PDA

View Full Version : New to game, familiar with WoW mages - got advice on a pure sorceror build for me?

ChaosWolf1982
08-06-2015, 07:39 PM
Basically just what the title says - I'm new to this game, been playing WoW for years, so I'm more familiar with that game's arcane/elemental spellwork... not interested in multiclassing, not until I get more familiar with how this game works anyway... so, what advice/build tips can you give me?

Also, why Sorceror and not Wizard? Blame Geek And Sundry - I kinda became enamored with their Critical Role series, and the dragonborn sorceror Tiberius Stormwind. I know DDO is 3.5-ish, while their game is 5E, and dragonborn aren't an option here, but hey, I'm still interested.

Missing_Minds
08-06-2015, 09:20 PM
*looks at post date, looks at join date, and just raises an eyebrow*

Take everything you know about WoW, stick it in a corner and forget it exists. That will be your best starting point.

Thalone
08-06-2015, 09:46 PM
You could theoretically build a Sorc if someone gives you advice or links you to a build. However, my advice would be to start with Wizard instead, for a number of reasons.

Wizards get lots of bonus feats, which helps you to explore how to gear and play with arcane magic. Sorcs do get a much larger spell point pool than Wizards though.

Wizards can swap their spells out at taverns and rest shrines, so you can adapt your spell list to the situation, or if you find that you don't end up liking a certain spell, you can just replace it. Sorcs cannot swap spells easily. You can end up having no useful spells against certain opponents if you don't know the content.

Wizards' main stat is INT, which is great, because this has the side effect of giving you more skill points to play with each level.

If Wizard sounds like a good idea to you, here is EllisDee's Pale Trapper build (https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthread.php/422622).