Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Community Member OldTobey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default launcher error - help!

    Hello - I am new to DDO - I installed the game, sat through the updates and
    created an account. I have Win XP SP2 - I already set the two launcher progs
    and two ddo progs to exception status in the firewall. I have run a trace to
    the ddo servers with no asterisks in the data. This is the error I get:

    https://gls.ddo.com/GLS.AuthServer/Service.asmx": The underlying connection was closed: Unable
    to connect to the remote server.

    I only have the XP SP2 Win firewall and Norton's Antivirus active - tried rerunning
    the launcher with only Norton's on / only Firewall on / neither on - same error
    each time.

    My next step will be to create port exceptions for the game ports - beyond this
    I have no idea what could be blocking the connection. I get the error after it checks the
    current version status etc and asks for my username/pw - no matter what I enter
    in these fields as soon as I hit the log in button it tries/fails retries 5x then gives the
    error message.

    I am using MSN 9 and have set the acceleration feature to normal (off)

    Anyone have any ideas? thank you

  2. #2
    Customer Service Representative
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,193

    Default

    You may want to try doing a clean boot just to eliminate the possibilities of any programs interfering with the game launching. Then if it does connect you can start eliminating programs one by one. If it still does not connect may want to try bypassing any network/router and connect directly to the modem.

  3. #3
    Community Member OldTobey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Hey thanks for the reply - I have tried rebooting with only my os running - no extra progs
    but it was the same result - I should mention I do not use a router or lan - I have a
    56k modem

  4. #4
    Customer Service Representative
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,193

    Default

    Did you use msconfig? or did you just turn stuff off?

  5. #5
    Community Member OldTobey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default

    yes I altered my startup and turned off all other non-essentials

    I just tried adding TCP port 80 / UDP ports 9000-9010 & 2900-2910
    as firewall exceptions but the same error occurs

    I've seen mentioned elsewhere if a trace shows no connection problems
    it may be an Account issue - this is a brand new account but what would
    the issue be?

  6. #6
    Customer Service Representative
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,193

    Default

    Unable to connect to the update servers would not be an account issue (you don't even have to have an account to update the game.) Can you post the results of a tracert to gls.ddo.com?

  7. #7
    Community Member OldTobey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default

    surely -


    C:\>Tracert gls.ddo.com

    Tracing route to gls.ddo.com [206.16.13.87]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 284 ms 275 ms 262 ms nas34.SanFrancisco1.Level3.net [209.247.23.132]

    2 259 ms 262 ms 262 ms ge-7-0-2.core2.SanFrancisco1.Level3.net [63.215.
    13.3]
    3 258 ms 262 ms 262 ms so-4-0-0.mp2.SanFrancisco1.Level3.net [209.247.1
    0.233]
    4 258 ms 262 ms 262 ms ae-0-0.bbr1.SanJose1.Level3.net [64.159.1.129]
    5 441 ms 301 ms 288 ms ae-43-99.car3.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.68.18.197]

    6 322 ms 354 ms 590 ms level3-gw.sffca.ip.att.net [192.205.33.77]
    7 469 ms 367 ms 354 ms tbr2.sffca.ip.att.net [12.122.82.150]
    8 363 ms 354 ms 367 ms cr1.sffca.ip.att.net [12.122.19.89]
    9 350 ms 367 ms 734 ms cr1.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.4.122]
    10 362 ms 354 ms 366 ms tbr2.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.17.202]
    11 348 ms 367 ms 367 ms tbr2.cb1ma.ip.att.net [12.122.10.105]
    12 547 ms 341 ms 353 ms 12.127.5.97
    13 337 ms 340 ms 341 ms 12-122-254-14.attens.net [12.122.254.14]
    14 338 ms 341 ms 341 ms mdf001c7613r0003-gig-10-1.bos1.attens.net [12.13
    0.0.170]
    15 338 ms 341 ms 341 ms 12.130.10.69
    16 338 ms 341 ms 341 ms 206.16.13.87

    Trace complete.

  8. #8
    Community Member OldTobey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default

    in further attempts to solve this I noticed I did not have a
    Turbine/Dungeons and Dragons Online/Launcher folders in
    my files - when in the install/update should it create this?
    Again - any help is much appreciated!

  9. #9
    Community Member Nahrga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1

    Smile

    Goto C:\Programs\Turbine\DDO Unlimited and run TurbineRegisterGDF.exe

    Hope this works ^^

  10. #10

    Default

    Erm, downloaded game, installed it and I am having this same issue. Tried all in this thread, when I try the Goto C:\Programs\Turbine\DDO Unlimited and run TurbineRegisterGDF.exe it just blinks at me and does nothing.

  11. #11
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Different error

    I've played DDO for a day now, then the server I played on came down for "30 minutes maintenance" which is lasting atleast 5x longer than expected due to other difficulties coming up. Strange that I played it the day before this and now I'm suddenly getting this error as soon as I log in with my username and password. (I
    ll type what the error says after it tells me all the obvious. Error has occurred, ect.)


    System.ObjectDisposedException: Cannot access a disposed object named "Panel".
    Object name: "Panel".
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateHandle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.get_Handle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.FocusActiveC ontrolInternal()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.set_Active(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WmActivate(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
    at com.turbine.launcher.Forms.BaseForm.WndProc(Messag e& m)
    at com.turbine.launcher.Forms.MainForm.WndProc(Messag e& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage (Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(M essage& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    I've done nothing different to my system and have made no changes at all. This came from nowhere. Well..not technically from, "nowhere" but it was abrupt.

  12. #12
    Community Member Rantanplan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by melchiah13 View Post
    (I
    ll type what the error says after it tells me all the obvious. Error has occurred, ect.)


    System.ObjectDisposedException: Cannot access a disposed object named "Panel".
    Object name: "Panel".
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateHandle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.get_Handle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.FocusActiveC ontrolInternal()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.set_Active(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WmActivate(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
    at com.turbine.launcher.Forms.BaseForm.WndProc(Messag e& m)
    at com.turbine.launcher.Forms.MainForm.WndProc(Messag e& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage (Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(M essage& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    I've done nothing different to my system and have made no changes at all. This came from nowhere. Well..not technically from, "nowhere" but it was abrupt.
    get the same error as you i tried TurbineRegisterGDF.exe as well, running Win7 and by the ddo europe is running perfect.
    Last edited by Rantanplan; 11-21-2009 at 06:26 AM. Reason: Added some Infos

  13. #13
    Community Member wtf-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by melchiah13 View Post
    I've played DDO for a day now, then the server I played on came down for "30 minutes maintenance" which is lasting atleast 5x longer than expected due to other difficulties coming up. Strange that I played it the day before this and now I'm suddenly getting this error as soon as I log in with my username and password. (I
    ll type what the error says after it tells me all the obvious. Error has occurred, ect.)


    System.ObjectDisposedException: Cannot access a disposed object named "Panel".
    Object name: "Panel".
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateHandle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.get_Handle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.FocusActiveC ontrolInternal()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.set_Active(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WmActivate(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
    at com.turbine.launcher.Forms.BaseForm.WndProc(Messag e& m)
    at com.turbine.launcher.Forms.MainForm.WndProc(Messag e& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage (Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(M essage& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    I've done nothing different to my system and have made no changes at all. This came from nowhere. Well..not technically from, "nowhere" but it was abrupt.
    I'm pretty sure you have already resolved this by now, but, for the sake of the solution being easy to find, here is how to fix this.

    Download .NET Framework 1.1 Service Pack 1 from here http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...B-A83353618B38 and install.
    Millicient tells you: Where the Wild Things Are--they're RIGHT HERE!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload