    Community Member Magnyr_Delorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Manvel, TX
    Posts
    831

    Default

    Q: Why am I not getting my full Dexterity bonus to Armor Class?

    A: Aside from standard game rules reasons (such as wearing Armor that limits your dex modifier) this is commonly a problem with your encumbrance. Dexterity bonus to AC is capped to 3 when carrying a medium load and 1 when carrying a heavy load. If your AC isn't adding up, check your encumbrance level.

    Any chance we can get a icon on our screen to tell us we are moderately encumbered? This makes a huge difference in AC on a rogue or monk and there are no icons until you become heavily encumbered.

  19. #19
    Community Member Akhad_Durn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    r1 lx512 ly1556 i2 ox15.87 oy94.76 oz208.30 h147.7
    Posts
    270

    Default Toolbar locking: locked behavior doesn't work as I'd expect.

    This is really a repost of the same thing I've been asking for a while. I haven't seen response to this as yet, thought its possible I could have missed it.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Been seeing this for a while, have reported it a few time, but haven't seen any comment on it. I think this bug has been around since I started playing (March 2006). Please fix this, since it has persisted for so long, it has become my number one annoyance with the UI.

    Issue:
    The 'lock toolbars' under the UI options menu doesn't work as I'd expect it should.
    Details:
    When enabled, toolbars should be totally locked, meaning that all the items in the toolbar are locked into their spots, and the toolbar is locked to a fixed screen location.

    There are a couple different ways that this seems to be a bug.
    1) Toolbars can be moved when the option is enabled. One edge of the toolbar remains selectable to drag the tool bar around. On horizontal bars this is the bottom edge. On vertical bars this in the right edge (I believe).
    2) Items in the toolbars can be moved once. If the item has been moved (mouse dragged) it becomes locked after it has been released. This is at the items origin and destination locations. These now locked locations seem to persist across multiple log-outs and log-ins and changing characters. Reloading the client resets these locked locations to unlocked.
    Wishful thinking:
    Allow locking the entirety of the UI, so that nothing can be moved around.

    Asked:
    12-19-2007, 12:34 PM
    07-03-2008, 12:36 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Lewis Carroll
    One, two! One, two! and through and through. The vorpal blade went snicker-snack! He left it dead, and with its head He went galumphing back.

  20. #20
    Community Member VonBek's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Loafing in slackville
    Posts
    1,725

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Akhad Durn View Post
    There are a couple different ways that this seems to be a bug.
    1) Toolbars can be moved when the option is enabled. One edge of the toolbar remains selectable to drag the tool bar around. On horizontal bars this is the bottom edge. On vertical bars this in the right edge (I believe).
    2) Items in the toolbars can be moved once. If the item has been moved (mouse dragged) it becomes locked after it has been released. This is at the items origin and destination locations. These now locked locations seem to persist across multiple log-outs and log-ins and changing characters. Reloading the client resets these locked locations to unlocked.[/INDENT]
    I thought I read a response to part one, sometime in the past. This is a design feature, rather than a bug. Good or bad design, but not a bug?
    So, I hear that one day we may get Familiars...
    ....I want a Velociraptor!

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload