Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 258
  1. #61
    Community Member Zenako's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    8,751

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Strakeln View Post
    Weren't directed at me, but I can answer:

    1) CSW wands and scrolls are on different timers. You can heal faster doing wand/scroll/wand/wand/scroll/wand/wand/scroll (etc) than just wand-wand-wand.
    2) At least on my cleric, I don't use lesser restore. Mass or greater, no lesser. On other chars, I just carry potions, they can be used on others if necessary (after some chiding, of course).
    3) The trinket is the fastest way to move about town. Faster than haste, faster than striding. Some people (like myself) don't even bother with striding items (no open slots anyways) and just drink haste pots every 30 seconds if there are no casters.
    1 - ok, OP explained why, I just bang between HEAL scrolls and Wands if needed..
    2 - agreed, dropped Lesser from my list and hot bar. Still pack normal restore thou for general purpose questing.
    3 - I thought is was the same as haste but a but slower than striders...not that it really matters that much. (some of my characters never pulled a Bat, so they often end up packing FF boots, which they swap off with Striders when not hasted.)
    Sarlona - Stormreach Requisition Company (SRC):Jareko-Elf Ranger12Rogue8; Hennako-Human Cleric20; Rukio-Human Paladin18; Taellya-Halfling Rogue16; Zenako-Dwarf Fighter10Cleric1; Daniko-Drow Bard20; Kerriganko-Human Cleric18; Buket-WF Fighter6; Xenophilia-Human Wiz20; Zenakotwo-Dwarf Cleric16; Yadnomko-Halfling Ftr12; Gabiko-Human Bard15;more

  2. #62
    Community Member Zenako's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    8,751

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by miceelf88 View Post
    I was simply wondering if there was a way to make the bars take up a smaller portion of the screen. Please forget I said anything about being a better player, as it appears tongue in cheek doesn't translate on the forums.

    And, I'm sorry, if people are able to put horizontal bars side by side AND have room for a chat window as well, then it's not simply a browser display issue. If I eliminate chat window, I still can't get two bars side by side on my screen without overlap. And I have my resolution set as high as the options available to me allow.

    I suspect that monitor size is a big part of the issue, inferring indirectly from what has been said. (i have a 13 inch monitor). Can someone confirm?
    your monitor size is the real source of the issue...

    sorry about the tangent on golf and those things... just I have seen many players in computer games and real life games equate gear with practice and skill... and it don't work out that way. Had a real good friend back in the Starcraft days. He was all excited about his new computer and how it would help him. The zerg still overran his Terran bases....
    Sarlona - Stormreach Requisition Company (SRC):Jareko-Elf Ranger12Rogue8; Hennako-Human Cleric20; Rukio-Human Paladin18; Taellya-Halfling Rogue16; Zenako-Dwarf Fighter10Cleric1; Daniko-Drow Bard20; Kerriganko-Human Cleric18; Buket-WF Fighter6; Xenophilia-Human Wiz20; Zenakotwo-Dwarf Cleric16; Yadnomko-Halfling Ftr12; Gabiko-Human Bard15;more

  3. #63
    Community Member miceelf88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    641

    Default zenako

    no worries, and thanks. :-)

  4. #64
    Hall of Famer & Hero DoctorWhofan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Honolulu, HI
    Posts
    10,894

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Strakeln View Post
    Everyone's icons are almost the same size. What you are seeing is your browser resizing images for you.

    Click on the link I provided (1st page I think), then zoom in on your browser. The icons will be the size you are used to but you will only be able to see 1/4-1/3 of the screen.
    No, you have hugmogus screen.


    FYI, I am to my highest screen value, Can't get any smaller. So need to go to the next size up OR on with better resolution, right?

    NEED

    MORE

    BARS!


    I find it funny that I am looking most people's behinds, too!!! Then again, alot are wearing that butt-ugly Minos Legen helmet. I am too, but I /showhelmet off
    +The Goddess of Tempest's Spine+Merc's Only, THELANIS: List is here: http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php...94#post2798094 LEGIONNAIRE /Salute to Rameses, He has RETURNED!

  5. #65
    Community Member Jay203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,122

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DoctorWhofan View Post
    No, you have hugmogus screen.


    FYI, I am to my highest screen value, Can't get any smaller. So need to go to the next size up OR on with better resolution, right?

    NEED

    MORE

    BARS!
    Sneaker Bars? =)

  6. #66
    Hall of Famer & Hero DoctorWhofan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Honolulu, HI
    Posts
    10,894

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay203 View Post
    Sneaker Bars? =)
    Lol!!

    It would be Hershey's For s'mores!!!

    Got Hijacking!!

    Want more pix!!
    +The Goddess of Tempest's Spine+Merc's Only, THELANIS: List is here: http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php...94#post2798094 LEGIONNAIRE /Salute to Rameses, He has RETURNED!

  7. #67
    Community Member Jay203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,122

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DoctorWhofan View Post
    Lol!!

    It would be Hershey's For s'mores!!!

    Got Hijacking!!

    Want more pix!!

    I retrack my comment, because I think what's more appropriate to this current season and temperature...
    NEED...
    MORE....
    KLONDIKE BARS!!!!!!!!

  8. #68
    Community Member Theboz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Elgin, IL
    Posts
    2,836

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by miceelf88 View Post
    no worries, and thanks. :-)
    you are definately playing in 800x600 resolution, thats why you cant put two hot bars side to side

    Example of 800x600 screeen size and DDO





    Example of 1024x768, the next size up from what you have





    Now if you have a laptop and you are able to change to a higher resolutuion that will solve your problem, if you are using a 13 crt then the only way you will get it any better would be to get a 15 or 17 inch or bigger
    Member of Mythical

  9. #69
    Community Member Anastasios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Nice thread, cool things to look at, this is my setup-sucks sometimes but it gets me by


  10. #70
    Community Member Jay203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,122

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Anastasios View Post
    Nice thread, cool things to look at, this is my setup-sucks sometimes but it gets me by

    I never cease to be amazed by how many bars people use =)
    only like 4~5 of my bars has stuff on them, the rests are empty xD
    yes yes, i'm awsome >_>

  11. #71
    Hall of Famer & Hero DoctorWhofan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Honolulu, HI
    Posts
    10,894

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Anastasios View Post
    Nice thread, cool things to look at, this is my setup-sucks sometimes but it gets me by

    uhm...do you have any space in you backpack? Looks like you have every weapon known to Stormreach! And I thought my cleric had alot of wands...
    +The Goddess of Tempest's Spine+Merc's Only, THELANIS: List is here: http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php...94#post2798094 LEGIONNAIRE /Salute to Rameses, He has RETURNED!

  12. #72
    Community Member theANTItommy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    122

    Default

    to anyone who thinks they dont have enough bar space... i play on a laptop with a 17" screen (i know, it's like playing on a gameboy) and in between my chat window and my focus orb, i have room for one bar horizontally, with just enough to spare for one vertically to the right of my focus orb. it's pretty rough but until my tv gets replaced (been a month since it broke, only had it for 6 months and RCA STILL hasn't contacted me about my replacement....but i digress) until my tv gets replaced thats what i'm stuck with =/

    so yeah, enjoy your space, for one day you might not have it anymore
    Last edited by theANTItommy; 07-14-2008 at 01:05 PM. Reason: b/c rouch isn't a word

  13. #73
    Community Member Anastasios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DoctorWhofan View Post
    uhm...do you have any space in you backpack? Looks like you have every weapon known to Stormreach! And I thought my cleric had alot of wands...
    ha, I carry everything from greater banes to damagers, although I phased out about 5 since I made a new toy, more to phase out though, figure about 10-20. I still have about 15 slots in the BP, just sell and repair after every quest, I get by, the rest are there just in case coz I hate running to and fro.
    Last edited by Anastasios; 07-14-2008 at 01:09 PM.

  14. #74
    Community Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    10,284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenako View Post
    1 - ok, OP explained why, I just bang between HEAL scrolls and Wands if needed.
    Yep, unless you can't use heal scrolls (I didn't look at the screenie we're talking about, not sure if that character can or not)

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenako View Post
    3 - I thought is was the same as haste but a but slower than striders...not that it really matters that much. (some of my characters never pulled a Bat, so they often end up packing FF boots, which they swap off with Striders when not hasted.)
    The House P trinket is 5% faster than haste. Can test using a friend with a build that doesn't have an innate speed boost (barbarian, monk).

  15. #75
    Community Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    10,284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DoctorWhofan View Post
    No, you have hugmogus screen.
    I must not be explaining this well. The person I was responding to didn't get it either. I'll try a little more in-depth:

    Icons and hotbars are the same size for everyone so long as you are running at your screen's native resolution. What this means is that so long as you are running at your screen's native resolution, the actual "physical" size of the hotbars/icons (in inches, as measured by you on your screen) is exactly the same as the hotbars and icons on my screen. However, I have a ton more space on my screen to fit those identically sized hotbars/icons.

    Since the "screen space to physical hotbar size" ratio is much bigger for my setup, the icons will look smaller for you in an un-zoomed state. If you zoom to the full size view of the image I posted, the icons/hotbars should appear to be the same physical size as the icons/hotbars you are used to.

    If you or miceelf88 are playing the game at a non-native resolution, your icons/hotbars will be physically bigger. If you are playing at your monitor's native resolution (not sure why you wouldn't be unless you play in windowed mode), then the icons/hotbars will be the same size.

  16. #76
    Community Member Theboz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Elgin, IL
    Posts
    2,836

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Strakeln View Post
    I must not be explaining this well. The person I was responding to didn't get it either. I'll try a little more in-depth:

    Icons and hotbars are the same size for everyone so long as you are running at your screen's native resolution. What this means is that so long as you are running at your screen's native resolution, the actual "physical" size of the hotbars/icons (in inches, as measured by you on your screen) is exactly the same as the hotbars and icons on my screen. However, I have a ton more space on my screen to fit those identically sized hotbars/icons.

    Since the "screen space to physical hotbar size" ratio is much bigger for my setup, the icons will look smaller for you in an un-zoomed state. If you zoom to the full size view of the image I posted, the icons/hotbars should appear to be the same physical size as the icons/hotbars you are used to.

    If you or miceelf88 are playing the game at a non-native resolution, your icons/hotbars will be physically bigger. If you are playing at your monitor's native resolution (not sure why you wouldn't be unless you play in windowed mode), then the icons/hotbars will be the same size.

    yep, Thats what im thinking to as they are not playing at their correct resolution of ther monitor.
    Member of Mythical

  17. #77
    Community Member miceelf88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    641

    Default Theboz and Strakelin

    When I pull up the resolution screen on my options in DDO, i have two options: 960X--- and 1240X--- (I don't remember the exact numbers, but that's roughly it). I select the larger of the two options (I tried selecting the 960 thing and that was far worse). So, I am not sure what you mean about not using my monitor's native resolution. I am using the highest resolution available to me. Someone earlier said that the size of the bars is a constant, so that as resolution increases, the proportion of space taken up by the bars goes down. That seems to be what Strakelin is saying now.

    I may not have been clear. When I expressed concern about the size of my bar icons, I was really concerned about the RELATIVE size of them, compared with everything else. I wondered if this was because of the small size of my monitor, and if getting a bigger monitor would make my bars RELATIVELY (not absolutely) smaller. A couple of people suggested this to be the case, and what you say seems to be agreeing with them.

    Where Strakelin and I disconnected was that he seemed to think I wanted to know how to make my bars actually smaller and thought I was misinterpreting the screen shots, which made the bars look smaller. I understood what he was suggesting, but that wasn't my problem, because I was focused on making them *smaller relative to everything else*, not making them actually smaller. I understood how screenshots worked. I was focused on the proportion of space the bars took. I can see how the way I phrased it was unclear. But the goal was not to shrink the bars, but to make them take up a smaller proportion of the space. Strakelin, if I understand you and others corretly, a bigger monitor would make that happen.

    Sorry for the confusion.

  18. #78
    Community Member krud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The Old Dominion
    Posts
    3,839

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theANTItommy View Post
    to anyone who thinks they dont have enough bar space... i play on a laptop with a 17" screen (i know, it's like playing on a gameboy) and in between my chat window and my focus orb, i have room for one bar horizontally, with just enough to spare for one vertically to the right of my focus orb. it's pretty rough but until my tv gets replaced (been a month since it broke, only had it for 6 months and RCA STILL hasn't contacted me about my replacement....but i digress) until my tv gets replaced thats what i'm stuck with =/

    so yeah, enjoy your space, for one day you might not have it anymore
    I play on a 17" desktop monitor (not widescreen). I seem to have plenty of space. What resolution are you running? Mine was set at 1152x864 for the longest time (same setting as my windows desktop). I seemed to have just enough room, but when I bumped the game resolution to 1280x960 my screen suddenly appeared spacious. So far I haven't run into any more graphical lag than I had with the lower resolution. If it is possible to set your resolution higher you will find you have plenty of room on a 17" monitor.

    here's how my screen looks at 1280x960.
    Ghallanda: Neatoelf15wiz/1rgr, Neetoelf17wiz, NeatoManhuman13rog/6pal/1mnk, NeatoHombrehuman12ftr/6pal/2rog, Kneetoedwarf17clr, Kneedoughdrow18clr/2mnk

    Minimize expectations and you'll never be disappointed

  19. #79
    Hall of Famer & Hero DoctorWhofan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Honolulu, HI
    Posts
    10,894

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by miceelf88 View Post
    When I pull up the resolution screen on my options in DDO, i have two options: 960X--- and 1240X--- (I don't remember the exact numbers, but that's roughly it). I select the larger of the two options (I tried selecting the 960 thing and that was far worse). So, I am not sure what you mean about not using my monitor's native resolution. I am using the highest resolution available to me. Someone earlier said that the size of the bars is a constant, so that as resolution increases, the proportion of space taken up by the bars goes down. That seems to be what Strakelin is saying now.

    I may not have been clear. When I expressed concern about the size of my bar icons, I was really concerned about the RELATIVE size of them, compared with everything else. I wondered if this was because of the small size of my monitor, and if getting a bigger monitor would make my bars RELATIVELY (not absolutely) smaller. A couple of people suggested this to be the case, and what you say seems to be agreeing with them.

    Where Strakelin and I disconnected was that he seemed to think I wanted to know how to make my bars actually smaller and thought I was misinterpreting the screen shots, which made the bars look smaller. I understood what he was suggesting, but that wasn't my problem, because I was focused on making them *smaller relative to everything else*, not making them actually smaller. I understood how screenshots worked. I was focused on the proportion of space the bars took. I can see how the way I phrased it was unclear. But the goal was not to shrink the bars, but to make them take up a smaller proportion of the space. Strakelin, if I understand you and others corretly, a bigger monitor would make that happen.

    Sorry for the confusion.
    like wise, except I have three choices none change the size of my bars. However, on my old broke moniter, before it broke, my screen could fit 4 bars accross, instead of three. Both were widescreen. The old one was 21 inch. I'm on a 19 inch. Hence the confusion.
    Last edited by DoctorWhofan; 07-14-2008 at 03:00 PM.
    +The Goddess of Tempest's Spine+Merc's Only, THELANIS: List is here: http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php...94#post2798094 LEGIONNAIRE /Salute to Rameses, He has RETURNED!

  20. #80
    Community Member Theboz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Elgin, IL
    Posts
    2,836

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by miceelf88 View Post
    When I pull up the resolution screen on my options in DDO, i have two options: 960X--- and 1240X--- (I don't remember the exact numbers, but that's roughly it). I select the larger of the two options (I tried selecting the 960 thing and that was far worse). So, I am not sure what you mean about not using my monitor's native resolution. I am using the highest resolution available to me. Someone earlier said that the size of the bars is a constant, so that as resolution increases, the proportion of space taken up by the bars goes down. That seems to be what Strakelin is saying now.

    I may not have been clear. When I expressed concern about the size of my bar icons, I was really concerned about the RELATIVE size of them, compared with everything else. I wondered if this was because of the small size of my monitor, and if getting a bigger monitor would make my bars RELATIVELY (not absolutely) smaller. A couple of people suggested this to be the case, and what you say seems to be agreeing with them.

    Where Strakelin and I disconnected was that he seemed to think I wanted to know how to make my bars actually smaller and thought I was misinterpreting the screen shots, which made the bars look smaller. I understood what he was suggesting, but that wasn't my problem, because I was focused on making them *smaller relative to everything else*, not making them actually smaller. I understood how screenshots worked. I was focused on the proportion of space the bars took. I can see how the way I phrased it was unclear. But the goal was not to shrink the bars, but to make them take up a smaller proportion of the space. Strakelin, if I understand you and others corretly, a bigger monitor would make that happen.

    Sorry for the confusion.


    What he was basically saying if you have your monitor at the correct resolution then the game and the hot bars will be at the correct portions that you ae looking for. Since your bars are taking up more screen real estate then they should, then you are not playing at the correct resolution your monitor native resolution or optimal resolution.
    Member of Mythical

Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload