PDA

View Full Version : New player looking for advice on server choice

haphazardallure
03-13-2015, 09:28 AM
Hi all,

I'm completely new to the game, installed it last night and am looking forward to playing this weekend. I'm just looking for some opinions from the community about server population and for those of you happy with your server choice, why do you enjoy it over others and does it bring anything special to the table (are there player run events, rping, great server for pugging, guilds that embrace new players, etc)?

Thanks for taking the time to read this, hope to see you guys in game this weekend. :) If I end up enjoying the game, I'll likely spring for 3 months VIP for the $10/month price and so I don't have to purchase individual quest packs.

I'd also like to say thank you to Axel for all the work he has put into his DDO youtube channel. I have watched a lot of the guides and have found them extremely helpful. :)

TrinityTurtle
03-13-2015, 11:10 AM
H'lo! My advice on this topic (and no one not new to the forums will be surprised) don't choose. Roll up different types of toons on different servers, play a bit on all of them and see what you enjoy, and where you find people you enjoy playing with. No one knows where they will click until they explore their options a bit. Before you go 'all in' you have a minute to look around and see what flavor of grass taste greenest.

And when you are trying out Sarlona, there is help available to you. https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthread.php/439927-Hey-Newbies!-And-well-anyone-on-Sarlona-who-wants-to-get-or-give-a-little-help-) That thread explains how to find and use the userchat help channel.

And enjoy your time with us!

haphazardallure
03-13-2015, 11:17 AM
Sounds good, thanks for the help channel tip. :)

Lychias
03-13-2015, 11:24 AM