PDA

View Full Version : Disable chest re-roll option



Inconel
02-06-2015, 09:32 PM
Well, it finally happened. I have been super careful not to accidentally click the "re-roll loot" button in any chests...until today. I wasted 9 astral shards accidentally clicking it. I can think of no reasonable reason for that button to be so close to the "loot" button, and to be above it no less! So I must assume it was put there maliciously, so that people would waste astral shards by accidentally clicking it. If it must be somewhere (and I personally would prefer it was not) then give players the option of permanently disabling it.

I have to click the "accept" button in a trade window a dozen times if plat is being traded, but when astral shards (earned largely by spending real money) are concerned then it just happens in the blink of an eye with no confirmation dialogue. This is severely irritating.

Uska
02-06-2015, 09:44 PM
It is to close to the loot button, I didn't know there wasn't a confirmation button though that is horrible.

Thalone
02-06-2015, 10:24 PM
I've never accidentally rerolled thanks to years of automatically hitting the keyboard "loot all" key rather than clicking on the button.

But I did notice recently that the Portable Hole bag upgrade had an option to use shards instead, and this is now the first dialogue option (i.e., default), rather than the plat/hole. And there is no confirmation.

:rolleyes:

ToastyFred
02-07-2015, 12:04 AM
It is to close to the loot button, I didn't know there wasn't a confirmation button though that is horrible.

There is a confirmation button after you click re-roll.

LuKaSu
02-07-2015, 01:38 AM
I don't expect them to implement it, but I think this idea is spot on.

I will never purposefully reroll chest loot (the only chests worth rerolling -- high level ones -- are too expensive to be worth the shards. The ones with a low enough reroll price to be tempting -- the low level ones -- are for low-level chests and therefore have nothing worth spending shards on). I very rarely use AS to reroll daily dice (maybe if they're doing the DD loot doubling, but not on a normal day), but I would be willing to uncheck an option before doing so.

So, /signed for an option to disable chest reroll. And /signed to automatically close Daily Dice after doing the free roll (even though, I know I'm signing when you didn't even write down that idea)

janave
02-07-2015, 02:38 AM
Just change it into a modern mechanic that needs your absolute confirmation, no accident clicks.

I am okay with the feature so far, but it should be fully optional in a way people can just disable it in game options.

Uska
02-07-2015, 08:44 AM
Just change it into a modern mechanic that needs your absolute confirmation, no accident clicks.

I am okay with the feature so far, but it should be fully optional in a way people can just disable it in game options.

According to toasty free there is a conformation button so if so then there is no issue I have never re-rolled for loot so I don't know for sure

Lonnbeimnech
02-07-2015, 09:40 AM
Hit 'B' to loot all and it wont be an issue. Though I agree the buttons are too close to each other.

Faltout
02-07-2015, 10:09 AM
http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/ab234/filha300/ddo/chest_reroll.jpg (http://s867.photobucket.com/user/filha300/media/ddo/chest_reroll.jpg.html)
Just now.

Don't know what the OP is ranting about.

Krelar
02-07-2015, 10:40 AM
http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/ab234/filha300/ddo/chest_reroll.jpg (http://s867.photobucket.com/user/filha300/media/ddo/chest_reroll.jpg.html)
Just now.

Don't know what the OP is ranting about.

My guess is they mistook it for one of the dialogs telling you that you are about to loot something bound, they probably clicked yes without really reading it.

Robai
02-08-2015, 01:11 PM
/signed

Yes, please give us an option to get rid of this button. I'd even pay for that option (500 TP or so).

Faltout
02-08-2015, 01:27 PM
My guess is they mistook it for one of the dialogs telling you that you are about to loot something bound, they probably clicked yes without really reading it.
Some logic here:
- Let's say that the button stays where it is. Does the OP want more confirmation dialogs? "Are you sure?", "Ok, you're sure. But how about knowing what you're sure about?", "This is a reversed confirmation box. Do you want to CANCEL the chest re-roll?"
Because this is pretty hilarious.

- Let's say they put an option to disable it. How would the average user know there is such an option? By coming to the forums or having friends tell him. Ok, so in the same spirit I'm telling the OP: "Use the button 'B' which is the default for 'Loot All'".

- Let's say they start with the default being a disabled chest re-roll. Then in some months noone would even know there's a chest re-roll and Turbine would lose the money they invested in this feature.

So, since there is a confirmation dialog and this game should be played by intelligent beings that know basic English, whatever the OP thought is irrelevant. Read the damn dialog.

Sehenry03
02-08-2015, 02:23 PM
Yeah I have never once hit the reroll button by accident and accepted. Just like at home...read before you sign anything especially if its your wife with a life insurance policy.

Robai
02-08-2015, 02:57 PM
Some logic here:
- Let's say that the button stays where it is. Does the OP want more confirmation dialogs? "Are you sure?", "Ok, you're sure. But how about knowing what you're sure about?", "This is a reversed confirmation box. Do you want to CANCEL the chest re-roll?"
Because this is pretty hilarious.

- Let's say they put an option to disable it. How would the average user know there is such an option? By coming to the forums or having friends tell him. Ok, so in the same spirit I'm telling the OP: "Use the button 'B' which is the default for 'Loot All'".

- Let's say they start with the default being a disabled chest re-roll. Then in some months noone would even know there's a chest re-roll and Turbine would lose the money they invested in this feature.

So, since there is a confirmation dialog and this game should be played by intelligent beings that know basic English, whatever the OP thought is irrelevant. Read the damn dialog.


One confirmation dialog is OK, more would be stupid
By default, let both buttons be where they are
Under options you should be able to remove the Re-Roll button or make always inactive (Re-Roll button is so annoying to me that I'd even pay for this option)
The Loot all button is not an option for me since there are too many buttons configured already (30-35 buttons), the most often used things are configured closer to my fingers, that's the reason I loot chests using mouse (it worked so well until the Re-Roll button appeared).

bartharok
02-09-2015, 12:50 AM
Some logic here:
- Let's say that the button stays where it is. Does the OP want more confirmation dialogs? "Are you sure?", "Ok, you're sure. But how about knowing what you're sure about?", "This is a reversed confirmation box. Do you want to CANCEL the chest re-roll?"
Because this is pretty hilarious.

- Let's say they put an option to disable it. How would the average user know there is such an option? By coming to the forums or having friends tell him. Ok, so in the same spirit I'm telling the OP: "Use the button 'B' which is the default for 'Loot All'".

- Let's say they start with the default being a disabled chest re-roll. Then in some months noone would even know there's a chest re-roll and Turbine would lose the money they invested in this feature.

So, since there is a confirmation dialog and this game should be played by intelligent beings that know basic English, whatever the OP thought is irrelevant. Read the damn dialog.

Sounds like Vista. Drove me crazy. Which is why Vista is to blame for all my troubles in life.