Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: mic not working

  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,127

    Default mic not working

    Hey guys,

    I bought two new comps recently and on both of them I have difficulty getting the mic to work IN DDO (vent is fine). My name will highlight when i press my hotkey, but no sound is forthcoming.

    1) Computer one:

    EDIT: Obviously I am doing something really stupid. Even in windows if I blow/speak into my microphone, it will come out on my separate speakers... very weird... is something wired wrong?
    - I cannot get to work at all (mic).
    - I tried changing the user preferences as mentioned in another topic.
    - Under input device in the in-game audio options it gives me the options of either 'Real-tec HD Audio Input' or 'Modem #1 Line Recored (emulated), it won't allow me to choose the second option.
    - Sound playback is currently set to hardware, but have tried on both hardware and software.
    - In another thread it said to try and turn off digital sound, but I don't know how.

    2) Computer wo:

    - very similar to the above, but after a lot of other fiddling (which may have had an efect, who knows...) I was able to change the 'input device' from 'Real-tac HD Audio Input' to a microphone brand that was listed, which then worked.
    EDIT: after more fiddling I discovered that to get a microphone to work on this machine - I have to connect the microphone, at this point it doesn't seem to register with DDO. So, I have to log out. After logging back in, I have to set the sound playback option to hardware, then the microphone option is available in you choose your input device (it isn't available without logging in and out).


    I hope my jibberish isn't too confusing.

    Any ideas on what I can do?

    I will provide any info I can.

    Thank you very much,

    Udine
    Last edited by BoBoDaClown; 07-21-2008 at 05:49 AM.

  2. #2
    Founder Shaamis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    3,523

    Default

    not sure if this is the same issue but my computer on windows vista, using realtek audio drivers is incompatible with vista's new audio architecture. All audio works fine except when i try to speak through the mic. it comes out as a whisper, even with all of the settings maxxed out on ddo and windows.

    If you are running vista and using realtek this is your problem, otherwise I'm not sure.
    Shaamis is REBORN!

    Stronger!Faster! DRUNKER THAN EVER!!!

  3. #3

    Default

    Some on-board audio chips seem to not like DDO, and some even play your input back out of your microphone on headsets.

    My advice is to purchase a sound card for each computer, and get away from the on-board audio.
    [Founder/Leader of the Bloodlords of Argonnesen]
    [DaveyKhealerAcapellaBaphometGodithGearey Gygax]

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtmouse3 View Post
    not sure if this is the same issue but my computer on windows vista, using realtek audio drivers is incompatible with vista's new audio architecture. All audio works fine except when i try to speak through the mic. it comes out as a whisper, even with all of the settings maxxed out on ddo and windows.

    If you are running vista and using realtek this is your problem, otherwise I'm not sure.
    Thanks for the idea, but I have the second computer (vista) working.

    Computer one is XP.

    Cheers tho

  5. #5
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveyCrockett View Post
    Some on-board audio chips seem to not like DDO, and some even play your input back out of your microphone on headsets.

    My advice is to purchase a sound card for each computer, and get away from the on-board audio.

    Sounds like what I may have to do. Thanks for taking the time to answer.

  6. #6
    Founder Shaamis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    3,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BoBoDaClown View Post
    Thanks for the idea, but I have the second computer (vista) working.

    Computer one is XP.

    Cheers tho
    If your second computer is using Vista, and Realtek together, and people in DDO chat can hear you fine, let me know what drivers you have. I got most recent Realtek drivers from the recommended website (dont have version # on me) but I google'ed the issue and found it was a known incompatibility, and Realtek has not fixed it yet. That's all.
    Shaamis is REBORN!

    Stronger!Faster! DRUNKER THAN EVER!!!

  7. #7
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtmouse3 View Post
    If your second computer is using Vista, and Realtek together, and people in DDO chat can hear you fine, let me know what drivers you have. I got most recent Realtek drivers from the recommended website (dont have version # on me) but I google'ed the issue and found it was a known incompatibility, and Realtek has not fixed it yet. That's all.

    Ok, I'll try and get that info for you - not too sure how to find a driver number, but I am sure I can work it out.

    Remember though - I had to do a convoluted method of getting them to work. I had to plug in the microphone while the game was running, I then tried to get it to work by changing one option from 'software to hardware', and then the input device from 'real-tec' to one that looked like my microphone.

    At this point my talk wasn't being heard. So I closed the game down, and rebooted. Then did the same process as above, i.e. setting 'software' option, and 'input to microphone' option.

    It now works, so I don't take the microphone out, because I know if I do, I'll have to redo that process again.

    I'll get back to you tomorrow with driver number.

  8. #8
    Community Member Arganosh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Rock Hill, SC
    Posts
    87

    Default

    a good question is is it a USB headset or does it have the 2 plugs for headset and mic?
    Xantos-Rogue-Emwonn-Fighter-Balmagrath-Ranger-Bowden-Wizard-Stonefingers-Monk

  9. #9
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arganosh View Post
    a good question is is it a USB headset or does it have the 2 plugs for headset and mic?
    I have 2 mics - both of them use the coloured ports rather than USB. One is a combined headset - this one is the only one that works at all (with computer two). The other is a stand alone mic, i cannot get that to work on either computer.

    Do you think USB would have better chance of workin?

    Cheers

  10. #10
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtmouse3 View Post
    If your second computer is using Vista, and Realtek together, and people in DDO chat can hear you fine, let me know what drivers you have. I got most recent Realtek drivers from the recommended website (dont have version # on me) but I google'ed the issue and found it was a known incompatibility, and Realtek has not fixed it yet. That's all.
    Hey man,

    This computer was built for me, so I am not sure how to identify the driver.

    Could you tell me how to find the driver version, or show me what the number/name would look like?

    Then hopefully I could reply with some useful info

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload