Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Community Member axebender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    402

    Default former pally? alignment change

    not familiar with 3.5 rules but would there be a way of becoming a former bard with an alignment change? if you became lawfull you could take pally then...ive been loving the idea of mixing paly with bard in my opinion this would prolly be the ultimate multiclass. but unfortunatly cannot be done in ddo as of yet

  2. #2
    Community Member Vinos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,285

    Default

    I don't see it happening. Would be overpowered IMO.

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Hall of Famer
    2016 DDO Players Council
    Impaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    20,559

    Default

    Cant Happen in DDO.. Cant Happen in PnP.

    A Paladin that loses his way is Stripped of all his Paladin Abilities. So in essense.. ANy FIghter/Bard could of been a Paladin/Bard....
    °º¤ø,¸¸,ø¤º°`°º¤ø,¸,ø¤°º¤ø,¸ ¸,ø¤º°`°º¤ø,¸A R C H A N G E L S °º¤ø,¸¸,ø¤º°`°º¤ø,¸,ø¤°º¤ø,¸ ¸,ø¤º°`°º¤ø,¸
    Thelanis

    Alandael ~ Allendale ~ iForged ~ Roba ~ Sylon ~ Pokah ~ Keyanu ~ Wreckoning
    Quote Originally Posted by Severlin View Post
    We don't envision starting players with Starter Gear and zero knowledge playing on Hard or Elite.
    Sev~

  5. #5
    Community Member axebender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    402

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Impaqt View Post
    Cant Happen in DDO.. Cant Happen in PnP.

    A Paladin that loses his way is Stripped of all his Paladin Abilities. So in essense.. ANy FIghter/Bard could of been a Paladin/Bard....
    but wouldnt it be possible if u were an ex bard first..then became lawfull and became a pally?

  6. #6
    Hall of Famer
    2016 DDO Players Council
    Impaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    20,559

    Default

    Thats a Tricky one.....

    From the SRD:

    Like a member of any other class, a paladin may be a multiclass character, but multiclass paladins face a special restriction. A paladin who gains a level in any class other than paladin may never again raise her paladin level, though she retains all her paladin abilities.

    The way I read it.... If you start as any other class, you cannot change to Paladin. If you start as Paladin, you may take another class as long as your allignment is OK (SO that woudl Exclude Barbarians and Bards) and retain your Paladin abilities. But if you went outside of LG to take antoehr class.. You lose your paladin abilities.
    °º¤ø,¸¸,ø¤º°`°º¤ø,¸,ø¤°º¤ø,¸ ¸,ø¤º°`°º¤ø,¸A R C H A N G E L S °º¤ø,¸¸,ø¤º°`°º¤ø,¸,ø¤°º¤ø,¸ ¸,ø¤º°`°º¤ø,¸
    Thelanis

    Alandael ~ Allendale ~ iForged ~ Roba ~ Sylon ~ Pokah ~ Keyanu ~ Wreckoning
    Quote Originally Posted by Severlin View Post
    We don't envision starting players with Starter Gear and zero knowledge playing on Hard or Elite.
    Sev~

  7. #7
    Community Member smodge13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    551

    Default

    theres a feat in pnp, i think its in complete adventurer that allows you to freely multiclass between bard and pally
    Smodge Level 14 Enchantment Cleric, Thelmiaze Level 14 Dex Rogue, Trognack Level 14 WF Barbarian, Cadian Level 6 Trip Fighter (retired), Tharivell Level 9 Buffing/Enchanter Bard, Altharen Level 7 Enchantment Sorceror, Shieldmaster Cadian Level 1 Bard/1 Fighter (deleted), Doram the Exile Level 4 WF paladin, Avedrahlah Level 3 Sorceror (Girlfreinds Character).
    Officer of Hey You Talkin To Me?. Thelanis server

  8. #8
    Community Member Mad_Bombardier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    10,911

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Impaqt View Post
    Thats a Tricky one.....

    From the SRD:

    Like a member of any other class, a paladin may be a multiclass character, but multiclass paladins face a special restriction. A paladin who gains a level in any class other than paladin may never again raise her paladin level, though she retains all her paladin abilities.

    The way I read it.... If you start as any other class, you cannot change to Paladin. If you start as Paladin, you may take another class as long as your allignment is OK (SO that woudl Exclude Barbarians and Bards) and retain your Paladin abilities. But if you went outside of LG to take antoehr class.. You lose your paladin abilities.
    Your Paly to other classes is as printed. But that passage never says you can't become a Paladin late in life. I don't read it that way at all.

    To answer the OP, the only way I see to do it is to level from 1 to 18 as Bard, then change alignment and take 19 and 20 as Paladin. Bards retain all spells and abilities even if they change alignment (unlike Paladins). None of which matters in DDO because there is no alignment respec mechanism.
    Last edited by Mad_Bombardier; 09-25-2007 at 10:13 AM.

  9. #9
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,355

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smodge13 View Post
    theres a feat in pnp, i think its in complete adventurer that allows you to freely multiclass between bard and pally
    But your DM may only make this feat available if you have opened the munchkin race!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload