PDA

View Full Version : Downtime Notice: 8:00 - 10:00 AM Eastern Thursday, July 14th



Cordovan
07-13-2016, 05:26 PM
UPDATE: The game worlds have reopened! We thank you for your patience, and we'll see you in the game.

The DDO game worlds will be brought down for a restart on Thursday, July 14th starting at 8:00 AM Eastern. We'll let you know when the worlds have reopened. This is being done to promote the general health of the game environment. Thanks!

Ebondevil
07-13-2016, 06:26 PM
Thursday, 14 July 2016, 08:00:00 EDT GMT-4 hours
Thursday, 14 July 2016, 07:00:00 CDT GMT-5 hours
Thursday, 14 July 2016, 06:00:00 MDT GMT-6 hours
Thursday, 14 July 2016, 05:00:00 PDT GMT-7 hours

Thursday, 14 July 2016, 12:00:00 UTC GMT
Thursday, 14 July 2016, 13:00:00 BST GMT+1 hour
Thursday, 14 July 2016, 14:00:00 CEST GMT+2 hours
Thursday, 14 July 2016, 15:00:00 EEST GMT+3 hours

Thursday, 14 July 2016, 20:45:00 ACWST GMT+8:45 hours
Thursday, 14 July 2016, 21:30:00 ACST GMT+9:30 hours
Thursday, 14 July 2016, 22:00:00 AEST GMT+10 hours

LrdSlvrhnd
07-13-2016, 06:56 PM
And airship amenities will take up to an hour to repopulate when the worlds are back up.

Nonesuch2008
07-13-2016, 06:57 PM
The DDO game worlds will be brought down for a restart on Thursday, July 14th starting at 8:00 AM Eastern. We'll let you know when the worlds have reopened. This is being done to promote the general health of the game environment. Thanks!

Thank you, we appreciate this!

Livmo
07-13-2016, 09:31 PM
Tyvm!

Steve_Howe
07-13-2016, 09:41 PM
The DDO game worlds will be brought down for a restart on Thursday, July 14th starting at 8:00 AM Eastern. We'll let you know when the worlds have reopened. This is being done to promote the general health of the game environment. Thanks!

You guys really should schedule this regularly (every two weeks or so) until you've figured out why (and then fix) game performance on the servers degrade so consistently.

PNP
07-14-2016, 06:03 AM
The DDO game worlds will be brought down for a restart on Thursday, July 14th starting at 8:00 AM Eastern. We'll let you know when the worlds have reopened. This is being done to promote the general health of the game environment. Thanks!

Schedule a downtime on heads chopping day?...

AnEvenNewerNoob
07-14-2016, 07:01 AM
You guys really should schedule this regularly (every two weeks or so) until you've figured out why (and then fix) game performance on the servers degrade so consistently.

THIS. Thank you for doing this one, how about making it a regular (every week, every other week) thing?

PLENTY of anecdotal evidence that a restart dramatically improves mob ai, pathing, etc.

Half-Elf
07-14-2016, 07:05 AM
Do you have any idea how long the servers will be down Cordovan? Similar to an update release I'm assuming 4-6 hours?

Malleable
07-14-2016, 07:18 AM
Do you have any idea how long the servers will be down Cordovan? Similar to an update release I'm assuming 4-6 hours?

Downtime-Notice-8-00-10-00-AM-Eastern-Thursday-July-14th

Half-Elf
07-14-2016, 07:22 AM
Got it, thanks. I don't know how I missed that in the title of the thread. "We'll let you know when the worlds have reopened" is all it says on client launcher and that scared me.

minorpenthes
07-14-2016, 07:26 AM
Schedule a downtime on heads chopping day?...

Nah, the Terror came later on.
The storming of the Bastille was just a regular old riot.

Tremes
07-14-2016, 07:29 AM
I am hoping this will fix all the lag that came with the last patch.....before it I had very little lag

Gleep_Wurp
07-14-2016, 08:00 AM
my old 486 boots faster than that.

drwho1985
07-14-2016, 08:04 AM
Thanks for the re-start! I hope this helps the pathing problems. Ran VoN 1 right before the shutdown and half of the mobs couldnt find their way into the arena. Had to go to each room and flush them out.

Cordovan
07-14-2016, 08:18 AM
You guys really should schedule this regularly (every two weeks or so) until you've figured out why (and then fix) game performance on the servers degrade so consistently.

This is something we are actively looking into, and may well be doing in the near future. The current target is a possible memory leak with our AI pathing system, which seems likely given recent reports of pathing issues.

Cordovan
07-14-2016, 08:20 AM
my old 486 boots faster than that.

There's also the "white glove" checks that take place after a reboot, that's what takes the additional time. Better that, though, than opening the worlds with an issue that could cause serious problems.

Augon
07-14-2016, 08:28 AM
my old 486 boots faster than that.

Servers often take longer to reboot than desktops. Plus there is more to it than just shutting down and restarting. there is probably a process they need to take to make sure everything came back up correctly and probably several programs that need to get started. And all this has to be done on multiple servers (which are more than likely server clusters, not single servers).

My first job this morning is going to be restarting a single server and I have told the users they will be down for 45 minutes (most likely wont be, but I like to plan a window in case something goes wrong)

Kaliya
07-14-2016, 08:35 AM
Another underpromise and overdeliver for the books. Good work guys!

TitusOvid
07-14-2016, 08:39 AM
Open

Dragavon
07-14-2016, 08:40 AM
my old 486 boots faster than that.

Do you really think that restarting a DDO game server cluster is the same as rebooting a PC? :rolleyes:

AnEvenNewerNoob
07-14-2016, 09:04 AM
This is something we are actively looking into, and may well be doing in the near future. The current target is a possible memory leak with our AI pathing system, which seems likely given recent reports of pathing issues.

This is VERY GOOD TO HEAR!

:)

slarden
07-14-2016, 09:18 AM
This is something we are actively looking into, and may well be doing in the near future. The current target is a possible memory leak with our AI pathing system, which seems likely given recent reports of pathing issues.
I am not a cove hater but seems to have degraded a lot since cove started.

Ghwyn
07-14-2016, 11:44 AM
my old 486 boots faster than that.

A large scale server is not an old desktop. It's complaints like this that try to make Turbine look bad, but in reality, those that make them have no idea of what is involved. It is comparable to someone who rebuilds a lawn mower engine in an afternoon and complains that a diesel ship engine takes weeks to repair.

Duana
07-14-2016, 12:16 PM
Better that, though, than opening the worlds with an issue that could cause serious problems.

Please understand - I got nothing but love, and a boat load of money each month, for you guys.

But that just made me damn near **** myself laughing.

Granted, my sense of humor often leaves others confused.

Phoenix-daBard
07-14-2016, 12:48 PM
I am not a cove hater but seems to have degraded a lot since cove started.

Which is a heavy user of the pathing AI.

AnEvenNewerNoob
07-14-2016, 01:09 PM
Which is a heavy user of the pathing AI.

Aye, I think cove kobold pathing being wonky was a symptom of the problem.
Pathing gets bad cove or no cove a long way out from a restart.

Steve_Howe
07-14-2016, 01:19 PM
This is something we are actively looking into, and may well be doing in the near future. The current target is a possible memory leak with our AI pathing system, which seems likely given recent reports of pathing issues.

Awesome. Thanks!

Silverleafeon
07-14-2016, 09:46 PM
This is something we are actively looking into, and may well be doing in the near future. The current target is a possible memory leak with our AI pathing system, which seems likely given recent reports of pathing issues.

I still recommend weekly restarts of the DDO as I have for years, however bi-monthly would probably work just as well, and would be less white glove inspection time for the staff.